We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay there.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Sheets were stained, shower head in the bath was not working properly, tv was blurry. All the above needed to be fixed while we were there.

The worst thing is they charged us 4 after we left for damages that we did not cause!

We are very angry and dissatisfied and will recommend against staying there. We feel that we have been unfairly charged.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Justyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Justyn H,


Thank you very much for your feedback and please accept our apologies for the inconveniences.

Be well
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,382 - 1,388 of 3,210 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We picked the Westin because of it's strategic location. Pantai Cenang was to busy with tourists (and powered water toys) and the options to the North like Tanjug Rhu or the Datai, too isolated- from local restaurants. The Westin has it's own beach front (nearly deserted) but more importantly for us was only a short walk or MYR12 taxi fare from Kuah Town and great places to eat. We were appropriately warned of the renovation work under-way to the dining room-so that was no surprise. What was surprising was how genuinely courteous and friendly the staff were. Our room was very comfortable- as was the bed, the whole resort is well maintained and attractive. The only quibble was that we had specifically upgraded to an ocean view room. We had ocean glimpses. Because of the growth of trees only the top floor has ocean views. We were intrigued at some aspects of marketing: for example the spa treatment and food services offered were expensive by any measure- but particularly when the same (and in the case of food- better) could be had in Kuah Town for a fraction of the price. I guess they are counting on guests who wont brave dealing with the locals- or are worried about hygiene. As a consequence we only had breakfasts which were included and a couple of snacks- otherwise we ate in town. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcstrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear gcstrata,

Thank you for having chosen The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa for your stay in Langkawi. It is very kind of you to mention our friendly and helpful associates. They truly the heartbeats of the resort! Thank you for recognizing our signature Heavenly Bed and we are also delighted to hear your good words about our rooms. These rooms reflect a modern, contemporary resort product, showcasing the brand's philosophy of Westin, “For a Better You”. On the other hand, we apologize the shortcoming you experienced regarding the room view. Thank you for recognizing our signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast. We also concerned to note that the price of our service and food did not meet your expectations. We have addressed this with our team and will review and look for possible improvement .We hope to welcome you again for another relaxing stay in the near future.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here for a wedding that was fully accommodated by the Westin. They went above and beyond for the bride and groom who organised a minimum of 7 events across a few days. All rooms are a good size and as you would expect of a top resort, everything is immaculate. There are two excellent pools, though I found these could get quite warm. Breakfast was great, though I hear they are re-modelling the breakfast area shortly after we leave. It is walking distance to the nearby wharf shops/restaurants but some distance from the airport. Westin will offer you a shuttle and they also have a lounge at the airport for guests (be sure to make use of it). The only resort that could come close to the Westin is the Datai, but the Westin tops it for price and location.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMthetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear MMthetruth

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Your satisfaction towards our accommodation, services and facilities is truly appreciated. We appreciate your generous remark about our nicely rejuvenate room and our unique pools. Thank you also for recognizing our signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast and we are proud to announce that our Newly Renewed Seasonal Taste Restaurant is now open! It was a great pleasure to have you amongst our guests and we hope to be able to welcome you again very soon

Be well,
MS 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Spent four nights here mid-June (2A, 2C) staying in 2x adjoining garden view rooms.
Arrived late (9pm) to check in after a whole day travelling from HK-KL-Langkawi - and was immediately asked if we would like to upgrade to a villa - as they had one available, at "just MYR1600 extra per night" (on top of what we had already paid!). I personally found this somewhat off putting, to insinuate that paying an extra AUD$500+ PER NIGHT was no big deal - maybe for some.....! But really would have just liked to get check in and to our room that we had already booked ad paid for without that and the added attempt to encourage us to become SPG members...
The rooms were spacious and well appointed, however the bathroom did strike me a somewhat dated, and the shower pressure was minimal at best, with the temperature fluctuating periodically throughout, which necessitate frequent adjustment. The beds are late try kings, but are quite hard, which is good if you like it that way.
Housekeeping staff do a very good job, as do concierge - both were in fact more pleasant and welcoming than other staff throughout the resort.
Breakfast buffet was as expected - good variety of both Western and Asian influenced dishes - big thumbs up for the roti - that was spectacular.
Evening drinks in Breeze held a great selection, but be prepared to wait up to 20 mins for your drink to be served, in a quiet period. The staff in this area come across as efficient, wanting to take orders etc, but in reality delivery is slow as too is clearing away of empties. We ordered off the tapa like menu twice, the food was well presented and tasted nice.
The pool is certainly the highlight of this hotel, nice outlook, and plentiful seating to relax. Drinks and for service is much more efficient in this area also.
We took a walk down the far left end of the beach one morning and saw a group of monkeys (around 15!) which was amazing for us and our kids (although I do acknowledge they are deemed a bit of a pest for locals). We were also present at the pool one day when there was a baby cobra noticed in amongst the rocks - staff were persistent to catch and remove it.
Check out was seamless, and quick.
Overall I would rate this hotel 4* - there are definite improvements that could be implemented in the service areas with regards to consistency and efficiency that is expected within a 5* establishment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Sarah H,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We very much regret the shortcoming you experienced with regards to the room upgrade and SPG offer. We are glad on your encouraging remarks about our nicely rejuvenate room. Thank you for mentioning about our friendly housekeeping and concierge associates. We are happy to hear that our daily SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast exceeded your expectation. We apologise the shortcoming you experienced in The Breeze. Please be rest assured we will also provide additional training to our team to ensure they improve in their overall delivery of exemplary service standards. We have taken note on unpleasant experiences you mentioned. Rest assured that we take your comments seriously and will review them with our team to make necessary improvements. On the other hand, thank you for highlighting our unique pool and our attentive associates at The Splash Bar. We do agree on our beautiful nature will amazed your stay here. Despite the challenges you experienced, we would take pleasure in welcoming you back for another occasion so that you could experience the resort as it is meant to be.


Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I and my wife stayed at the Westin Langkawi Resort for 3 nights in April as part of our honeymoon. The check in was quick and staff was friendly. We had reserved a partial ocean view room and the view lived up to the expectations with a very clear view of the ocean and the neighbouring mini islands, which look like heaps of greenery protruding out of the ocean. The room was very spacious. The bathroom was large. The toilet and the shower each had their own stalls with their own doors which allow for more than one person to use the bathroom. The spacious balcony is where you can sit and enjoy the ocean view and had a table and 2 chairs. My only negative observations about the room is that it slightly shows signs of aging, and you cant keep the balcony door open at night unless you want mosquitoes and other insects in your room but thats understandable.
The resort itslef is very beautiful. The landscaping is amazing. Not too many people were swimming at the beach though the beach facilities are great. Sailboats are available for use free of charge. There are 3 swimming pools, 2 for adults and 1 for children. Though the pools tend to be shallow and only good for a dip.
We had purchased the breakfast buffet for all 3 nights and the breakfast is really good. A lot of choices and fresh fruit juice made to order. For dinner, we usually left the resort to nearby places because the food prices are really high at the resort. Cabs are readily available and cheap for nearby places.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the westin.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Kais E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Kais E,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We glad that you have enjoyed the arrival experience .thank you for highlighting our friendly and attentive associates. We always proud to agree on the beauty of the resort, spectacular location and that the resort offers glorious ocean view. Appreciate your positive comments about wonderful view from partial ocean room. Moreover, we are happy to hear that our daily SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast exceeded your expectation. Appreciate you bringing up the shortcomings you have encountered to our attention as this will only assist in improving towards service excellence .We hope to welcome you again for another relaxing stay in the near future.


Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We just spent 2 nights at The Westin Langkawi and we are sure to never come back. From the reception to restaurants, the overall services was very slow, inconsistent and felt totally ripped off. I just cant wait to check out and go to somewhere else.The beach is the biggest joke, loud with ferries and extremely dirty. Is this Westin? I DONT THINK SO!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lawrenceofarabia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Lawrenceofarabia84 ,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are truly disappointed to read from your review that you didn’t have a pleasant stay like it should have meant to be to relax and rejuvenate. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences you had to go through during your stay and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team members to look for possible improvements right away. In regards to the beach, we do agree that we are not blessed with the best one. We very much regret that we have failed to meet your expectations at this occasion. We do understand that you plan not to return to us, but can only hope that you can give us another chance to show to you the true Westin experience.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have spent 7 nights at this great resort. The staff were absolutely delightful from the moment we arrived and they kept this up right throughout our stay. The rooms were wonderful and very clean and tidy. Beds are great so you will always have a great nights sleep. We ate breakfast and mostly lunches (beside the horizon pool which is lovely) and ate out at night. The yacht club is a great place for a meal and drink.
We always treat people the way we like to be treated and can't believe there would be any bad previous comments - maybe there was a reason. We would highly recommend this great resort for its staff, it's location it's food and just the beautiful ambience of looking at the Andaman sea from the pool. Another tip would give us hire a car for a couple of days and explore the island and it's people. We would also recommend the cruising and especially the sunset cruise with captain Eva.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Wandypk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Wandypk,

Thank you very much for your stays at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa.It is very kind of you to highlighted our newly rejuvenate rooms, especially our signature Heavenly Bed, which definitely provides undisturbed sleep for a great night and even a better tomorrow .Furthermore,we appreciate your encouraging remarks about our wonderful resort, unique pools and recognizing our signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast and very pleased with your overall satisfaction with your stay here. We are anxiously hoping to see you real soon for another rejuvenating stay here with us.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
12.8 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,327 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
13.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 107 in Langkawi
1,410 reviews
10.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
0.4 mi away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#5 of 107 in Langkawi
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £136 - £601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on private beachfront property with shopping malls in the vicinity and the jetty just a stone’s throw away, The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa perfectly balances the joys of nature and the spoils of opulence. With views of the sparkling Andaman Sea, the pristine jewels of nature can be enjoyed from the comforts of our elegantly designed 202 luxurious guestrooms and suites. Private Pool Villas boast state-of-the-art amenities, as well as the ultimate luxury of an infinity pool. Restore body and soul in the perfect retreat for sheer indulgence at the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin™, the only Heavenly Spa in Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing