We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't recommend this place”

Palm View Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #201 of 423 Restaurants in Langkawi
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
chonburi
Level Contributor
165 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“I can't recommend this place”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My partner and I ordered 6 different plates-3 came wrong!People working there have no idea of serving.We watched other tables where people bitterly complained.In the end the bill was also wrong.There are really much better places to eat.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wihoChonburi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    41
    29
    16
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Worst chinese seafood!!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

My family and I decided to give this restaurant a try as it seemed a genuine chinese restaurant. Food was serves pretty quickly, which was good as we were starving after a long day at Cenang Beach. But when we had our first bite, the food tasted salty and very artificial. The only thing that tasted genuine was the chinese tea. Nothing else tasted good and we were terribly disappointed. It was a good thing we didn't go for the crab otherwise that would have cost us a bomb for a miserable dinner! This will definitely be one place we will never ever be coming back for any meal!

Helpful?
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Simple restaurant, value for money, but requires some attention”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The restaurant serves Chinese-Thai food. Try the Thai style duck. Choosing seafood priced by 100 gram it is recommended to see and weight the "catch" before it is served ;-)
Staff needs some improvement especially when it concerns the timing of serving the food. Nevertheless the food tasty and affordable!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Went twice. Value for money”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Wanted to try Orkid Ria which is located opposite but it was much more expensive. Settled for Palm View. Very simple restaurant, reasonable priced. Enjoy our food

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ystan19122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quality does not justify price”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Read thru some reviews and realized that this place has no consistency.There were good and bad experiences. Well, my experience with them was horrible. Took us forever to get their attention. And when the second dish arrived, our Chinese tea hasn't. How hard is it to dunk in some tea leaves into hot water??? The food came really really slowwww. We finished our rice and majority of the dishes have not arrived. Some of the staff were pretty rude to us. Yes we understand you have lots to do but no need for rudeness.

Food was ok nothing great and the servings were rather small. The highlight of the evening was the BILL. There were 8 of us so we roughly estimated the price. Seeing that it was a seafood restaurant with fresh seafood, we ordered fish and the portion was enough for two people.And that tiny little anchovy came up to a whooping RM 80! We have eaten in various seafood restaurants and RM 80 usually can be shared by 5 people. But it is really to expensive and the quality of the food does not justify their prices. Understand that it is a tourisy spot but why the cut throat prices? Locals dine there too. Well not all our food and drinks came but it was still stated in our bill and again we had to wave our hands till our arms hurt to get someones attention.

Sigh. Well i know im never going back there again. It looked very promising form the outside.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreidaFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palm View Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Palm View Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing