We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful View and Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful View and Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

From the moment we arrived the service was excellent. All of the staff were extremely friendly and polite. The main attraction of this resort is the infinity pool which over looks the blue Andaman sea -- just like the pictures! This island and resort are truly relaxing and serene. If you are looking for a party place try one of the other islands.

The beach is a beautiful blue color and has mountains on either side. One thing that was really nice about the beach was the walkway made of sand which made it shallow enough to walk out right into the middle of the water. Unfortunately, there were a lot of sharp rocks and broken shells. There was a cleaning crew sweeping the debris and disposing of it, but it was still very difficult to walk barefoot. On the plus side, I found some really beautiful shells. It is well known that there are many wild monkeys in Malaysia, the only place I saw them on the resort was the far left end of the beach. There were no guests all the way out there, and the monkeys were just eating some fruit from the trees -- don't leave any food/drinks lying around and you will be just fine. There was a swim up bar in the pool, but I did not see anyone serving food or drinks at the beach.

My favorite meal of the day was the breakfast buffet which was included with our room. As far as I am concerned, they have the right idea when it comes to breakfast. In addition to the typical Western buffet they also had a whole section for Indian food and Chinese food. I loved having spicy, flavorful noodles and curry for breakfast. However, if this is not for you, there is still the Western food section as I mentioned. The 2nd best meal was the seafood BBQ buffet with grilled lobster, crab, etc. With that said, the rest of the meals were just average, however the view from all of the restaurants is beautiful.

If you are a SPG Member (Starwood Preferred Guest) then you get 15% off at the restaurants. HINT: You should all be SPG Members because it is a free rewards program that you can use at hotels around the world to get rewards. For example, after eating at this resort a few times I received a free massage at the spa. The spa was nice and they arranged for a golf cart to transport me because it is at the edge of the resort. Other amenities include a gym, tennis court, squash room, billiards, and sauna. The gym has a great view of the ocean, good equipment, refreshments, cold towels, and they even provide Beats headphones for the monitors.

Lastly, I recommend a room with an ocean view. The rooms with a view of both the pool and ocean are beautiful but a little bit more noisy due to people in the pool as well as the evening entertainment. Overall, this is a beautiful resort with a relaxing atmosphere perfect for those looking for a quiet getaway.

Room Tip: I recommend a room with an ocean view. The rooms with a view of both the pool and the ocean are beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iWanderlust4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear iWanderlust4,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. It is very kind of you to mention our friendly and helpful associates. They truly the heart of the resort!
We would like to thank you for highlighting our beautiful resort, serene view and unique pools. Thank you for recognizing our signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast. Our stylish buffet breakfast and BBQ dinner are well-known by its widespread variety of nourishing food .Moreover, we also would like to thank for your support on our well know Starwood Preferred Guest program. We appreciate you bringing up some shortcomings you have experienced during the stay here. It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us, and we look forward to your return.

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,609
    817
    280
    91
    57
See reviews for
869
1,251
65
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a fantastic 4night-stay at the Westin Langkawi. Checkin & personal welcome went smooth and renovated rooms are truly beautiful. Each morning during our delicious breakfast we thought of doing a tour around the island, but we always ended up spending the entire day at the pool. The lagoon is the best together with lunch and dinner at the Tide restaurant, which serves very delicious and fresh food. The staff is very helpful and friendly and we will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnnoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Onno H,

Thank you for your recommended and fabulous review.We glad that you have a great welcome experience during the visit. We would like to thank you for highlighting our newly rejuvenated rooms.We are delighted to hear your good words about our SuperFoodRx breakfast and dinner.moreover,we are happy to hear that our associates were great, making you feel very well taken care of. We do trust that they have placed much effort and are willing to go the extra mile just to make your stay with us a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you for another rejuvenating holiday.

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights and actually I would love to stay longer.

The check in procedure was great, the staff make us feel like a vip.

Location: located at the end of the jetty point, you can walk to the jetty mall in 15min - (although not much going on there)
Khau town is 7-10min taxi ride and it's RM12
Taxi from the airport is RM34 (35MIN)

Room: we had been upgraded to ocean front suite which is amazing. Massive terrace overlook the ocean. 2 toilets and a separate kitchenette. Its was truly luxurious. We also received a complimentary bottle of wine and some little snack as a welcome gift.

The is several pool around the hotel, I went to the rock pool which is great, the water is super warm and very relaxing.

Breakfast was a let down for us, but totally understand as they are doing reno at the main restaurant, so we have breakfast at the conference hall..i guess. it's crowded and very hot.

Pool bar and restaurant. - We ordered a few drinks and sit by the beach the drinks price is standard for any 5 stars hotel (as a guide: RM17 for a draft beer, and RM11 for soft drink)

Overall, I am happy with the service and the experience. Would definitely recommend it to other and return to westin if I am in the area.

Room Tip: ocean front suite is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank piya-namwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear piya-namwan,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa and you have enjoyed your 2 nights stay here with us. It is very kind of you to mention our friendly and helpful associates. Moreover we appreciate your positive feedback about our comfortable newly rejuvenated room. We appreciate you bringing up the shortcomings you have encountered to our attention. It was a great pleasure to have you amongst our guests and we hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.


Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Westin for 5 days and thoroughly enjoyed it. Great accommodation and a good bar. Breakfast was quite good bar not being able to serve Bacon of course.

Location is at the bottom of the island which is ok if you really want to just stay at the Resort. Good swimming pool with a superb view of the ocean.

Probably rate it an 8 out of 10. Staff were very good .

Langkawi itself is very quiet and sedate though, but if that is what u r looking for, spot on.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Adam H,

Thank you for having chosen The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa for your stay in Langkawi. We appreciate very much on your encouraging remarks about our beautiful location, unique pools and our great accommodation. Thank you for mentioning our friendly and attentive associates. We would like to apologize for the shortcomings which you had faced during your stay. We do hope that we may welcome you again in the near future.


Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We arrived with the warmest welcome for Mohani, who I had been communicating with via email about our babymoon - we were opening an envelope containing the gender of our baby on our holiday and she was aware of this as it had gone missing in the post. She personally checked us in and took us to our room, where she had upgraded us and made a beautiful handmade card for us. A bath with rose petals was waiting. It was perfect.

The room was lovely and the bed was so comfortable. We had a great nights sleep and the aircon temp was perfect.

Unfortunantely the room was one of the best things about the hotel.

The infinity pool is in desperate need of a refurb. After a few days after the initial wow factor wore off, we noticed how dirty and run down the pool was. The grout was all mouldy and coming away and there was heaps of stuff floating in the pool. We never once saw the pool getting cleaned despite many staff standing around. It really was not relaxing as it was gross leaning on the grimy side and we found ourselves jumping in to cool off and then hopping out.

The pool bar often had four staff there, but only one taking orders and making drinks. Weird. By the way, the Tiger beer is about $7 AUD each - we suggest going down to the shops at the ferry terminal where you can buy an entire slab (24 beers) for about $18. We also went to 7 Eleven and bought some soft drink for $1 instead of spending $6 at the hotel. We felt like we were being ripped off a bit, even though we understand hotel prices are more.

We were very disapointed there was no 'happy hour' each day. It only happens twice a week and it's at a time when people wouldn't even be at the pool. Very strange as we thought alcohol was cheap in Malaysia?

While the breakfast was great, the menus were very disapointing. There was hardly any Malaysian food on the three restaurant menus - that's why you come to a new country to try the local cuisine! You could have Beef Rendang and Roti bread at breakfast but couldn't order it at any of the restaurants. What the. We spoke to a couple from New Zealand and another Australian and they were all saying how disappointing the food was. One guy said he spoke to the head chef and he said the manager likes Thai food so that's why there was lots of Thai food on the menu. Well maybe the manager should go and work in Thailand? It's a shame he puts his preferences ahead of the guests.

We ended up venturing into Cenang a couple of nights to get some nice food (try Casa Del Mar - cheaper than The Westin and beautiful food, service and view!). Plus they have lucky hour at the bar - when you order a drink, you get to spin the wheel for a free drink. We ended up getting three free drinks and only paying for two (which were also a lot cheaper than The Westin). This was great fun and everyone around the bar was so happy.

We also tried a couple of local restaurants in Kuah that were a thousand times tastier than The Westin - Wan Thai was lovely.

The staff were all very friendly - especially Mohani and a man who was visiting from Jakarta for a few weeks training. He was lovely and spoke to us everyday.

If the pool was drained and redone, the bar updated and with happy hour everyday and the menu (and chefs!) completely overhauled, we might consider visiting again, otherwise we wouldn't recommend it. There are much better places to stay in Asia for a comparable price.

I feel awful writing this because Mohani made our stay so special with such a lovely room and beautiful thoughtful card, but there are just too many cons rather than pros with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Kate G,

Thank you very much for spending your time writing this review about your experience. We are delighted to hear your good words about our new rejuvenated rooms and our signature Heavenly bed and most of all about the experience with Mohani.
Concerning your comments about the issues regarding our pool, we are extremely disappointed that we failed on this occasion to live up to the high standards we have set for ourselves and we had meetings with the pool cleaning team who work under the supervision of the engineering team. They usually work either early hours or late hours in order not to disturb the guests, but the situation you described is not acceptable. Kindly accept our apologies the lack of attention.
We also concerned to note that the variety of our Malaysian food did not meet your expectations. We have addressed this with our Executive Chef and will review and look for possible improvements. Thanks for bringing this up to our attention.
On the other hand, we are happy to know that you recognize one of our associates, which she had tried her level best in accommodating you during the stay with us.
We will look into the shortfalls you have brought up. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you have encountered and we can only hope to receive another opportunity during your next stay in Langkawi to prove to you that we can deliver high class service to all our guests

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Upon arriving was greeted by a plethora of staff and was treated with great amazing view from the main lobby. Was given a cold towel and refreshing drinks. Was checked in by a nice guy called Ris who upgraded us from a garden view to a partial ocean view room due to being a SPG member. Now normally when my partner and I stay on an island we like to explore it a bit but the infinity pool and view were too good for us to leave the resort. We would just stay by the pool drinking cocktails and enjoying fried calamari. The pools were never overcrowded and drinks service was top notch. Rooms themselves were nice and cleaning staff very helpful. Breakfast was standard with a whole lot of variety however not being used to the humidity was sometimes a little stuffy due to it being not air conditioned. Tide restaurant was nice and service was quick and there are other cheaper restaurants alternatives a quick taxi ride away. The spa staff were also great when my partner and I did the couples package. Would recommend this resort to anyone.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank faiiint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear faiiint ,

We are truly delighted and glad that both of you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We always proud to agree on the beauty of the resort, magnificent panoramic views of the Andaman Sea, surrounding islands and the infinite stretch of the blue sky. We are glad that you have enjoyed the arrival experience .Thank you for your generous remarks for mentioning our friendly and attentive associates. We are happy to know that both of you enjoyed our infinity pool and our serene atmosphere from Splash, a great place to unwind with signature drinks which had exceeded your expectation. Thank you for your positive comment about our newly rejuvenated room. We appreciate your highlight on the shortcoming during the stay. Thank you for your positive endorsement for the award winning Heavenly Spa and we are really grateful for your feedbacks and look forward to welcoming you back for another renewing stay in the near future!

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

A friend and I decided to meet up on Langkawi for our annual vacation. Not knowing the island or facilities available went with the Westin as a known brand. Best decision - upon arrival immediately felt relaxed and welcomed by the staff. Location of the hotel and spa is ideal for getting away and while I'm sure there were other guests it never felt over run by people. Staff were friendly and even remembered your name. Unfortunately the one restaurant was closed for renovations but the other options available were excellent and offered a good balance of Asian/Western food. The spa is one of the best I've been to and again the staff made you feel very welcomed and offered good suggestions for treatments. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 491DAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear 491DAB,

Thank you very much for spending your time in writing a truly inspiring review for us. We are pleased to know that you truly had an amazing and rejuvenating vacation with us here at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa. We are glad that you have enjoyed the arrival experience and we would like to thank you for your generous remarks for mentioning our friendly and attentive associates, they truly are the heartbeats of the resort. Thank you for your positive endorsement for the award winning Heavenly Spa. It was truly a great pleasure to have you here with us, and we look forward to your return here real soon.

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
12.8 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
13.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
15.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 100 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
9.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on private beachfront property with shopping malls in the vicinity and the jetty just a stone’s throw away, The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa perfectly balances the joys of nature and the spoils of opulence. With views of the sparkling Andaman Sea, the pristine jewels of nature can be enjoyed from the comforts of our elegantly designed 202 luxurious guestrooms and suites. Private Pool Villas boast state-of-the-art amenities, as well as the ultimate luxury of an infinity pool. Restore body and soul in the perfect retreat for sheer indulgence at the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin™, the only Heavenly Spa in Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Starwood APAC, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing