We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Amzar Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amzar Motel
Ranked #90 of 140 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Tampere
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I didn't actually stay in this hotel although they had a room available (95RM). I have to say i have never seen so unwelcoming and rude receptionist, aand i've been in quite a few places.

First of all, they won't let you see the rooms. He only yold us to look at the wall and check the pictures. No matter how we insisted to see the rooms. Well, after a while he mumbled something and basically escorted us out of the reception, locked the door on the way out and led us in the yard, pointing to one of the buildings saying "its in 2nd floor". We followed him with our bags, just to notice that suddenly we are at the 2nd floor waiting to see the rooms and the guy is across the yard in someplace that appeared to be his living quarters. He looks at us for a while and then just starts to walk back to the reception.

So no, you don't get to see the room. No, you don't get even a slightest bit of what could be called even a moderate customer service. And no, i wouldn't advice you to go and try this place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adextrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    8
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
3
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

On 26 Jun 13, I send my Japanese friend to check in at Amzar Motel, the rooom looks nice however there was no air conditioner remote control provided in the room. My friend went to reception counter to ask for the remote. The owner, Hj Ismail was there and with a rude gesture he said ' I'm not providing the remote because I don't want people to play with it'..'You want to stay,you stay or you can find another place to stay'.. very rude explanation for an old man.
Have to very careful whenever you planned to stay at this motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Moreton Bay Region, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this place in the 45 ringgit a/c room. Great location, off the street and quiet. Toilet is manual flush - you use bucket and water, cold water shower. Walls are very thin, unfortunately on 2nd night our neighbour was making a lot of noise and tv on from 3.00am. Tv has no english speaking channels. Rooms could be a bit cleaner. Towels and soap are provided and the beach is across the road. I would stay here again. Each room has a little verandah and chairs and there are lots of places to hang out your clothes to dry. 50 ringit deposit is taken.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twobigfeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

stayed there from 28-30 September 2012 in Room 402 (with balcony) at RM95 per night. That's the only room type available during our check in time. Average size room with two single room. Nice comfy mattress and pillow. Great water pressure with water heater.

The next day, checked the other type of room i.e. RM35, RM45 and RM75 and later decided to stay with the RM95 room. Really recommend to pay extra a bit more for more and better convenience. The only different with the other room types are the toilet. If you are particular with the toilet, then, I really recommend to take this RM95 room.

Service was good but the housekeeping didn't clean our room on second day, but that doesnt bother us much as we hardly spend our time in the room.

Location wise : very good and convenient to reach most part of Cenang attraction i.e. the Underwater World and beach. Fronting the Sandy Beach resort, this motel provides good value for money. Many restaurants alongside the road.

Room Tip: take the family room at RM95 per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akublues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

My friends and I spent two nights at this motel during our trip to Langkawi, and we weren't disappointed. The room pricing was among the lowest in Cenang Beach area, starting from RM 35 per night.
The RM35 chalet with fan was full, so the three of us opted for the air-conditioned chalet for RM45. Our room was very clean and spacious, comfortable for the three of us although it was meant to accomodate two people.
The toilet is very clean too, although they did not provide hot shower. But you wouldn't need a hot shower in the tropical weather.
The surrounding of the motel was quiet and peaceful, and there is a water dispenser in the middle of the compund where you can get free hot water or icy cold water. They also provided an iron for everyone to use.
There were some mosquitoes around, but since we kept the air conditioning on, we hardly noticed it.
The staffs are quite friendly, and they offered island hopping and Payar Island snorkelling package too.
There is also a convenience store right next to the lobby, and a restraurant at the other side. All in all, we were very satisfied with out stay and will definitely stay there during our next trip to Langkawi.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinaranmalam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
486 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Was staying in Charlie motel (disgusting.) n was recommended this place by staff @ red tomato cafe.
So next morning checked it out with various other hotels etc.
Me & gd agreed on this place as it was quiet , best value n super clean with hot water air con balcony .
Staff friendly enough, free wifi didn't get it in room but didn't matter.
Location excellent right in the centre
Of everywhere n 2 mins from reception cross road down small side street path n bang white sand n beach!!
Recommend hotel n wud go bk!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.0 mi away
Altis Hotel Langkawi
Altis Hotel Langkawi
#62 of 100 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
9.1 mi away
Azio Hotel
Azio Hotel
#51 of 100 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.8 mi away
T Star Cottage
T Star Cottage
#12 of 137 in Langkawi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
D'Warung Motel
D'Warung Motel
#15 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cottage Langkawi
The Cottage Langkawi
#6 of 31 in Pantai Cenang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tubotel
Tubotel
#7 of 140 in Langkawi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amzar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amzar Motel

Property: Amzar Motel
Address: Lot 1659, Amzar Motel Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing