We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and quality from the arrival on”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Service and quality from the arrival on”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

When we arrived the staff was informative and friendly at the counter, it continued with the special offer at the bar while waiting for our room. Cocktails and food have a very high quality standard. Fresh juice and real fruits in a cocktail is not everywhere to find. Food is as well delicious, the choice of dishes is also great. I did not find anything to complain. Wifi is working from every corner at the resort. Views from the bar, the pool, the beach, the restaurant, the room, I think from everywhere it is amazing. Staff perfectly trained when I can judge it. Everything I learned from my studies is applied here and now I know all the ServQual theory matters in practice. Everything was great. Hotel room, check out...Can not find negative things. Price for all is appropriate. I Really appreciate that there is such a performance possible. Definitely go there again, just check the flights. Tanks for the overall relaxing time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zumsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Zumsey,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review. All guest comments are gratefully received and reviewed. Thank you for highlighting the quality service performed by our friendly and helpful associates. They truly the hearts and souls of the resort! We also appreciate on your positive endorsement regarding our food and beverages quality which able to fulfil your desires. Moreover, We always proud to agree on the beauty of the resort; the combination of secluded green forest with the magnificent view of Andaman Sea is really a breath taking scenery. We also really happy on your positive review on overall aspect of our resort. It was a great pleasure to have you amongst our guests and we hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,684
    838
    283
    92
    57
See reviews for
917
1,282
70
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Situated closest to the ferry terminal and town area (Kuah) of Langkawi. Most of the upper end resorts are in the more pristine northern part of the isle, this is closest to the old town away from the grouping. Rooms are contemporary, delightfully bright, airy and very well appointed, spacious balcony with nice lounge chairs.

Biggest gripe - totally NO attention to details, some days forget hand/face towels, pool towels not cleared or cleared one out of two in the same pile. Alarm clock in room is totally wrong in timing without a bother to change throughout.
Laundry bags never replaced throughout, amenities replenishment irregular. One occasion Lotion replenished with a half used bottle with finger press marks/creased bottle. Even though we stayed few nights pen and note pad is only given on 1st day.
Not very Westin conscious, towels are replaced with generic small sized un"heavenly" stocks next day.
Gym environ - people were cold and unfriendly, walked in without anyone acknowledging even though there were staffs around.
Poolside service is atrocious on the several ocassions experienced.
No pool towels in the pool area, Attendant seems nonchalant and only budged when asked and insisted. Clearing of deck chair cushions in the evening in front of guests very intrusively done, no tact and respect for guest space, the look they give you is like I need to clear those cushions away - tough luck, its not even sundown.

Rain shower, powerful water jet however hand held shower is of very low water pressure
Water features in the garden areas provide natural sounds at night (frogs and cricket) soothing to some but maybe a bane to others. I find it peaceful.
Their private beach were kept very clean, but a word of caution the sea is strewn with shells that can be sharp and hurts when walking barefoot. The sand is course and quite painful to walk on.

Breakfast service not attentive sometimes - plates were not cleared until almost the end of breakfast, arab kids running around screaming even though the Servers tried to stop the kids in vain as the parents are nonchalant.

There is a Westin lounge airside in the airport, space is free but food and beverage is chargeable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Adcye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Adcye,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review. All guest comments are gratefully received and reviewed. We really appreciate your positive comments on our newly renovated room. However, we were very disappointed to read that you did not have an enjoyable experience on your stay due to shortfalls you have experienced. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences. We are concerned about the issues regarding in room towels and amenities replenishment were not replenished consistently and was not the way it should be. We addressed this with our housekeeping team. Rest assured we are doing all we can to ensure that this does not recur. Thank you for mentioning good words about our Heavenly shower, yet we have also addressed our maintenance team regarding the water pressure issue. It goes without saying that we had a strong word with the associates who delivered inappropriate service standard to you during your stay. Please be rest assured, we shared your feedback with our teams and our training department to retrain and remind our colleagues to deliver an outstanding service. We regret not able to fully meet your full expectation for this visit. We truly understand your disappointment and we will ensure that we continue to improve on our service levels and product quality. However, it was a great pleasure to have you with us. We hope that we may welcome you again and would like to use the opportunity to restore your faith in our resort.

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The grounds and pools are lovely - we stayed in July which seemed to be quite quiet - I would not like to be there when it is any busier though. The towel service is good and they don't allow people to 'save' the sunbeds with towels while they go off for the day! We had a 'partial sea view' which looked over the pool and the sea - the view was absolutely gorgeous. The gym is lovely - very cool with cold towels and drinks to hand. Plenty to do - hang about the pool and pool bar, the shallow pool or the rock pool, use the gym, sit on the beach and swim in the incredibly warm sea or try Kayaking from the beach which was reasonable and great fun as you can explore the coast and get out to sea a bit! We hired a car at the airport which was reasonable and ensures you can get out and explore different areas and restaurants. We tried the hotel outside restaurant which was lovely - a bit more expensive than the local restaurants but not too excessive - the pool side bbqs were overpriced however.
My main criticism is the music - it was unnecessarily loud and we had to ask them to turn the pretty dreadful music by the pool down (off would have been better) - we expected a nice calming 'spa' atmosphere but the pool bar music ruined it - most other people (including the 18 year olds) agreed. The breakfasts were fantastic and the restaurant pleasant but again spoilt by the loud AWFUL music - not what you want on your relaxing holiday - perhaps what you would expect on some cheap package tour. When asked to turn it down or off we were told there was only one volume! Unlikely! I really hope the management do something about this as we live partly in Malaysia and would love to go back but this would put me off.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myfairlady79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Teacher3361,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa for your holiday. We really appreciate your positive comments about our lovely landscape and our unique pools. An infinity pool with a swim up bar, a kids pool and a quite and cozy rock pool, nested around palms. Moreover for spa guests we do provide as well a very tranquil swimming pool located at the beach/waterfront. We are also delighted to hear your kind words about our partial ocean room and the wonderful ocean view from the room itself. Thank you for mentioning our Westin WORKOUT gym and recreation facilities which brought you to explore our private beach and azure Andaman Sea. We also glad you enjoyed our wide range of SuperfoodsRX buffet breakfast .However; We also concerned to note that the price of our food did not meet your expectations. We have addressed this with our team and will review and look for possible improvement. We do apologies for the disappointment with shortcomings you experience regarding the music at our restaurant and pool bar. We are never proud to realize that we have failed to delight our guests, but we always grateful for feedback so that we can learn and improve. We have address this to the respective team and carry out the necessary improvement. We do hope that we may welcome you again and we would like to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our resort.

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Out of the world resort . The best staff . Good service . Good rooms . Value for the money spent . Beach just at the hotel end . No need to out of the resort if you are on a holiday . One of the best Spa I have ever visited

Room Tip: Take a pool facing room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birthday554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Birthday554,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are really delighted to know that you had a great experience at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa! Thank you for highlighting the quality service performed by our friendly and helpful associates. It is great to know you have enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. Your satisfaction towards our accommodation, services and facilities are truly appreciated. We glad you mentioning our award winning Heavenly Spa which had immerse your mind, body and revitalize your soul in a peaceful sanctuary of serenity.Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Langkawi on your future visits to Langkawi Island.

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I had the unfortunate experience of having to deal with the staff personally and found them to be incredibly unhelpful and rude. The hotel itself is outdated and overpriced and the food is not good at all. Avoid this hotel if you can, The Four Seasons is a much better option and you'll have a far better experience, there's also the Datai Langkawi which was amazing and Tanjung Rhu Resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shaunkleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Shaunkleigh,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. Your feedback is much valued and appreciated. We are certainly disappointed that your stay was not all it could have been. Please accept our sincerely apologies for any inconvenience caused .Your valued comment is the intrinsic motivation that encourages us to improve our services and product continuously. We realize that your faith in our service capability might indeed be shattered, but we would be thankful if you would give us another opportunity to be of service to you on your future travels to Langkawi. We will ensure that we continue to improve on our service levels.

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Wanting a break to get away from the winter weather we booked on the spur of the moment for a 5 night stay. The hotel is lovely, staff friendly and helpful, rooms clean. We only had a garden view room but seeing as we planned to spend most of the time round the pool, or traveling round the island, that was not a problem. In fact the balcony was a lovely place to sit and watch the monkeys in the trees. The room was huge. We hired a car for a couple of days so it was nice to be able to see the interior of the island. It does not take long to go round. The only (very minor)criticism I would have is that, although there were 2 pools, perfect, and especially for toddlers and small children, parents insisted in using the main pool, which was 4 ft deep and definitely not suitable for kids. The big main pool should be reserved for adults. You just couldn't get a good swim in because of rubber rings and pool toys and parents just standing there with their kids. Not to mention the squealing etc. Not a big deal I suppose and in the end we found a quiet spot on the beach which was perfect. But otherwise, we had a perfect 5 nights there and would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yunderup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear yunderup1,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa and you have enjoyed 5 nights stay here with us. We are delighted to hear your good words about our beautiful resort which an amazing place for you to enjoy Mother Nature flora and fauna. We are happy to hear good word about our spacious rooms which exude a modern charm amidst and offer wellness in a stylish retreat .We are especially happy to know that our associates have deliver great service and took good care of you during the stay – just as it should be! We sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you have experienced and thank you for providing us with your valued feedback for our future improvement in regards to adults and children pools . Special thank you also for your recommendations towards the Westin Langkawi and the Westin brand. Your positive comments definitely motivate us to perform better and better. We are really grateful for your support and look forward to welcoming you back for another renewing stay in the near future.

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

(Stayed for the second week of the June-July school holidays)

The holiday was wonderful. At the start there was a hiccup when I accidentally ran my carry on suitcase over a platter that was left out the front of a room - milk went everywhere. Aside from that, everything else was perfect. The views were the best, except when the rain came by.

The room was a little bit smaller than I expected (and what I am used to) and at the same time during the day there were renovators working on renovations nearby. The pool was great but when you swam close to the motor room a constant high pitched sound can be heard, as well as that there was not enough shade so I was prone to sunburn (need a tan anyway).

In terms of dining, I broke away from my 'picky eater' self and actually tried some other stuff which meant I fell in love with the chicken liver pâté and actually went out of my way to have it a few more times for the last few days I was there. Breeze was sensational and the entertainment was great (keep singing ladies!) and I especially enjoyed the mini burgers. Seasonal Tastes Restaurant also provided great food and I especially enjoyed the constant service from the same waiter, it seemed there is usually enough staff for every table to have personalised service.

The service all around was great, there were barely any staff but at the same time if you needed help with something or ordered some food then BAM!, one pops out of nowhere and you are instantly satisfied.

I have been here once before (when I was around 12) and can easily say that both times have been some of the best times of my life. The small number of other guests added to the exclusivity of the resort which is what I also liked.

I have been to other 5* resorts and hotels, locally and on an international scale so the benchmark would be placed pretty high and I can say this resort has joined the likes of The Langham and the Shangri-La Rasa Sayang Resort. Not only have I enjoyed this stay but my parents have too so this place is definitely on our list to come back to next time, maybe even hop into town and get more involved in the local culture.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas_M983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Nicholas_M983,

Welcome back to The Westin Langkawi! Thank you for your time to post this inspiring review on our Trip Advisor .We are glad to know that you and your family enjoyed the stay with us .First of all, we apologize for the incident that happened during your room check in, we will make sure this kind of issue won’t happen again in future. We always proud to agree on the beauty of the resort; the combination of secluded green forest with the magnificent view of Andaman Sea is really a breath taking scenery. Thank you for mentioning our unique pools and we would like to apologies on the shortcoming regarding the sound from the motor room and insufficient of the shades. We have highlighted to our team and actions are immediately taken. Moreover, we are happy to know that our SuperfoodsRX have greatly satisfied your desire toward new dishes. We also pleased to know that our three beautiful ladies from De’ JAVA group were able to entertained you and have left you a memorable evening at the Breeze Bar. Thank you for your generous remark regarding your overall dining experience our newly renovated Seasonal Taste and our 24 hours In room dining. We would say that our associate tries their utmost in creating a memorable and personalize stay for our guests. Appreciate you bringing up the few shortcomings you have encountered to our attention as this will only assist in improving towards service excellence .We hope to welcome you and your family again for another relaxing stay in the near future

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
12.8 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
13.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
15.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,329 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#4 of 103 in Langkawi
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on private beachfront property with shopping malls in the vicinity and the jetty just a stone’s throw away, The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa perfectly balances the joys of nature and the spoils of opulence. With views of the sparkling Andaman Sea, the pristine jewels of nature can be enjoyed from the comforts of our elegantly designed 202 luxurious guestrooms and suites. Private Pool Villas boast state-of-the-art amenities, as well as the ultimate luxury of an infinity pool. Restore body and soul in the perfect retreat for sheer indulgence at the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin™, the only Heavenly Spa in Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing