We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel- Totally worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel- Totally worth it”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed in the hotel in Feb, was a fantastic experience its unlike the regular 4-5 star hotels as ur actually in a rain forest and this is the best part. u have greenery all over and the service is also very good, Room service can be slow at times but the hotel is very help full and meets all your requests, we had one minor quirk we asked for a adapter as we are from India and the mobile phone chargers does not fit in the electrical outlet they sent us one but it was broken so they took it back we asked for one again they said its not available ,,,,we called again the next day to ask for a adapter again however they told us that they have a multiple socket plug point in the room which is compatible with all plugs!! they could just have told us this the first day things would have been a lot easier. New ways back to the hotel, It has a very nice pool,Breakfast was average and gets boring after a few days, they have this amazing Thai restaurant which is a must go its has a fantastic location right at the end of the resort and is in the sea.. we liked it so much that we went there twice!! a must visit go on a week end they have a live band playing and they come to your table and sing any song u like for u...its was surprisingly very well priced actually cheap compared to restaurants in India and totally worth it, their room service also is not very expensive but limited options. Overall a very good stay we got a great deal from a website in India which gave us one night free we stayed 4 nights there so was even better!. the shuttle service to the room is also not a issue whenever we called for one it came withing 2-3 minutes. Its located very close to the cable car which is another must go. The one thing which is a must is hire a car from the airport u cannot survive without one there and the convenience of having your own transport is simply worth it its quite cheap as well we hired a Automatic Honda City for 4 days for 240 MYR... bargain at the airport u will get a good deal. the only place open till late in the night is at Cenang..its a burger stall open till 2 in the night ..btw the burgers were amazing we had them once we got late as no restaurant was open things close there early by 10-11 pm

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrahulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,046
    1,696
    533
    208
    138
See reviews for
1,184
2,378
82
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Reading some of the recent reviews on the Berjaya, I could almost think I stayed at a different hotel!!

We spent a week in two Rainforest Chalets - 5123/5124 - with interconnecting doors. My daughters were in one and my husband and myself next door. We arrived on a particularly wet evening and were soon on the frequent shuttle and in our Chalets. They had been refurbished but were already showing signs of wear - although not seriously.

We never had to wait more than a minute or two for a shuttle throughout our stay and never experienced anything but smiles from the majority of the staff. Umbrellas were offered to us when we went out for a trip and it was raining too. I would state that it is cheaper to take a taxi rather than join the hotel's organised trips to the night markets etc. They were 30MR a person versus a taxi to Kuah Town for 36!

We ate in most of the resort restaurants - eat between 5.00 - 6.30 p.m. for a 20% discount off of your food bill. You may have to remind the staff of this and also be seated at around 6.15 p.m. at the latest. Food in the restaurants was good. Reservations are advised at the Thai restaurant on the water - it appeared to only like to have one sitting as the flies come in after dark and cause issues. We ate at the Beach Restaurant one evening and despite many tables being free, we had not made a reservation, we had to insist on waiting and getting a table. The wait was 10 minutes when the waitress initially advised and hour and a half.

Breakfast in the Dayang Cafe was included for us and we always found something to eat. Flies are a big problem here and they are doing their best to keep them at bay. I consistently chose the covered food as there were lots of dishes that were not!! If you eat in the evening here avoid the pricey (88MR) Special evenings - Barbeque selections etc. Go for the a la carte dishes where were good.

We never had to pay for wi-fi - this is free for 7 days if you ask for a code from reception. I frequently had cappuccino in the Lobby Bar - which was very good and also the staff in the Sports Bar were very friendly too.

Prices are similar UK bar/restaurant prices. Cheaper food is available in the Oriental Village, or other resort areas. We went into Pantai Chenang for the Night Market - very samey - and ate a good meal at the Red Tomato but there are loads of choices on the main strip there or also very good restaurants in the Rice Paddy Museum too.

I had to cancel a package booking in the spa and this was done so without charge. I re-booked for a massage and facial later in the week and both treatments were carried out professionally. There did appear to be very few staff in the spa and they did not necessarily tell you what they were doing all of the time - but the treatment and the freshwater pool afterwards were both very nice. I also enjoyed a Foot Reflexology session on the beach. My husband tried to get a massage on the beach but the Masseuse never returned for the rest of our stay!

The lady in charge of the Batik Painting stall by the pools was truly enchanting and was very patient as she guided my family of novices. We produced three wonderful batik pictures too.

We did one of the free nature walks and saw monkeys, flying lemurs, hornbills and much more. My family also did one of Devs tours - kayaking. They enjoyed this on the whole but were none too pleased when they were washed out of their canoe into a whirlpool and the guide declared that he did not swim!!!!!!!!!!!!

We also did the Damah India Boat trip - booked both trips direct over internet or on phone - good value too.

We hired a car for 100MR from the office at the Hotel and did the whole island and its attractions in a day. Much cheaper than organised tours.

We loved the beach and the pools and would not hesitate to return the the Berjaya again.

Room Tip: As for upgraded Rainforest Chalet. Beware those on the water - earthquake when we were there and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RayleighTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I, along with my wife and daughter spent 4 nights here. We had booked the premier chalet on land which has a beautiful view of the ocean. On arriving we were shown a premier chalet on water room 1279 which had only a view of another chalet in front! I told the reception staff that this was not what I had seen on their website and managed to get the premier chalet on land overlooking the sea , room 1245. Great room, but staff attitude needs to improve. Except for the front office and housekeeping staff, who were friendly, the others, especially at the beach restaurant and restaurant near the lobby were morose! On value for money, it is definitely expensive. We paid Rs 60000 for three nights in the premier chalet on land, including breakfast.
The room has a connecting door to the next room, but luckily for us Theresa's non one occupying the other room, so it was quiet.
The shuttle bus service which the hotel runs was lateon one occasion and it's a pity that the hotel management do not have electric powered vehicles which will be quiet and less polluting.
We managed to locate a very friendly local taxi driver mr Murad, phone 012 5167485. Though his understanding of English is bare minimum, we managed to convey where we wanted to go. He is very adjusting and nominal in rates. The langkawicable car is near the resort but was under maintenance and it opened on the day we were leaving. The sky bridge is closed and the staff said it will be closed for maintenance till june2012. So check with them.
The Thai restaurant at the resort has great ambience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Pool bar was great, the atmosphere was fun and the beach is beautiful. Monkeys everywhere :) And don't miss the free walking nature tour - you might spot a flying lemur!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

The one thing this hotel should do is close down for a week and train the staff to smile. Everyone, right from the concierge to the waitress just dont know to smile. Case in point, i called the room service for a bottle opener, he arrived after half an hour and tersely replied "get ur bottle out, i open and give you. Not allowed to give to you".
It was raining and i asked the shuttle serive deck for an umbrella as i was with an infant and the reply was,"no umbrella, get from room", with a nasty expression. There are so many other instances which i can bring up here but i cannot because of space constraints but the general attitude of the staff was as if they are doing a government job......and the guests are irritants! I understand that the staff is local and they have formed a kind of unofficial union so they just dont care!
I paid $350 for a chalet on land with sea view which is not cheap, but i found that service does not compare with the steep prices.
And dont expect anything else other than the view. The amenities are basic. Even wifi is chargeable.
I am a positive person so i would end on a positive note. Towel craft on the bed was excellent and the only person who smiled was the bell boy who helped shove the luggage in the taxi, expecting a tip......and i didnt!!!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank goa_traveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Thai restaurant is great.The stuffs are helpful. Beach was clean and nice.
This hotel is far from Langkawi city center but I recommend this hotel !

Room Tip: The forest chalets are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anabiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Good new revolution chalet, clean rooms,
foods are good, you have to call for a shuttle every time for the lobby,
swimming pool or going to the beach.

Better rent a car if staying there.

Room Tip: rent a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Able1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 100 in Langkawi
1,286 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
6.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,274 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing