We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel was OK but don't expect professionalism, a two star service!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Century Langkawi Beach Resort
Ranked #69 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Uk/Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The hotel was OK but don't expect professionalism, a two star service!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

My girlfriend and i went to the Sheraton in AUG 2009 and we thought that we'd try the hotel due to the promotion at the time (stay 3N for the price of 2N).

The hotel was nice and in it's heyday i suppose that it must have been quite something however, the whole area is starting to get on a bit and i would have to say that the relation between value for money and product isn't good.

The check-in for us was very quick and they got us to our room fast enough so no complaints there. When we got to the room the jacuzzi was in fact a hidromassage bath so it wasn't really a jacuzzi. The room was spacious, the views were nice, but to some they may find the room kind of too old looking, for us it was fine.

Room service was nice. They brought us our food quite quickly and the prices were average. When we went for breakfast the service was atrocious, really bad. We had to ask for them to bring us drinks, when they should ask you. The tables were dirty and the milk must have been on the table for a few hours because for us they didn't change the milk jug and we had to ask for more. The food at the Buffet was ok, some trip advisor users said that the buffet wasn't good but we found it ok.

In the evening at the lobby they were doing a happy hour (buy one get one free) the service wasn't good either. Nobody came round to ask anybody if they wanted any drinks/ more drinks, i mean come on people how could the service be so lousy? Later we decided to go to the chime bar. In the chime bar we ordered two martinis, big mistake. We'd had a few in singapore at the Mandarin oriental and they were awesome! at the sheraton they were really appalling!! A chocotini that left my girlfriend feeling alittle sick and i ordered somthing more tropical but the alcohol couldn't be noticed and they filled up the cocktail glasses 3/4 of the way, not like the Mandarin Oriental (proper martinis!!) When i complained the bar staff got alittle too huffed up over it and they kind of showed their temper due to me complaining and all (over 10mins).

overall, if you can try another hotel that has received better reviews! The sheraton is ok not a bad bad hotel but, defintely not, in my opinion a good hotel to be alittle pampered in. Sorry Sheraton Langkawi but you need to improve.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank only1jafy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, PR Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 September 2009
Dear only1jafy,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking time to post comments of your experience with us.

We have noted your comments regarding to our service standard which did met your expectation in certain areas. Please rest assured that we have bring up this matter to department heads responsible for the areas where your valuable feedback highlighted the need for improvements and accordingly they will follow up with our associates in an effort to improve our service standard.

In closing we would like to thank you for choosing Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort. If your journey plan ever brings you back to this beautiful paradise, please allow us to deliver our warmest service.

Warm Regards,
The Management of Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    425
    268
    190
    186
See reviews for
377
623
48
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights at the Sheraton Langkawi in August. We should have listened to the negative reviews on Tripadvisor as they were extremely accurate. Unfortunately as it was last minute we couldn't find any availability in the good hotels.

We thought it has the Sheraton brand so it cant be bad. How WRONG we were!

The front desk service was atrocious. We came well after the check in time and still had to wait 45 minutes for a room. They didnt bother to give any drinks for their mistake but just made us sit there.

At the beginning we told them that we would be extending our stay by one night. Safe to say that when the time came they had already checked us out without telling us! They then went on to insist that we hadnt told them and when they investigated admitted that they had. We were rewarded by an unmade room at 11pm withthe excuse that they thought we were checking out so they didnt bother making up the room. Room amenities were not replaced regularly. We were already paying very high prices de to last minute bookings and peak season. They also rewarded us by charging us 15% more for the extra night than we had paid for the others. They didnt bother to tell us that they would do this at the beginning!!!

The rooms were not good, you could hear the next door neighbour all night if they were up as there was a big gap in the doors at the bottom between adjoining rooms .

The so called Captains Grill that many people have talked about was a disgrace. It is heavily overpriced (2 people steak and pasta dinner approximately 75 pounds ($125) [NO ALCOHOL only mineral water]!
The food was mediocre at best and the service atrocious. We had to ask for bread!

Go to any other hotel as many people have said on Trip advisor this hotel definitely doesnt deserve the Sheraton brand name and it certainly is not 5 star. At best I would give it a low 3 star rating.

We made a BIG mistake don't make the same one read the negative reviews they're all absolutely right!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Travellers09UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, PR Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2009
Dear Travellers09UK

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

We reviewed your comments regarding to your stay with us at the Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

On behalf of the Management, please accept our regret for the disappointment and sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience that you and your wife had encountered during your recent stay with us.

The Management had addressed your concerns particularly on services provided by our Front Desk associates with the Front Office Team. Please rests assure that our Front Office Manager will look into providing proper training for her team improvement.

Should there be an opportunity for you to return to Langkawi, please do not hesitate to contact us again in order for us to provide you with a more comforting experience.

Once again, we truly regret and thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

A great hotel. Meals were delicious and the pool is absolutely fantastic. The beach was closed all of the days we were there because of choppy waters. That said, I'm not sure it's the kind of beach I would spend much time at. Can be a little noisy when it's windy and raining heavily due to the aluminum roof but I find it peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, PR Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2009
Dear matm48,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort.

We would like to extend our thanks for sharing your feedback regarding you recent visit at Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort.

We hope we will have a pleasure of seeing you again in the near future

Sincerely,
The Management of Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

We went to Sheraton Langkawi last weekend for a short getaway.
We took the Relaxation Package for 3D2N which includes 1 free Dinner for two, 50 min complimentary Balinese massage for two and some complimentary snacks and drinks.

The athmosphere is just perfect to just rest and relax.
The staffs are very friendly and helpful.
Nice, clean and comfortable room (we had a sea facing deluxe room with jacuzzi).

We found that quite a lot of people from Middle East stays in the hotel.

The free dining voucher we had is meant for Spice Trader cafe, which servers Indian and Middle East cuisine. However, the staffs are flexible enough to let us use the voucher in Captain's Grill restaurant, which serves seafood and grill.
The food are very nice and value for money (360gr australian wagyu beef steak for RM100)
All in all, we find the package is value for money.
Will surely come back when we have chance!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanBlue_Travelogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, PR Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2009
Dear OceanBlue_Travelogue

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Langkawi.

Sincerely,
The Management of Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

The Sheraton Langkawi Resortort gave us the best week in a great 3 weeks trip in Malaysia. We also stayed at the Westin, Langkawi and Sheraton Imperial, Kuala Lumpur. The stay at Sheraton can be summarized in this "pictures" :
"Drinking a milkshake, brought buy one of the nice poolstaff, in a sunbed between the childrens and the big pool, only 5 meters from a cosy beach, with the monkeys playing in the threes above us. " or
" Under the stars : Eating great food followed by wine at "Captains Grill", sitting on the walkway partly above sea, partly above beach. The children
looking down on the crabs or the ship-interior, discussing whether the waitress is a pirate princess or not."

The poolarea is not big, but though the hotel was full, it was never crowded. The poolarea is cosy and surrounded by trees and directly to a small beach. Our children were positively surprised by the childrens pool, the big chess playboard and the table tennis. Almost every day the staff walked around and shared fruit sticks free of charge to everyone.

The beaches were much better than expected. Of course the water was not crystal clear, but still invited to a swim. You can choose from a small cosy beach beside the poolarea and a longer beach between "Captains Grill" and the Fitness Center. You also have a nother 100 m beautiful sandy beach, but whith a small rocky wall down to water. On all beaches there were sunbeds.

The room was nice, 5 star level with a eco-feeling. The cleanliness was perfect. It was nice to have a short "nature-walk" to the restaurant for breakfast. If you feel lazy, call reception and som staff come and drive you where you want within the resort within minutes.

The "Feast" restaurant has some reallys extensive buffets for breakfast and dinner. They really try to give arabs, asians and westerners great food-experiences. The food is fresh with many options made by order - but noone can compete with the Westin.

The "Captains Grill" restaurant has a great locations on the walkway above the water. A romatic place, which also the children loved - hundreds of crabs on the beach below. Expect to say hello to some monkeys or a monitor lizzard on your way to the restaurant. More relaxed than "Feast", great food and service.

It is not cheap, but used to northern Europe prices, we felt that we got both more quality and quantity for money than comperable places.

What negative did we experience : In fact nothing, but after staying here 7 days it felt nice to change place to the Westin - but looking back : It is the Sheraton we miss mostly. The location without possibility to walk to any shops or restaurants outside resort and only one pool area, can make you want some changes after some days.

Within 15 minutes from the resort you have the Cable-Car - a great "must do" on Langkawi. A boattrip to mangroves with eaglefeeding, monkeywathching and batcave is highly recommended.

As written in the heading, after travelling several places in Thailand and Malaysia recent years : This is more than "just" another 5 star resort - it has a unique charm and nature feeling.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyon2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, PR Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2009
Dear OceanBlue_Travelogue,

We are pleased to learn that you had a "Best Short Getaway" here at the Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort. We also delighted that you enjoyed our friendly and helpful service from our associates.

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience of our resort. We look forward to welcoming to our resort in the near future.

Warm Regards,
The Management of Sheraton Langkawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

This hotel calls itself a "beach resort" but the beach is 20 yards long with signs at either end saying "beware of the jellyfish". The pool had bread floating in it. The restaurant is built above the nightclub so evening sunsets are accompanied by the sound of the band rehearsing below. The whole hotel is run down and should be closed down. We had booked for a week and left after one night. Langkawi is a stunning island and certianly one of the most beuatiful places in the world but do not stay at this hotel. Head to the other side of the island to Tha Datai, The Andaman or The Four Seasons.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingaporeAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, PR Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2009
Thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking the time to post comments of your experience with us on TripAdvisor.com.

We are concerned to read your comments regarding to the shortfalls happened during your stay and would like to express our sincerest apologies. Your concerns are being addressed by all related departments and senior management team that responsible for the areas where your valuable feedback highlighted.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,
The Management of Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

Terrible service, location and awful food. We were quite disappointed having stayed at Sheraton in Phuket and Surfer Paradise Australia. We did not find any similarity except the name.
They were so short of staff that when we arrived there was no greetings from any body. I helped the driver off load and we were shown the door to reception. It took the staff about 15 minutes to offer us a drink .

The room was ordinary and outdated. Fake marbles everywhere and the fixtures are in desperate need of fixing. The coffee cups and spoons were dirty. I cleaned it and had a coffee. To my horror I found the spoon uncleaned with coffee on it. Someone obviously only dipped it in water and put in on the tray to look as though they have cleaned it.

Breakfast was crowded and staffs were poorly train and over stretched to cope with the number of guests. Most looked as though they did not want to be there. We waited a long time for our coffee and our table lacked utensils and napkins. I had to go to the manager to ask for a coffee to be served. I could have done it myself but the coffee are hiden away yet no one actually offered them to us. It was quite frustrating. Finally, we had our coffee and I went to the buffet bar to find that they actually served tuna and marlin slices which was from the buffet dinner the night before. I was quite shocked to find that this was served again for the next three days we were there . It was nauseating. For the next 3 breakfasts, I could only stomached muslie but even that was too sweet and stale. Looking around the adjacent tables, we found that none of the dinners were happy either. The lady next to us asked 3 waiters and the manager for her coffee and napkins but I noticed that the waiters took her order but as soon as he walked to the next table he was stopped again and could not performed what he was asked initially. It was pathetic. The man next to us mumbled "rip off" which I totally agreed. The food provided was just awful and the service was non existent.
The pool looked like it was built 50 years ago. The cheap wooden planks was slippery and dangerous when wet. The tiles around the edges are sharp and really unsightly. The plastic chairs are cheap looking and the towels are unclean and smelled like it was never washed.
The beach faces east therefore we miss out on the sunset every night.
This hotel should have never allowed to carry the name Sheraton. We were misled.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank squach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, PR Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2009
Dear Squach,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking the time to post comments of your experience with us.

We have noted your comments regarding to the room, pool and breakfast experience wise. Please rest assured that we have bring up this matter to department heads responsible for the areas where your valuable feedback highlighted the need for improvements and accordingly they will follow up with our associates in an effort to improve our product and service standard.

In closing we would like to thank you for choosing Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort. If your journey plan ever brings you back to this beautiful paradise, please allow us to deliver our warmest service.

Warm Regards,
The Management of Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
2.3 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#80 of 100 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
7.4 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#22 of 100 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
1.6 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#28 of 100 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Langkawi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Langkawi Beach Resort

Property: Century Langkawi Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Tepi, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Century Four Points Resort)
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Century Langkawi Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwestern shore of Peninsular Malaysia, an ancient group of islands collectively known as Pulau Langkawi awaits you. Our resort is nestled amidst 38 acres of spacious, lush tropical surroundings with private beach coves. Whether you crave an exciting escape or a peaceful sanctuary – you will find it in Langkawi. The resort is just a short 10-minute car ride from Langkawi International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Century Langkawi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Langkawi Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort
Langkawi Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing