We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Century Langkawi Beach Resort
Ranked #71 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable”
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We went here for our honeymoon. Got the chalet on the beach, which was fantastic. It was huge, tasteful, clean and well-equipped and opened right on to the beach.

Service was also very good. Everyone was very polite and generally very helpful.

The chalets are tucked away from the main hotel compound making them more private and....far. We had to call a buggy every time we wanted to go the reception, which was there in no time.

A choice of resturants. Dinner at the Captain's Grills is recommended. Also, evening dinners on the beach are pretty amazing.

Breakfast is a knock-out!! With all the variety you can imagine and everything fresh and delicious.

Have to be careful with the monkeys though as sometimes they have been known to knick people's belongings.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilal_rana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    425
    267
    190
    186
See reviews for
377
622
48
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

situated at Pantai Kok, if you're looking for a hotel that has wide dining choices, this is definitely not e hotel. it is at least 10 min drive from a decent restaurant and e food in e hotel is not that great (plus the food is expensive - RM150+ per pax per person for a set dinner).

housekeeping is e worst i've ever experienced.. on e first day, we realised that there was no hand and face towels. we called the hotel phone operator and asked for the towels. she answered "it is standard for e housekeeping to place e towel in e room when they pack it". i was appalled. will i ask for hand and face towel if they are in e room already????? then i told them that there wasn't any and they told me that they will deliver to my room.. it was 11pm then and i waited for 1 hr for e towels but to no avail. i was too tired to call them and so i called them e next morning to remind them to provide when they make up e room. we went out before e room was packed, and when we came back, only hand towels were provided. well..... forget it... but e worst is yet to come..... e next day when they make up e room, there was no hand and face towels again!!!! do we not need to wash our face or hands? i wonder...

e beach water is murky and full of rocks with sharp barnacles.. if u really wanna get into e sea to swim, don go to sheraton.. u really can't swim there..

e only consolation of this hotel is taht e staff are really friendly, with e exception of 1 woman at e reception..

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shin_ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

As soon as you arrive at the big gates you know your somewhere special. Buggys to take you around, monkeys and other animals wandering around in this massive hotel is just breath taking.

The beaches are amazing, while not very long and some have boulders blocking they are in a very nice area. I could stay there for ever!

Breakfast is amazing with soo many choices and a great view. The rooms are very nicely done old style wooden rooms, though a few minor touches would take this from a 4* to a 5 for the rooms.

Overall one of the best places I have stayed.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort between the 6th - 22nd June 2009. Great place to chill out, we spent a lot of time around the hotel with occasional taxi rides (cheap) to Cenang town. Hotel very comfortable, good service and not one bad meal (recommend Captains Grill for dinner) and the general restaurant for lunch. Felt pool side was a little 'tired' but for a hotel running 365 days a year, was still good. Although classed as a beach resort the beach is small, but for couples, was perfect. Lovely location. Even though only 10 mins in cab from airport, no noise from planes what so ever. Rooms were excellent and lovely to relax and feel at home in. We paid extra for sea view but not really neccessary as all the locations of the rooms are good. Recommended visits and days out - cable car, Orchid Ria for seafood restaurant (Cenang) - went several times, visit the Padi fields museum, again in Cenang, for spa treatments then Alun-Alun spa in Cenang. For late afternoon sundowners then the Hotel Casa del Mar on the beach front takes some beating (open to non residents-food also excellent), Chime nightclub in the hotel also good for a nice night out, ask for the band to play Pretty Woman (Roy Orbison and say Steve and Kate recommended it!). Last, every one has to go on a Damai Indah boat trip run by Blue Water Sailing. The owner Eva is a great hostess and our day on the ocean waves was first class. Well done Eva. Overall a lovely vacation.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyHeadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melb, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

First tip is to plan to drop your bags off at the resort and head out sight seeing if you get a morning flight in. Check in is not until 3pm and as we arrived just before lunch, it was a long time to wait to get to your room. Or, you could pack your swimwear in your carry on and plan to chill by the pool until someone comes to get you.

We chose to have lunch at Feast which was lovely. Had hamburgers which were the best we'd had in Malaysia.

The entry, reception lounge and restaurant environs are modern and lovely but not indicative of the rooms at the resort. We had a Sea View room which was a bit tired looking and had an awful, musty smell as if it had been closed up for awhile.

Bathroom was clean and everything worked properly, but tired looking. They need to do something to freshen it up.

We had confirmed a king size bed on booking and again at the check in desk. We got two doubles pushed together (with a 2 inch gap between) and the bed coverings overlapped to cover the whole thing. As if anyone could have laid together in the middle anyway. This was very disappointing as we were away for a romantic weekend.

Beds were very comfortable but noisy. Walls are very thin - we heard the neighbor sneeze and muffled talking.

The environment is beautiful, quiet and peaceful in this low season. Not sure how it go with kids running around but, at this time of year, would be good for couples who want to get away from it all.

The monkeys come out in the afternoon and seemed OK with our presence. Wouldn't touch them though. We saw a huge iguana under the bridge near the Captain's Grill. It couldn't have cared less about us.
If the animals don't remind you it's a jungle environment then the bugs will.

We had a sensational dinner at the Captain's Grill. The food was melt in your mouth beautiful, the environment lovely and the service wonderful. Only possible complaint was the dodgy restrooms.

The board walk that hugs the coast is lovely but the berries in a few sections and a few areas of cracking boards could present a hazard if not dealt with.

The pool is lovely and the beaches OK but not wonderful. I don't really get the tacky ply board floor around the pool. They could do so much better.

Can't fault the service at all. Would suggest that the shuttle drivers need to slow down a bit. It isn't a grand prix track.

Overall, we had a wonderful weekend. Would definitely return but be more aware that their website pictures are enhanced and the rooms aren't as polished as they appear.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJ_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We used the starwood promotion for this stay..room rates includes breakfast and dinner. Check in was smooth..the receptionist was friendly and was always smiling. We were told to wait for a while and served with welcome drinks. Then we were showed to our room. The room was wonderful! We noticed an envelope addressed to us, welcoming our stay there. We really appreciated that and thought it was a very good idea. It gives us a feeling that we were welcomed and belonged there. We stayed at the Deluxe room. It has a balcony with a garden view, a cozy bed, a bath tub with a slide window that we can enjoy the outside view while in the bath tub. The room was clean and neat. The only thing is the balcony seems to be not cleaned but it's still ok. We also received a complimentary welcome drink at 'Chime'. The setting at 'Chime' was really relaxing. We loved the gazebo like seating facing the beach..It was superb! That night we had dinner at Spice Trader. An Indian restaurant. We had the non-vegetarian 6 course dinner. The food was great and we loved it. The only down side of the resort is the beach. We find it a bit dull. The management could lighten up the beach to make it more interesting. The sand was not that white and the water was not that clear compared to other beaches in Langkawi but it's not in the hands of the management to change that. What we would suggest is to make something interesting there. It has a lot of potential but nothing was done. Other than that, we really enjoyed our stay and wish to comeback some other time. The staff were friendly and helpful and the place was relaxing. If you're looking for some time to relax your mind, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aguileirra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We stayed in two rooms successively, both had flaws (hairdryer, toilet flush). Toilet smelly, garden weedy, pool looks like temporary plywood structure. All services were grotesquely overpriced (10USD water bottle, 80RM transfer cost vs. 18 for regular taxi, restaurants very expensive). Remotely located, but no help in getting around (like shuttle to next village).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterRainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
2.3 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#80 of 100 in Langkawi
546 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
7.4 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#22 of 100 in Langkawi
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#28 of 100 in Langkawi
170 reviews
5.8 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
2.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Langkawi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Langkawi Beach Resort

Property: Century Langkawi Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Tepi, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Century Four Points Resort)
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Century Langkawi Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwestern shore of Peninsular Malaysia, an ancient group of islands collectively known as Pulau Langkawi awaits you. Our resort is nestled amidst 38 acres of spacious, lush tropical surroundings with private beach coves. Whether you crave an exciting escape or a peaceful sanctuary – you will find it in Langkawi. The resort is just a short 10-minute car ride from Langkawi International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Century Langkawi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Langkawi Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort
Langkawi Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing