We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rumours Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rumours Guesthouse
Ranked #63 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Located 5min walking from beach.under some minor touch up/construction By new management.friendly people surrounding.restaurant coming up, surely will be here again.lots of mosquitoes. Bring ur own mosquito coil.overall, FANTASTIC

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Random124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    8
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
11
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I normaly visit here every offday from The Datai.Its realy cheap but dont expect much.Dont complaint.What you pay is what you get.Friendly owner,manager and staff.Its a good meeting point for backpackers to meet and share stories.It might be usefull especially if you're first time in Langkawi.I cant comment much on the food they serve because i normaly wake up hangover in the afternoon.So if you're trying to strecth your cash for as far as it can go,i would highly recommend Rumours Guest House.I would rate it as average.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander_Z1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I came here on short notice, just before christmas eve 2011. wandered around for an hour, bumped to this place and stayed 3 days. I have got the back room garden and chicken view, but i wasnt really expecting sea view. Place is well located, simple breakfast was included, room was spartan and fairly clean. Best thing about the place is staff, local crew of rasta guys and really nice terrace where you can meet other guests. Beware, mosquitos in zillions!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikiboj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

i been staying at rumours now for 3 weeks, was ment to stay 3 days but ended up loving this place, i dont think i would of enjoyed the island it self if i had gone somewhere else, the staff here are very helpful and kind, always going out of there way for help and make your stay more happy, the rooms are basic but clean, the prices are spot on.
soon as you come to the place you have a sence of welcoming and safety.
you can also waste alot of day in the hostal, laying in the hammocks and drinking with the other guest
one think i enjoyed the most at rumours is the NO WIFI . it is the best idea ever, you dont hav people behind laptop 24/7, instead you have people talking, shareing and connceting to each other lifes, true back packer style.
over all great place for a relaxing getaway

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nathanphayubrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I stayed at Rumours Guesthouse for a week in December 2012. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the friendly owners, we were soon given a refreshing welcome drink and while we recovered from our journey to Langkawi in the hammocks by the bar we chatted to the staff to find out where was good to eat out, to drink and to sightsee. The staff were more than happy to give us recommendations. It was noticeable that the staff were all enjoying working there and this created a really pleasant atmosphere, before long friends of the staff were socialising in the restaurant area and we were invited to join.

A great place to go to meet other backpackers, the location is perfect as it's a one minute walk back from the road so much less noisy than the other guesthouses and resorts along the beachfront, not to mention cheaper. Now my favourite place in Langkawi!

A true backpacker vibe, a tasty free breakfast, affordable rooms, friendly and informative staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathangalilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This Guesthouse is not all that bad as some of the other reviews make it sound. The location is really good, the place is really relaxed and good for meeting other travelers. During evenings they play movies in the lounge area and drinks and food are available also.

A little more effort could make this place really special, but we are talking about budget accommodation here (15/40/60/80 for dorm/fan-shared/AC-shared/AC-private).

Beds were clean and bathroom was OK (no hot water though, but in this heat most of you won't miss it).

Check out more than just one room and if you're lucky you're going to have a good time there.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms (e.g. 304) are right next to noisy shared bathrooms. Unless you want to be awaken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I stayed here a couple of nights in July. Room was spacious but old with a comfortable bed and working air conditioning. Bathroom was not in the best condition. There was no hot water. It's maybe the cheapest accommodation in town, so you can't expect any luxury.
The owner doesn't speak much English, but there's another guy who does and he is very friendly and helpful.
When I stayed there it was very quiet with almost no other guests. Had a good time and would consider staying there again during the busy period.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchman1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.6 mi away
Langgura Baron Resort
Langgura Baron Resort
#87 of 140 in Langkawi
130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langkawi Dormitorio
Langkawi Dormitorio
#2 of 31 in Pantai Cenang
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Idaman Motel
Casa Idaman Motel
#70 of 136 in Langkawi
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melati's VIP Female Dorm
Melati's VIP Female Dorm
#3 of 31 in Pantai Cenang
36 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Lodge Motel
White Lodge Motel
#5 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mali Mali Beach Resort
Mali Mali Beach Resort
#9 of 20 in Pantai Cenang
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumours Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumours Guesthouse

Property: Rumours Guesthouse
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing