We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best option for backpackers in Pantai Cenang! Great atmosphere and friendly staff.”
Review of Rumours Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rumours Guesthouse
Ranked #73 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Manchester, UK.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best option for backpackers in Pantai Cenang! Great atmosphere and friendly staff.”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I stayed at Rumours Guesthouse for a week in December 2012. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the friendly owners, we were soon given a refreshing welcome drink and while we recovered from our journey to Langkawi in the hammocks by the bar we chatted to the staff to find out where was good to eat out, to drink and to sightsee. The staff were more than happy to give us recommendations. It was noticeable that the staff were all enjoying working there and this created a really pleasant atmosphere, before long friends of the staff were socialising in the restaurant area and we were invited to join.

A great place to go to meet other backpackers, the location is perfect as it's a one minute walk back from the road so much less noisy than the other guesthouses and resorts along the beachfront, not to mention cheaper. Now my favourite place in Langkawi!

A true backpacker vibe, a tasty free breakfast, affordable rooms, friendly and informative staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathangalilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    8
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
11
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George Town
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This Guesthouse is not all that bad as some of the other reviews make it sound. The location is really good, the place is really relaxed and good for meeting other travelers. During evenings they play movies in the lounge area and drinks and food are available also.

A little more effort could make this place really special, but we are talking about budget accommodation here (15/40/60/80 for dorm/fan-shared/AC-shared/AC-private).

Beds were clean and bathroom was OK (no hot water though, but in this heat most of you won't miss it).

Check out more than just one room and if you're lucky you're going to have a good time there.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms (e.g. 304) are right next to noisy shared bathrooms. Unless you want to be awaken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I stayed here a couple of nights in July. Room was spacious but old with a comfortable bed and working air conditioning. Bathroom was not in the best condition. There was no hot water. It's maybe the cheapest accommodation in town, so you can't expect any luxury.
The owner doesn't speak much English, but there's another guy who does and he is very friendly and helpful.
When I stayed there it was very quiet with almost no other guests. Had a good time and would consider staying there again during the busy period.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchman1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Rumours and had a very bad experience. At first it seemed nice - the front area has a nice chilled backpacker vibe to it and we agreed to an airconditioned double room. The room was very dirty - clearly had not been cleaned for a long time. There was blood stains on the sheets, dead bugs on the floor, the towels were full of big stains, the toilet covered in pee and everything was overall dirty. Never the less we stayed because it was cheap and had a good location. On the third night it was very noisy and I woke up to noises of people outside, a very bad smell in the room and a sort of sizzeling sound. We tried to locate the sound, and discovered that the plug from the airconditioned was nearly burning and one of the legs in the plog had melted away inside the plug. It could easily have started a fire. Next morning we confronted the manager (who does not really understand english) who offered to repair the plug himself. We refused and asked for another room. We were sent to a fan room, but left the hostel quickly after the sink in the bathroom splurted out yellow-brownish water and clogged the drain. We moved to AB motel which was much nicer and very clean!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stayed here for a few weeks as my first port of call in Malaysia.

At first I had a good impression of the place but that changed quite quickly.

There was a leak in the roof of my room and water dripped straight on to the bed. As it was low season they just gave me a spare key for a room without a leak, so I changed rooms in the night if it started to rain. As high season came around they obviously couldn't spare a room, so I was stuck with a room that leaked any time it rained. At one point they sent someone in to check the roof and say it would be fixed, but it never was.

I had to sleep with a plastic trash can on the bed to catch the water. What annoys me about these kind of places is a guest will check in one day and leave their laptop on a bed, it will get destroyed and they will say "So sorry, we didn't know..."

The staff didn't seem like running a decent guest house was their interest or priority. They are generally friendly and hospitable, but need to step up their standards considerably to make this place even base line acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StuartMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This was a mistake at the end of a long day that I regretted all night. Yes it was relatively cheap, but the room had clearly not been touched since the last person stayed there, and the bedding smelt like something had died.

The towels were no more than heavily stained rags and the bathroom left me feeling more dirty than when I went in.

I tried to check out in the morning around 9 and there was noone to be seen.

In all, just got the feeling nobody was interested.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacmed04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

this guest house is just okay. the staff was friendly but is was a bit expensive for the room. i stayed in a solo room with shared bathroom. the bathroom was absolutely filthy and i had to buy my own toilet paper because the supply was not stocked. it was dirty and i didn't feel any cleaner after i showered. the guest house is rustic and is situated in an overgrown garden so bring mosquito spray or you'll be sorry. the location is great, located near restaurants and a five minute walk to the beach. i'd also recommend bringing your own sheets. towels are not provided.

Room Tip: i stayed in a fan only room and it wasn't too hot, although it was hot outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msbutton867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.8 mi away
Langkawi Dormitorio
Langkawi Dormitorio
#2 of 37 in Pantai Cenang
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Idaman Motel
Casa Idaman Motel
#64 of 146 in Langkawi
11 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baiduri's Place
Baiduri's Place
#68 of 148 in Langkawi
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Two Peace House
Two Peace House
#30 of 146 in Langkawi
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rasa Senang Chalet
Rasa Senang Chalet
#89 of 146 in Langkawi
23 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langgura Baron Resort
Langgura Baron Resort
#89 of 148 in Langkawi
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumours Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumours Guesthouse

Property: Rumours Guesthouse
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing