We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try to avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Try to avoid”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The rooms are so small, you can not move around, inefficient room service. Buffet breakfast was ok, but were cold.

Go for this hotel only if you dont have any other options.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rejiplr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    327
    212
    58
    61
See reviews for
181
349
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I feel compelled to write this review, my first, after reading the poor reviews for this hotel. I've also lost over a hundred pounds by booking an expensive hotel nearby because we were concerned at the previous reviews. This place is absolutely fine. It's a new hotel so very modern, and It's clean too. We booked a deluxe room as its was only about 10 more, and we wanted to make sure it was ok.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bell1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anywhere
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in december and it was a complete disaster from start to finish.

We did not expect 4 or 5 star luxury or facilities just normal functioning things and we are aware that new hotels have some things to sort out but our experience went far over what can be considered as acceptable.

This is going to be a long review as I really need to make clear all the issues with this hotel.

I highly suspect the hotel was rushed to be open for LIMA 2011 (Langkawi International Maritime and Aerospace Exhibition DEC 6 - 11) and as a result there are a lot of faults with the hotel.

Some reviewers said staff are not helpful, this is not true they try to help but just do not know how things operate or a lack of leadership/management.

At check-in we had to wait 45 minutes as no one on duty really knew how to operate the reservation/computer system, even though they had a folder/drawer with all the days arrivals on it.

We had reserved a standard room and found this was at the front of the hotel which is on a main road, due to the noise we asked for a room at the back of the hotel.

We were issued a new key card but when we went to the new room, it again was at the front of the hotel, after another trip to the reception and waiting 15 minutes we had a room at the back of the hotel, we later found that standard rooms are at the front and superior rooms are at the rear, only difference is the size.

Rooms:

No hotel info sheet or booklet, no telephone dialing information - we assumed reception was 0.

The rooms are ok for size but the installation workmanship and quality of the fittings are very poor/cheap and the room layout appears to have had no thought.

First view was squashed bugs on the wall - nice!

There are no wardrobes in the rooms, only a very small coat rail about 60cm in length so you either have to squeeze all your clothes onto the few hangars or put your clothes on the table or keep them in your bags.

The key card holder and power switch is behind the door so you have to fiddle around in the dark to put the key card in.

Airconditioning - The aircon switches off after 30 minutes and can not be switched on again unless you remove the key card from the power switch, wait 5 minutes and re insert the key card, it then runs for another 30 mins.

The aircon was never able to cool the room meaning it was hot and stuffy all the time. Reception said its the same with all the units in the hotel as they have been programmed like this and other guests confirmed have confirmed the timer function.

During our stay the room was never cleaned despite asking each day at reception and clearly stating the problems. When we arrived in the room i had to clean the shower before I could use it - the drain point was covered in a thick amount of hair as was the floor of the bathroom, the drain cover was also rusting away after only 3 weeks of hotel operation. - see photo.

The bathroom mirror was sprayed with toothpaste and the floor under the basin had various pieces of toilet paper and dirt on the floor from last guests.

You can imagine the condition of the drinking glasses in the bathroom!

Behind the toilet there was a large puddle of water and lots of dirt and hair and another rusting drain cover

The floor of the room had various dead flies and lots of dirt.

No rubbish bin was in the room or bathroom - one was brought when requested (taken from the corridor!)

when we asked for the room to be cleaned the standard answer was if we wanted to change rooms .... no, we just want the room cleaned.

Room key cards: we soon learned if you are out of your room for more than 1 hour you need to have the key card reprogrammed again, we were not the only people that were having the keys reprogrammed, we even had new cards but the problem was the same.

It came to the point where guests didnt even have to ask for the cards to be programmed, the staff just asked for the room number as guests approached the reception.

There are also no hair dryers in the rooms, the hotel has 3 or 4 dryers at reception but these were never available.

The door of the room had losts of building dirt still on it - how hard is it to wipe the door with a wet cloth?

DO NOT expect to sleep well at this hotel as you can hear everything that goes on in the hotel, you can hear people moving light switches, there is constant piped music in the corridors which is easily heard in the rooms, you hear people walking in the corridor as if you had your door open and you can even hear people going to the toilet in rooms above/next to you!

One factor is the room door has a large gap at the bottom allowing all noises to enter the room

On one occasion we had the piped music playing thru a speaker in the roof of the room for an hour, staff were not able to turn this off!

Breakfast: Fair selectionof items but when things run out they are not restocked, guests had to always ask for fresh items to be brought, the milk cooler for tea/coffea and cereals was empty for more than 1 hour as was the fruit juice. Some days only water was available - no juice as they had run out.

The only fresh fruit available is water melon and when its gone from the tray, you again have to ask and wait for more than 30 minutes before its restocked.

This happened every single day, it was not just a single occasion.

We came once just after 0930 and virtually nothing was left of breakfast, people were miling around looking for the last pieces on display.

It is possible to get an omlette and these appeared to be ready in a few minutes.
Breakfast runs from 0700-1100.

Pool: pool is quit large but not deep, but it is possible to have a proper swim. There is a small childrens shallow section and the pool appeared to be clean. There are about 6 sun loungers but only 2 covered day beds. No sun shades were available during our time and there is no natural shade, there is also no grass area to sit, just concrete or block. There are 3 pool showers and a mixed sex toilet block which was clean.

One day the 2 day beds were missing, they came back the next day, hotel staff didnt know where the beds had gone.

The hotel is located in Pantai Tenga, which is a 10 minute walk to the start of pantai cenang. The closest beach is Pantai Tenga which is at the dead end section of road 5 minutes from the hotel, the beach is not great and recommend to walk the extra and go to pantai cenang.

There is a small market across from the hotel and another few minutes away.
There is a laundry service across from the hotel for 4RM per kilo and it takes 1 day to get the clothes back.

The hotel needs to make some major changes to its operation or change the management as its clearly not working the way it should and sort out the most basic of issues.

retrain staff in basic operation of the hotel
properly clean the rooms, not just make the beds, there are vacuum cleaners but they were not used!
review the breakfast service
sort out the constant problem with the room key cards
remove the timer from the airconditioning units
review the constant noise in rooms from the hallways and piped music.
turn off or reduce the volume of piped music in the room corridors

I would never recommend anyone to stay at a fave hotel based on this experience.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any other questions but I think I have covered everything.

Room Tip: room at rear do not have road noise during the night but you will be kept awake anyway by all the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank fluff34567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

the good thing is this hotel is just nice from outside view and clean toilet...But when u step to yr room, u will regret(for sure), with no mini fridge, few hangers, no wardrobe (at least mini wardrobe), no extra pillow, u can hear guest next door chatting (no privacy,even toilet flushing u also can hear),and the room is to small (not worth on what u pay)
the next morning, as early as 730 am...we checkout...(book this hotel for 3d2n)
highly not recommended to stay here!

Room Tip: choose facing padi field
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dinej7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This hotel is rated 2 stars but don't let that put you off. The rooms are nicely decorated and a good size (we stayed in a deluxe) and the bathrooms very modern. The downside is the wardrobe is really just an alcove with a few hangers. The bar and restaurant do very nice, well priced food and drink, including the buffet breakfast and the pool is large and beautiful. The front of the hotel looks over the road but the rear (with the pool) looks over countryside and is very tranquil. The staff are helpful and friendly but some still need a little training in checking in/out. I would recommend staying here as it is much cheaper than other hotels and you can walk to the beach in 5 mins. There is free wifi throughout.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizBNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobe, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This hotel is just a super expensive horrible hostel.
I booked this new hotel to spend the New Year in Langkawi.
Maybe we were expecting little too much as it's a new hotel, but still, this hotel made us disappointed so much, espcially because of its poor service.
Hotel stuff were not helpful at all.

1. When we arrived, security box in our room was already locked so could not be used.
We asked for help at the reception, problem was solved more than 40min after we called, also had to call them 3,4 times to remain them to help us.
Even for 1 tooth brush, it took more than half an hour for them to bring.

2. We asked for clean our room the second day when we are going out, when we come back, we found the room was exactly the same as we left it.
I made an angry phone call to the reception, and spoke with the manager to make them clean our room. I wonder why we have to make all this effort just to stay in clean room.

3. The guest room was so lousy.
We stayed in Deluxe room, it doesn't have any bathroom amenity/fridge/Hair dryer.
There are only 4 hair dryer in the hotel so they were all rented out all the time.

The first time I called for the hair dryer, the hotel reception said the strage is already closed so can't lend it, but that was informed only 1 hour after I called, and told me to try next morning.
Next morning I called again for the hair dryer but the answer was "all rented out already."
So when I went out from the hotel in the morning, I "booked" it for that night, but never could be borrowed.

Deluxe room is just bigger in its size than Superior but nothing special.
Breakfast was nothing special as well and there's only bread and watermelon left if you go around 10am.

4. I booked through hotel booking website and so it's prepaid, but the reception tried to charge me again when I checked out.

I will never, NEVER go back to this hotel again, the price is way too high for it's poor service and quality of the hotel.
We didn't feel at home at all, we were just angry for whole time we stayed there.
I will rather stay in nice and cozy hostel on the beach which will make us at home next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Yuki-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights, from Dec 26 to Dec 28th. Booked two rooms for me and my wife and two sons. No adjoining rooms so we were given two rooms 8 doors from each other. Both rooms were deluxe rooms but my room (Room 127) is smaller than my sons room (Room 138). Have a bad experience with Room 127 because the AC doesn't work. Informed the front desk before we went out. When we came back later that night, looks as if the AC has been repaired, but the AC still blowing hot air (only fan not the cold air). It was not comfortable at all since the nights are hot. Since it is a brand new hotel (opened Dec 17th 2011) and the staffs are all new, I give them a break this time.

Breakfast is simple; there were mini sausages, local foods such as noodles, nasi lemak, cheeses that were cut in pieces, white and wholemeal bread and eggs. Its ok I guess, but to me the most decent food was the omellete. They should do better on the breakfast if they want more guests.

We walked to get our dinner both nights since the hotel is close to the busy Cenang beach. stretch.

Room Tip: Get the room facing the old paddy field and mountain at the back of the hotel if you like nature and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yusoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
8.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
7.9 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
0.5 mi away
Nadias Hotel
Nadias Hotel
#17 of 103 in Langkawi
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi

Property: favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
Address: Lot 119, Mukim Padang Mat Sirat Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fave hotel Cenang Beach is a hotel located in Cenang Beach in Langkawi, Malaysia. It is the first of its kind on the island to offer such a perfect mix of style, functionality and good value. Leisure and business travelers not only have the beautiful beach at their fingertips but also a selection of facilities on site to accommodate them during their stay. Enjoy tasty snacks at the eclectic coffee shop, relax at the bar and lounge, soak in the sun at the swimming pool and roof top sundeck, or indulge in a spa treatment. Throughout the hotel is free WiFi as well as meeting rooms available for all your business needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing