We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hideout!”
Review of Ambong Ambong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambong Ambong
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Hideout!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Ambong-ambong exceeded my expectation in many ways. It is very well designed to blend in with nature and well thought out. No formal check in/out procedure which was absolutely great and time saving. We absolutely love the balcony overlooking the rainforest and sea view from slight distance, and the unique DIY breakfast concept. The only drawback is that the fresh fruits served which was not sweet enough and the steep hike up to our room. Ambong is located at a less crowded area of Pantai Tengah, offering absolute tranquillity and still within a short distance to the lively Pantai Cenang. Perfect option for those seeking unique laid back experience away from the hustle bustle. I would definitely love to return again someday and wouldn't mind spending half a day in the room!

Room Tip: Get a high floor, overlooking both sea and rainforest.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kate k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for a great review and I am sorry that an otherwise perfect stay was a little soured by the fruits that are not sweet enough. I expect you are referring to the pineapples. Generally most are well ripened when delivered and ready for eating but occasionally the odd slightly unripe fruit slips by. We will now ensure that every fruit is sampled before being served.

I hope that on your next visit here will be no recurrence of this. See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    49
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
82
331
26
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have a fantastic life living and working in Malaysia. So many places to visit and see wildlife at its best. My wife said she would like to visit a rainforest or the like. I booked Ambong Ambong because of the pictures and reviews. We were picked up from the airport by our Malay friends/adopted family who took us to the hotel where we were met taken by 4x4 to our room by the hotel guys. When we walked in the door we were met by an open verandah outlooking the forest. This is the lounge / kitchen area. Also a wooden bath (Hot and Cold water) where you can soak and have a glass of champagne. Next was the bedroom with a four poster bed and ensuite bathroom which both have huge windows and panoramic views.Our friends who all visited us could not beleive the fantastic views
On the three days we were there we saw Dusky Leaf and Macac monkeys, Hornbills, Oriels (yellow bird) Giant Squirrels, tree squirrels and many small lizards. All of these literally in front of our room in the trees. Do the Cable Car and Mangrove Tour, but be there early to avoid the queues.

Room Tip: We stayed in S1 which is the bottom room of a three storey building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavefunMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
As you mentioned the fantastic views of the Andaman Sea and of the distant mountains and islands framed by green forests is the most attractive feature of the suites. Even though all our rooms have good views of the sea, the suites, being higher up the hill, offer the best by far.
Sitting in the hot tub at the end of the day with a glass of sun-downer in hand looking at the sky awash with the colours of the setting sun is an exquisite experience we recommend to all our guests and I am glad you were able to enjoy it.
Thanks for a great review and, seeing that you live in Malaysia, come again frequently whenever you need to be rejuvenated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at Ambong Ambong for eight nights in February this year and we had a great time. We went with four friends and we were made really welcome. Anna couldn't do enough for us but most of the staff excelled at their jobs and went the extra mile to look after us.
Waking up to the monkeys in the trees in the morning was a real treat and a conversational distraction fro the weather!! Breakfast was a choice of local food or continental and was extremely good. It was nice to wake up when read, make fresh coffee and breakfast on the balcony watching the monkeys.
The owners hosted a party on the Wednesday evening with food and free flowing cocktails and drinks; it was excellent and a great social event.
Although it is a steep climb up to the rooms, a driver is on hand to take you and collect you, and a mobile phone is provided so that you can contact the driver and other local services, so it was absolutely fine.
Whilst we were there, one of our party had their 50th birthday. I had bought some bubbly so I asked Anna if she could loan us some flute glasses. When we got back to our apartment on the day, the room was decorated with balloons etc and there was a birthday cake in the fridge, along with the requested flute glasses. Fantastic!!!
So why haven't I given 5 stars? Well, the only downside for me is that the room could have been cleaner. All the windows were smeared for the whole duration and there was dust in a few places; i.e. on the top of the TV, under the bedside cupboard that never moved. As i'm asthmatic this was a particular concern. To be fair to the staff, I didn't report it because they were all so nice and helpful I didn't know how to approach the issue.
That said, would I return to Ambong Ambong? Most definitely YES!

Room Tip: If you decide to stay in the suite, just be aware that monkeys can get on the balcony! Our friends s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aldersbarnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for an excellent and even-handed review.
As the owner I am both aghast and deeply embarrassed by what you described, which was intolerable and inexcusable. I like to think that those staying at Ambong-Ambong are my personal house guests, and anything like this is extremely cringe-worthy. I have friends and family who are asthmatic and are aware of the implications for you. I thank you for not kicking up a fuss.
Please accept my sincerest apologies. You say that you will visit us again; please do so and give me a chance to make some small restitution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I can not say enough about Ambong Ambong. I was extremely impressed from the minute I enquired about a weekend away with the girls. Anna and her staff went out of her way and above and beyond to ensure we had the best weekend possible. The property is small and quiet and truly set right in the jungle. Six of us had such a great weekend. We stayed in a suite as well as the two bedroom villa and they were both superb. Not a thing I would change.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolefred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
I am so happy we were able to meet your expectations because Anna (and her team) really went out of their way to make your party have a great week-end. We enjoyed looking after you, so please come back again. Singapore is only a short flight away. Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We visited Malaysia and Langkawi for the first time, and the stay at this resort as the last stop was a very positive experience. Resort Ambong Ambong was excellent with very friendly and helpful staff.  Thanks a lot to Nizam and his staff.

The very warm welcome, the nice, big and clean room and the tasty breakfast that we could enjoy at our balcony  every morning made our stay perfect. We highly recommend others to choose this hotel when visiting Langkawi.  Even the steep way up was OK, especially when you make a stop by the pool and some from the staff is there immediately with a bottle of cold, refreshing water.

If you want to take a tour we think that a mangrovetour with Dev is a very good choice.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 222Pia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
You may like to know that we have just remodeled the pool area to give guests more privacy and space to sun bathe. Also the building next to the pool is being converted to a café called " The Good Earth Café" so that in future a cold beer or a reinvigorating coffee will always be readily available.

Thank you for the review and please come back soon. We enjoyed looking after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
160 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is a pleasant little resort, perched on a (rather steep) hill, surrounded by lush rainforest and its other inhabitants. It had few units, making it a tranquil place—perfect for a relaxing break.

Upon arrival, we had to squeeze our car into the not-too-generously-sized parking space, and then take a hike up two flights of stairs to the office. The hike was pretty exhausting for our parents, who were in their 60s. For younger guests though, it might be good exercise. At the office, they sent a vehicle to our car to pick up our luggage, sparing us the ordeal of having to struggle with the bags up that steep slope.

The two-bedroom cottage that we stayed in was well-equipped and clean. We found the accommodations to be very comfortable during our two-night stay. If I have to be picky, it would be that the channel selection for the TV was limited, and we missed out on some sports matches. However, the well-stocked refrigerator and the spacious balcony made up for that, and my family enjoyed snacking and sipping drinks while chatting on the balcony instead of watching TV at night. In any case, the wifi worked reasonably well, so we did not miss out on the news and sports results.

In terms of service, the folks in Ambong Ambong were great. They were friendly and helpful, and worked hard to ensure that our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. They were pleasant without being intrusive. Upon check-in, we were handed a mobile device with which we could contact them whenever we needed assistance, even from the carpark if we did not feel like climbing the hill to our unit, especially if we got back late at night. The response whenever we needed to call them was prompt, and at other times they pretty much left us alone (unlike in some other places where staff presence may be overwhelming and where it seemed there was always somebody trying to strike up a conversation every corner we turned, although they probably do that with the best intentions), which I thought was pleasant for a place where we had wanted to relax in and enjoy the serenity.

One other little complaint about the stay was that we felt it was rather pricey. For the price we paid, we could possibly have opted for a 5-star resort on another part of the island, and which would offer much more in terms of facilities and material luxury within the resort. However, I do recognise that Ambong Ambong does not enjoy the economies of scale that these other 5-star resorts enjoy, and therefore their costs are harder to manage, resulting in them needing to charge higher prices. If one does not mind paying more for a different (and mostly pleasant) experience, then I would say this place is definitely worth considering!

Room Tip: The single storey, two-bedroom unit which they call the "Beras Basah", is the one closest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelvinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for the long and thoughtful review. First I must apologise that you had to walk up 3 flights of stairs to the office. Normally a driver will be waiting at the bottom of the hill to take guests straight up to their room for the check-in formalities. There must have been a foul-up that day and it is possible that the driver was taking another set of guests to their room.
Before we started, one of the options was to build a large 5-star hotel, but the idea was quickly dropped. Even though the site was large enough (over 3 hectars) the thought of leveling the hill and destroying the forest was unacceptable. It was a deliberate choice to build something small, different and interesting – quirky even – and certainly no one in the family wanted us to be part of a 5-star chain.
Aside from being small (no economies of scale as you said) the terrain makes both building and operating costs a little higher than is usual.

The staff appreciate the kind words you have for them. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I travel overseas a lot for work and stay in many hotels from business to resort hotels and this place is up there with the best of them!

The rooms were large and expertly designed and equipped, with a balcony / kitchen / open air bathtub overlooking the bay and jungle.

The pool is small but very relaxing and when you have staff like Nizan offering you Margeritas whilst you lounge in the water makes it a small price to pay :)

I have to say that the staff make this place what it is as much as the jungle-esque location and room designs. From Nizan to the drivers (whose names i forget) the service was fabulous and was mindblowing quite frankly. Cant recommend this place highly enough!

Thanks to all the staff at Ambong Ambong

Room Tip: Its not on the beach but this really doesn't matter once you get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for the review and for making mention of Nizam’s Margeritas of which he is rightly very proud of. (Actually he is a master of at least a dozen cocktails of varying potency all of which he is proud of, but that’s another story and I digress). The staff takes pride in offering friendly and personal service and they are happy that you were happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
8.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
7.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
14.2 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,313 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
11.4 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambong Ambong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambong Ambong

Property: Ambong Ambong
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambong Ambong 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ambong Ambong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing