We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambong Ambong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ambong Ambong
Certificate of Excellence
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views, wonderful staff, cheeky monkeys, useful hill climb, great location close to beach and restaurants but peaceful and private, wonderful attention to quality in the buildings design and interior amenities - totally recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank manucaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Succinct , informative and a great review!!

Terima Kasih ( Malay for Thank You )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    48
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
77
309
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed in Ambong-Ambong for 5 nights on the 2nd January 2014, from the moment we arrived to when we left it was absolutely first class. It is unusual to start a hotel review by mentioning the staff but the team (Anna, Nizam, Mokta and Aman) deserve it as they are the best we have ever come across. We have stayed in various hotels around the world but the service is without doubt way above anything we have experienced!
The hotel has huge rooms, the setting (in the rain forest), the location (minutes from the beach) and only 5-10 mins walking from some of the best restaraunts in Langkawi). Yes there is a hill, but when they have given you a mobile phone and pick you up/drop you off to your room it is like a having a personal chauffeur!, they even pick up & drop off in the town if you cannot be bothered to walk!
The staff recommended several restaraunts which were all first class (the Japanese by the entrance to Ambong is voted best restaraunt in Langkawi), they also arranged a mangrove tour which was great.
One last thing, when we stayed we met the owners who were very keen on asking if there was anything that could improve the hotel which is a refreshing change, we could not think of one thing. I asked them about the design of the hotel (which is unique) and they said it took a long time as they wanted to capture the beauty and tranquility of the area without ruining it. They have achieved a wonderful result.
This is the boutique hotel that all others should be judged by!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derryck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for the lovely review, especially the kind words about the staff which are appreciated. As you know , we are not professional hoteliers and are still in the learning process and we are reliant on suggestions from guests ( who are mostly kind and helpful) to improve the quality of our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed there for just a day, as it was meant to be a small luxury on our trip. And the decision was just right. We booked Dayang Bunting, which was a 3 story cottage with great view and very comfortable bedrooms.

The location is at walk-able distance from beach, and if you are not against having nice little stroll in the evening, the shops and restaurants are nearby. Sagar is a great Indian restaurant, which we found nearby, and would strongly recommend it to anyone who appreciates North Indian food.

Anna and Nizam were very helpful, as stated all over TA.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vardhankoshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hi , Anna and Nizam normally captivate our guests; she with her Gallic charm and humour and he with his Malaysian warmth and kindness ( and he also mixes lethal cocktails which you obviously missed).

Please come back again soon to sample more of our hospitality ( and that cocktail! )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at Ambong Ambong for two nights and wish it had been longer! It really was a tranquil paradise set in the rainforest, but with very easy walking access to the beach. We were upgraded to a larger suite which was so kind, we loved sitting on the big balcony enjoying the peaceful setting in the mornings and evenings.

The team at Ambong go out of their way to be accommodating - we were provided with a different traditional local breakfast each morning (on top of fruit, yoghurt and juice delivered the day before) which was a great way to get a taste of local cuisine, and they were always ready and available to drop us off at local restaurants, and offering a ride up the driveway (although we chose to walk up it most times - yes it's steep but not too long, so no problem for most people, and a ride is always available.)

The pool is lovely and refreshing and we made the most of the spacious yoga deck to do a morning workout. We also went to the on-site spa and japanese restaurant, both of which offered discounts for being guests at Ambong and were absolutely top notch in terms of service quality.

We did eventually move down to a larger resort as we wanted some time directly on the beachfront but you could happily spend a week or more at Ambong particularly if you are looking for a more serene and private location. The only thing I missed was having a patch of sunshine to do some sunbathing - then again you get so much of that at the beach, it's nice to have a a shaded poolside setting as well.

We will certainly return to Ambong one day soon - I recommend that you go here now as this hidden gem is set to be in very high demand!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thanks for the review. As you discovered, Ambong-Ambong's jungle setting offers both peace and serenity and for most guests, a welcome refuge from the heat and hustle of the nearby tourist centre. In fact, many of our guests spend a lot of time in their rooms, just soaking in the ambience, making only the briefest forays outside for meals.
Several guests have mentioned that sun bathing by the pool is possible for only 3 or 4 hours daily. We are trying to do something about it without cutting the large tree which provides food and passage for the monkeys.
We look forward to having you with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed in the Ambong-Ambong for 10 days. Just great, unique place ! Nice, roomy studios, very friendly, helpful staff ! All necessary shops, restaurants, beaches in walking distance. A great place, we would come back anytime. Considering the situation on the (very) steep up hill, a good physical condition helps. Dont worry, a driver is available...

Room Tip: A studio or appartment on the top of the hill gives you Ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilio2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for the positive review. Like you, most of our guests appreciate being able to escape from the bustling tourism hot-spots to the quiet and peaceful ambience of Ambong-Ambong. Anna and her team enjoyed looking after you and would be delighted to have you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed in a studio room kitted out with a kitchenette. Views were of the rainforest and the sea. There was a table outside to enjoy breakfast next to nature. Staff were very accommodating. Only down side was the pool. Green with algae and clearly unused. Lovely place. Would have gotten 5star if not for the pool.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank J0Peh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
This is the second time we have had this problem with the pool and believe me I am even more upset and annoyed (and deeply embarrassed) than you are. The first time we took steps which we thought would sort the problem for good, but evidently it was not enough, because it came back with a vengeance. Anna said in a matter of 2 days the water turned from crystal clear to murky in spite of all our efforts.
Thank goodness for the moment the water is again pristine but even so we have called in the experts to help. I am determined that there should be no recurrence even if it means having to change the entire water treatment system.
Apart from this hiccup I am glad you were able to enjoy what we have to offer. Please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmoe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights after booking our stay because of the great review in Lonely Planet. Unfortunately we were sick from Dengue which we caught in Penang. Therefore we were unable to enjoy the very luxurious suite at its fullest. The hotel staff was wonderful, helpful, kind and generous when helping us back and forth to the Langkawi hospital. This exotic resort is a romantic place in a very special setting. We're grateful to have experienced it and we would recommend it to anybody. / Charlotte&Fredrik from Sweden

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for the lovely and gracious review and that in spite of your illness you were able to appreciate Ambong-Ambong. Anna was very concerned and I know she went out her way to make sure that you were safe in the best care in Langkawi. For some reason I am not entirely able to fathom, dengue occurs only in large towns (even squeaky clean Singapore) and heavily urbanized areas and Langkawi, being almost rural, has so far been spared. I hope it stays that way.
Anna and the staff sends you their hopes for a full and quick recovery and a request for you to come back soon to continue with your holiday from where you left off. PS: one small consolation, you are now immune from this particular strain of dengue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
8.3 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
8.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
11.8 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
14.2 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 106 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambong Ambong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambong Ambong

Property: Ambong Ambong
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambong Ambong 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambong Ambong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing