We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is the beach in Sheraton Langkawi beach resort??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Century Langkawi Beach Resort
Ranked #70 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed 29 September 2009

The first question one might end up asking at Sheraton Langkawi beach resort is "where on earth is the beach?" The hotel has 2 tiny little patches of sand - one near the pool and one near a restaurant called the Captain's grill. But by no stretch of the imagination, can they even compare to the beaches one comes to expect from a first class beach resort.

On the positive side, the service is excellent and the staff are very friendly and eager to help.

The ambience is quite quaint - rooms are designed as log cabins in the middle of a hilly jungle like terrain. One can also feel close to nature and see monkeys, interesting species of birds etc. However because of the meandering paths/ roads and the hilly forest terrain, it is quite easy to get lost when one is going to the lobby, especially after dark. So one needs to call for a buggy or golf cart when one wants to go to the lobby/ restaurants. Makes me wonder how much gas is wasted each day by the hotel this way!!!

The hotel is very close to the airport but the most popular beach, Pantai Cenang is not very close and is a 24 ringgit taxi ride away. Also there is no market, restaurants nearby so unless you are willing to call for a cab and go out, you are very much stuck in the hotel every evening.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moushumi_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, Management Representative at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2009

Dear Moushumi_24,

Greetings from Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort, Langkawi!

Thank you for taking your precious time to post this review. We value very much on your favorable feedback about our good services during your recent stay.

Meanwhile, we do regret for the inconvenience that you had experience while you were staying with us. I wish to highlight that our beach although it is not a long stretch of beach, we do have a couple of private beach coves that offer privacy and good hideaway locations which are suitable for private events such as a romantic dinner. Since it is private beach, no public civilian can access the coves. Also, we have a stretch of beach located at the end of the resort near our Seafront rooms where our guests can relax and sunbath.

Very Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,432)
There are newer reviews for Century Langkawi Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2009

My boyfriend and I flew from Sydney to join my parents and brother in Langkawi for my mum's 55th birthday for 4 days. Fortunately it's the people you are with that make holidays like this fun but we were consistently disgusted by this second rate hotel. How dare they peg themselves against the 4 Seasons and the Datai as a 5 star resort?
The resort is badly laid out and tired. They have shuttle buses which are unfrequent and look like they might break down any minute. Let's just say the steering wheel is wired to the dashboard. The rooms were quite nice but that's it.
The pool area is a disgrace. Apparently this is being renovated but not until December! They have laid down dark brown cheap plywood planking all around the pool which is slippery and extremely ugly, The pool staff are untrained and don't know their own wine list or have the gumption to serve it to you.
One afternoon we watched a child puke everywhere next to the side of the pool and pool bar. It sat there for a good 15 minutes until a bartender proceeded to fill a wine bucket with pool water and splash/wash it back into the pool and across the bar! The bar sink was now covered and no antiseptic was used at all. This was the most unhygenic thing we have ever seen, least to say we not once entered the pool again!
There is mold along the side of the pool.
The next day to escape this hotel we booked a fishing trip through reception. They showed us a photo of a beautiful modern speedboat. After a 40 mintute taxi ride we were taken to the most dirty smelly port to our boat. Our boat was an extremely basic local bumboat with no cabin, decent fishing gear or amenities of any kind. We were astounded the Sheraton would con us in this way. Fortunately the hotel reimbursed us the entire trip.
I must say the head chef from Captain's Grill - Robert took an interest in our stay and came to find us each day. He only joined the hotel recently and is obviously stil learning the inadequacies of the Sheraton. We appreciated his concern and apologies but it seems there are just too many problems to rectify.
We had lunch at the gorgeous 4 Season's which admittedly charge more per room upfront but at least they don't try to drain every last penny from you with exorbitant food and drink prices. We will not be returning and spending SGD$340 per night ever again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1984Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, Management Representative at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2009

Dear 1984Charlie,

Greetings from Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort, Langkawi!

First and foremost we would to thank you for taking your time to post your comment.
We have noted your comments regarding to our service standard and cleanliness particularly at the poolside which did not meet your expectation. Please rest assured that we have brought-up this matter to the respective department head where your valuable feedback highlighted is needed for improvements and accordingly he will follow up with the associate in an effort to improve our service standard.

We hope that the incident has not marred your overall impression of Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort. We trust you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate that we can do better.

Thank you and warm regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I was a bit worried after reading all the negative reviews in this forum. However having returned from my trip, I found most of the negative reviews to be most unjust. The best thing I liked about Sheraton is the friendly and helpful staff. Dayang from reception was most helpful on the first day of our arrival. The bell boys were also very friendly, I was rather surprise that they can even remember my room number. The staff even send me a multi purpose plug in the middle of the night upon my request. The rooms might be old but it is still a pleasant stay and was very well maintained. They even provide free internet access in the lounge area (45mins).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, Management Representative at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2009

Dear JenyDave,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are indeed happy to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. We will gladly share your comments with all our team members as your kind words will further motivate them to strive even better in providing excellent customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near furture.

Warm regards,
The management of Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

The location of this hotel is amazing. Its nesstled amidst a lush green forest. Upon arrival, we were really impressed by the Lobby, which was vast, clean and welcoming and with amazing views onto the occean.

Our room wasn't ready when we got there so they upgraded us to a better room. We were in a chalet style room and were promptly whisked to our chalet. The main bedroom area was ok. It was clean and a good size. However, we were really disappointed in the bathroom area and shower room. when we were first taken to this room, we were told that this was one of the chalets that had recently undergone an upgrade and had been renovated. However, this was not obvious at all. The shower area was filthy with mould and mildew around the shower and the grouting was peeling off. There was also no shampoo or shower gel left for us.

On our second day, housekeeping failed to leave any toilet roll for us (we had completely ran out in the morning, and so expected some to be left there when we arrived back to our room later on). Therefore, we had to call housekeeping to ask them to bring us some toilet roll. I also found out that evening when I was trying to get ready to go out, that the hairdryer in the room didn't work. So again we had to call someone to leave a new hairdryer in our room.

You can tell that the hotel would probably have been lovely some time ago, but it is definitely in need of updating.

On our last day there, some of the housekeeping staff who were moving an additional bed into the chalet adjoining us started having an argument and before we knew it, they were having a full on fight throwing punches left, right and centre!!! I'd never seen anything like this before, and was really upsetting. I just think its appalling to display this kind of behaviour in front of hotel guests.

Overall, the staff were friendly. The room service staff were amazing. The resort had some lovely restaurants and were great at arranging trips for us around Langkawi. The pool area was ok (the flooring around the pool is simply plywood pinned down to the ground and so looks cheap.)

All in all, my husband and I will not be staying at this hotel again and certainly would not recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scarlett75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, Management Representative at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2009

Dear Scarlett75,

Greetings from Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort, Langkawi!

First of all, it has been a great pleasure to have stayed with us and we are glad that you are happy with the staff friendliness, our restaurants and the arranged trips.

Our guests’ comfort and well being are always our highest priorities, and we appreciate receiving your constructive comments. We would like to apology for the disappointment you have experience with us particularly in room cleanliness and the housekeeping service which did not meet your expectation; this is not the impression we wish to leave with our guests. Please rest assured that the issues you raise are not indicative of the culture and environment that the resort is renowned for.

Whilst we are unable to undo the unpleasant experience you have encountered, kindly be assured that we have taken the necessary measures to prevent any similar re-occurrences.

Once again we are truly regret and with we trust you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate that we can do better.

Hospitably yours,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

we just spent 3 days at the Sheraton and had a pleasant experience with them. Upon arrival, our taxi was greeted with security check by the guard, the taxi driver commented that this is the only resort on the island that implemented the measure. We felt a sense of security instantly. All excited to check in to the hotel, I carelessly left my handbag in the taxi. I discovered it and went to the hotel's transport service counter. The counter staff Khirun was a great comfort. He told me he could remember the taxi driver and he immediately picked up the phone to trace the driver. He tried in vain but could not reach the driver on the line. Meanwhile, another staff A.Segar approached me to assure me that everything would be alright. He pointed out that Langkawi is a small island, hence it should be easy to track down the driver. He ushered us to the lobby to be served the welcome drink while the reception took care of the registration (pending our travel documents). Khirun walked in to the lobby after abt 15minutes with my handbag. Khirun had followed up with the taxi company and drove to the driver's house (the taxi driver had driven home to take a break)
It was a relief for us to retrieve our travel documents and cash, all intact in the handbag. What a great start to our trip to learn of the friendliness and closeness of people in Langkawi.
We had a wonderful stay at Sheraton. Our partial seaview room was luxuriously big, clean and well equipped.
Thank you once again Khirun and Segar!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

i check in on the 29 august 2009 for 4d3n and i thought everthing will go smooth but unfortunately it wasn't what i expect.when i arrived at the hotel,there is no one to open for me the cab door.while my partner has to open his own door as well.there is only one person taking care at the concierge counter which is located at the outside of the lobby.they should have more hostes to be at the concierge counter.don't be suprised,as the hotel do not have luggage room to store guests luggage.what a shame.anyone can just come and take our luggage as it was left outside without anyone monitor it.not even a CCTV.i have 2 luggages with me,however the concierge guy help us to carry only one luggage and left the other luggage in the cab for my partner to carry.what an attitude!!

after for an hour flight, we we're ask from the front desk hostes to wait for our room as it was not ready yet.and we have to wait for 2 hours plus at the hotel lobby just for a unready room.

as for the spa, JULI and AJWA done a fantastic job.the body massage were awesome..

as for SETA from concierge had been very helpful to get us a chauffer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sagi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, Management Representative at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2009

Dear sagi88,
Greetings from Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort, Langkawi!

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. It was a great pleasure to have you stayed with us in August.

We are indeed happy to learn that you have enjoyed the body massage by Juli and Ajwa and happy with the service that Seta has extended to you.

On behalf of the management, I would like to apology for the unpleasant experience you have encountered during your arrival to our reosrt. Please rest assured that we have bring up this matter to the department head responsible for the area where your valuable feedback highlighted the need for improvements and accordingly she will follow up with our associates in an effort to improve our product and service standard. However, I wish to highlight that we do have our concierge counter area equipped with CCTV in order to ensure the security of our guests’ properties.

In closing, we would like to thank you for choosing Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort. If your journey plan ever brings you back to this beautiful paradise, please allow us to deliver our warmest service.

Thank you,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My girlfriend and i went to the Sheraton in AUG 2009 and we thought that we'd try the hotel due to the promotion at the time (stay 3N for the price of 2N).

The hotel was nice and in it's heyday i suppose that it must have been quite something however, the whole area is starting to get on a bit and i would have to say that the relation between value for money and product isn't good.

The check-in for us was very quick and they got us to our room fast enough so no complaints there. When we got to the room the jacuzzi was in fact a hidromassage bath so it wasn't really a jacuzzi. The room was spacious, the views were nice, but to some they may find the room kind of too old looking, for us it was fine.

Room service was nice. They brought us our food quite quickly and the prices were average. When we went for breakfast the service was atrocious, really bad. We had to ask for them to bring us drinks, when they should ask you. The tables were dirty and the milk must have been on the table for a few hours because for us they didn't change the milk jug and we had to ask for more. The food at the Buffet was ok, some trip advisor users said that the buffet wasn't good but we found it ok.

In the evening at the lobby they were doing a happy hour (buy one get one free) the service wasn't good either. Nobody came round to ask anybody if they wanted any drinks/ more drinks, i mean come on people how could the service be so lousy? Later we decided to go to the chime bar. In the chime bar we ordered two martinis, big mistake. We'd had a few in singapore at the Mandarin oriental and they were awesome! at the sheraton they were really appalling!! A chocotini that left my girlfriend feeling alittle sick and i ordered somthing more tropical but the alcohol couldn't be noticed and they filled up the cocktail glasses 3/4 of the way, not like the Mandarin Oriental (proper martinis!!) When i complained the bar staff got alittle too huffed up over it and they kind of showed their temper due to me complaining and all (over 10mins).

overall, if you can try another hotel that has received better reviews! The sheraton is ok not a bad bad hotel but, defintely not, in my opinion a good hotel to be alittle pampered in. Sorry Sheraton Langkawi but you need to improve.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank only1jafy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, PR Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2009

Dear only1jafy,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking time to post comments of your experience with us.

We have noted your comments regarding to our service standard which did met your expectation in certain areas. Please rest assured that we have bring up this matter to department heads responsible for the areas where your valuable feedback highlighted the need for improvements and accordingly they will follow up with our associates in an effort to improve our service standard.

In closing we would like to thank you for choosing Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort. If your journey plan ever brings you back to this beautiful paradise, please allow us to deliver our warmest service.

Warm Regards,
The Management of Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
2.3 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#79 of 104 in Langkawi
560 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
2.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
6.0 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
429 reviews
5.8 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Langkawi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Langkawi Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Teluk Nibong, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia (Formerly Century Four Points Resort)
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £44 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Century Langkawi Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwestern shore of Peninsular Malaysia, an ancient group of islands collectively known as Pulau Langkawi awaits you. Our resort is nestled amidst 38 acres of spacious, lush tropical surroundings with private beach coves. Whether you crave an exciting escape or a peaceful sanctuary – you will find it in Langkawi. The resort is just a short 10-minute car ride from Langkawi International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Century Langkawi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Langkawi Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort
Langkawi Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing