We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in langkawi”
Review of The Box Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Box Chalet
Ranked #15 of 148 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place in langkawi”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Amazing place in Langkawi, near to the airport, you'll need a car to get there and in order to move in the island, but it's cheaper than most places in Langkawi and the guest are amazing friendly, they'll do anything to help you, especially hooking you up with some car rental and stuff like that.

The place is nice, not beautiful, but is really ok, shower works really well, air conditioning, very quiet neighbourhood, huge breakfast till late, good beds and clean sheets and rooms, I don't know what could you ask more for this small amount of money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcello B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    25
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
37
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We booked in at the Box Chalets based on the fantastic feedback on Trip Advisor. And how right you all were!! So here we are giving more fantastic feedback. It's such a beautiful little place, cute and manageable. I loved the simple but comfortable rooms, decorated in lovely colours. The vegetation in the garden is lovely. Within minutes of arriving we were cycling down lovely quiet roads to the stunning beach. The adorable hosts truly go out of their way to help you enjoy your stay - in our case for instance checking that we had taken the right route on our bikes. There was no -one else at the chalets when we were there so it was very peaceful, but other reviewers have not mentioned noise at presumably busier times.
We did our sightseeing while based at the Box and then had three days at the luxurious Rebak Island for our lazy pampered experience! It worked wonderfully for us!
The Box Chalets are very special, something quite different to cherish.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyne47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the box chalet in July 2012. The guesthouse is thoughtfully and nicely decorated. Rooms have everything necessary for comfort. Our kids enjoyed the garden and bicycles provided. The food was very good. The hosts were extremely helpful. They took us to a food fair in their own car and let us use their childrens' moto helmets. They were very friendly and we enjoyed getting to know them. The one drawback is the distance from town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I rented three rooms at the box Chalet for 4 nights whilst on vacation recently with my extended family. We were a gang of 5 adults and 4 kids.

Here are a few good things about the place:

The hosts: Wonderful folks. they go an extra mile to take care of he guests. Look after them well. They provide good advice about how to best spend the time whilst in town. Very friendly blokes. They allowed us to take the towels when going out to beaches with kids.

Cleanliness: Very clean toilets and spotless rooms. I think this can be pointed out as a single biggest driver for choosing Box Chalet. The towels were smelling fresh and rooms were made every day.

Pleasant Surprise: We had children with us so the hosts actually made breakfast for us every day. It was a really big help, since driving every morning to find breakfast with a contingent as large as ours, is no simple or easy task. Breakfast was not inculded in the booking. So this speaks to the generosity of the folks and ceratinly a pleasant surprise.

And a few Cons:

Location: I must say the Chalet is in a remote location. For people that are used to staying in hotels in busy commercial locations and not used to Chalet accommodation, they can feel a bit secluded especially in the nights. There are other families living in the vicinity so it is not entirely deserted, but certainly far from commercial areas.

It is best to rent a car if one chooses to stay here.

Overall, I would happily recommend this place to any one who is looking for good value, a place just to get good rest in the evenings and move around during the day. Finally, the hosts - they deserve special mention and they certainly make the stay worhwhile.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaleemIrphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed at the Box chalet for 3 days in June 2012. It is an ideal place for anyone who is looking for a fuss free value for money accommodation with great hosts who become your guide for a very peaceful and comfortable holiday and end up becoming very good friends too.

The rooms are well maintained and kept very clean. It is only 10 minutes drive away from the Airport and 15 minutes from Cenang Beach.

I recommend this accomodation for anyone who wants a good accomodation at a very reasonable price a drive away from the beach. (may be out of fear of tsunamis).

Room Tip: One should book a car in advance through online booking or through the Box Chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaseerKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I enjoyed a four night stay at the Box Chalet which provided me with all the necessary creature comforts, extremely accommodating hosts and the unique experience of village life in the kampung. This accommodation is newly opened (print a map and copy the address for your taxi driver!) and deserves serious consideration for the traveller wanting something off the beaten track (independent transport is essential) which is clean, modern and exceptionally friendly.

The jewel of this accommodation has to be the kind and friendly couple Mas and Effrendi who went out of their way to ensure I was comfortable and well taken care of. This included fantastic breakfasts of gorgeous local fruits and your choice or whatever takes your fancy from nasi goreng, fried rice, noodles or eggs in any style. Mas also arranged my bookings with local tour operators and car hire agency at good rates.

The room is simple, yet very comfortable, and impeccably clean. The beds are large and very comfortable, the air-con and room fan are excellent, and the bathroom is clean and functional with the typical shower over toilet arrangement.

The location is a reasonable distance to Pantai Cenang, and about 2km from the main road - this can be either an advantage or disadvantage depending on what you are looking for - bear in mind independent transport is essential which can be readily arranged on arrival. The location does permit a genuine kampung experience - being lulled to sleep by an orchestra of sounds from birds, geckos, and cicadas is something quite special indeed.

Don't just take my word for it - just go and stay there...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neroli_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and had a blast! If you're looking for an overcrowded place to party the night away with loud neighbours and drunks around, this is not the right place.

But if you are looking for an affordable island holiday filled with tranquility, the opportunity to immerse yourself in your surrondings while making friend with locals (seriously, why come all this way to do things you can do back home?), service and hospitality straight from the heart , and great breakfast, this is heaven!

Kak Mas and her family were great hosts, it was more like a homestay than a guesthouse, would seriously recommend this place! A car or moped would be practical since it's not on the main tourist route but that also keeps its rustic charm in a clean and quiet kampung (village) environment :)

Room Tip: The rooms and facilities are new and the size is good, especially for the price you pay so don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingLoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
6.5 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
6.4 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#3 of 17 in Kuah
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
414 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
2.7 mi away
Tubotel
Tubotel
#8 of 148 in Langkawi
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Box Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Box Chalet

Property: The Box Chalet
Address: Lot 1107 no. 1 Jalan Batu Belah Batu Bertangkup | Kg.Caruk, Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Box Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Box Chalet Langkawi service customer with care&sincere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Zenrooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Box Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing