We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Nearby Hotels
The Danna Langkawi(Pantai Kok)
US$332
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$342
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ambong Ambong Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$731
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$700
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,236)
Filter reviews
5,236 results
Traveller rating
2,312
1,914
611
240
159
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,312
1,914
611
240
159
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrainforest chaletoriental villagebeach restaurantshuttle servicethai restaurantdayang cafecable carpremier chaletshuttle busfamily chaletprivate beachon stiltssea viewflying lemurssky bridgemain lobbyour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
3,242 - 3,247 of 5,236 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Loved this place. Although it was essentially a beach holiday the surroundings made it so much more than that. Animals that we just don't see at home...a huge monitor lizard, kingfishers and lizards. Lots of monkeys although they can be a bit of a nuisance. The pool area is kept clean and there were plenty of sunbeds. The beach is private for the hotel guests and is cleaned daily. The sea was warm although there are warnings about jellyfish but we didn't see any Water sports are available and reasonably priced. The sunbeds and umbrellas here need some updating but were ok.
The reception is large and airy, the staff are very helpful. It is from here that you can take a shuttle bus to your room..you don't wait long. The restaurant was ok for breakfast but a bit clinical for an evening meal. We had a lovely meal at the Thai restaurant but this is not included in half board. The food was average and they do have awful trouble with flies, having said that they have burners going all the time and keep the food covered.
All the staff were friendly and made an effort to speak to you.
The grounds are kept beautifully and are a pleassure to walk through.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theoldone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The location is spectacular. The layout of the chalets is such that each chalet has something special in terms of view. The chalets are all done up tastefully and there is something very soothing and relaxing about the decor. It is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The breakfast buffet was excellent. My four year old daughter loved the Children's play room and spent many happy hours there playing with puzzles and other toys.

We are a vegetarian family and we found there was not sufficient choice of veg food. When we asked at the Chinese restaurant if they could rustle up something veg for us, we were told that they had not a single veg dish on the menu, but could pick out the meat and seafood pieces and give us. That was not very helpful. The breakfast buffet had a reasonable veg selection though.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Himagauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel V, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Himagauri,

Thank you for sharing your holiday experience at Berjaya Langkawi. It’s always nice to know what is appreciated and you mention in particular that you were impressed with the concept of the chalets, the interior decor, buffet breakfast and children's play room. As regards, the thin spread of vegetarian offerings at the Chinese restaurant, our Chef has been tasked to review for improvements. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

With my best regards,
Noel Vendawall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights from 4th April. Have broken up my review into areas...
Location - About 15-20 minute (24 ringett) cab ride from the airport. Liked that we got to see a little bit of the island before we reached Berjaya. You really are all the way to one side of the island but considering it takes only 45 minutes from here to Kuah town (other side of island) you really aren't that far away from anything. Thought it was a beautiful location on Burau bay, compared to some of the other resorts we saw/visited while here.
Accomodation - Stayed in a rainforest chalet. This was the most budget friendly accomodation. Had the idea to upgrade to a beach chalet when we got here but found that they were all a little close together and just didn't have the same greenery and wildlife that our chalet did. Maybe we just preferred this to a beach setting? Inside our chalet was beautiful, my only complaint was that the bed and pillows were firmer than I would have liked. You really are close to the wildlife in these rooms. Be wary of the monkeys (macaques). My partner and I were sitting on the balcony about to enjoy a cool drink when one of them thought to join us! When the monkey grabbed a can of drink, amongst our camera and phones, I yelled at it to shoo. Not a good idea. When it bared its teeth and hissed at me we called for help from the boy who happened to have arrived to make up our room. While he was trying to rescue our possessions from the monkey, the front door was unattended, allowing the monkeys bandit brothers to steal away with his items for replenishment of the mini bar. They may look innocent but heed the warnings in the hotel booklet; do not feed them, yell at them or make eye contact.
Facilities - There are a number of shuttle buses to get you to and from your room, oriental village and pahn tahi restaurant. We really enjoyed the walk down to the lobbby through the jungle so didn't take the shuttle bus as much as others. Berjaya has a beautiful pool but we only swam here once. Found it to be a bit busy and besides, there is a beautiful beach with clear warm water only another 100 metres away that had at most 10 people swimming in it at once. Towels can be hired for free. Plenty of water activities (jetski, kayak, etc.), gym, kids club, batik painting, day spa. There is a board in the lobby with a timetable of things that are on for that week. Look our for the bus to Kuah night market, this is a must do. Make sure you go hungry as there is plenty of great street food
Restaurants - Ate at all of Berjayas restaurants except for the japanese one as it was located in Oriental Village and we didn't particularly like it there. The main restaurant as soon as you pass the lobby was ok, had a buffet breakfast here each morning which was great but their a la carte menu for lunch and dinner is pretty standard. Chinese was again ok, good food and service but nothing to write home about. The beach bar was great, loved the location and the food we had here was always excellent. Pahn Thai (restaurant on the pier) was probably our favourite, beautiful location and food. Very romantic, book a table at 6:30 - 7 so you can watch the sun set. If you get sick of the resaturants here you can get a cab (8 ringett) to Perdana Quay where there is about 10-12 restaurants all offering different fare.
Staff - The staff here were always helpful and kind, even if their english isn't 100%.
Overall - There are a number of critical reviews on this website but I think you'll find that some people had a series of unfortunate event while others were looking for things to complain about, "eggshell in my omlette" is one that comes to mind. Our stay wasn't smooth sailing all the way, once they forgot to restock the soap in the bathroom and on the day we checked out, the shuttle bus was 5 minutes late to pick us up.I think we'll get over it. If you are want a holiday somewhere that is beautiful, relaxing and set in a natural environment then Berjaya is the place. If you want apartment-style sterile rooms, no wildlife, beach or culture, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Haname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Berjaya with my partner for 7 nights in a rainforest Chalet and there is not a bad word i could say about this resort. Upon arriving the reception and warm welcome made us feel comfortable and as we were taken by the resort shuttle to our hotel i couldnt help but smile. you are in another world, the chalet was wonderfully presented and you truely do have a rainforest experience.
We found the shuttles to be a fantastic way to get to and from our room as it was a fair way away from the reception and pool area, but these are efficient and enjoyable.
The resort restaurants are simply amazing, we tried all four of them and would go back at any time. Our favourite being the beach restaurant where we requested to be beside the edge to truely enjoy the view.
The breakfast was very well done with a lot of variety.
The pool and beach area were fantastic, and i would reccommend this hotel to anyone and i will be returning in the near future!!!!!

Room Tip: i had room 2153 and was very clean and newly rfurbished
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jen1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We were very excited to visit Langkawi after our last visit 20 years ago when we stayed at the Sheraton.

Fantastic location rooms up in the hills and rooms with a sea view, even rooms on stilts in the sea. Clean comfortable and well appointed with attention to detail. Fantastic location, pool & beach apart from building works constant banging and power tools being use one day. The restaurants are spot-on apart for the tips seeking singers at the dinner table in one restaurant. Brilliant shuttle service from your room to the main reception or the spa or the restaurant of your desire just call the reception an three minutes later they pick you up. Polite & courteous service at all times. 10/10.

Forget the spa, very dated below average facilities with health & safety issues in the steam room, light covers missing with water dripping off the naked fittings. Reported to the GM but the experiance was very Bad and expensive even on offer.The massage was like waiting for paint to dry, no matter how much you tried to influence the masseur. The rock tiled floor was brown and looked like a good refit was overdue. Not at all like the brochure very very disapionting as thisvwas one of the main reasons for booking this hotel. The jacuzzi pool was weaker than flagrance in a bath. Forget it try the massage on the beach then a swim in the crystal clear seawater.

If spa is not important, it is fabulous and the room maid left gob smacking towel presentation. If real you real want a massage try the beach massage.

Thank god we booked the Danna Hotel for the second part of our Holiday on Langkawi. Chinese village great for shopping.

Stayed: March 2012
3  Thank TimeTraveler1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel V, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your frank and balanced feedback on the property and services. I will certainly pass on to the shuttle drivers your 10/10 scoring for their polite and courteous service, it would make their day. I read with concern your experience at the Spa - health & safety issues; communication with 'GM'; massage technique - and would ask if we could communicate separately as I would like more information so I could address the shortcomings effectively. Much appreciated if you would contact me at noel@berjayahotel.com

With my best regards,
Noel Vendawall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews