We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Stone. Staffs. UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Beautiful setting in rainforest close to beautiful beach. We stopped in a Recently refurbished Sea View chalet which was good value having checked on a price for an upgrade to the on Sea version and in retrospect we got to see more wildlife ( monkeys, lizards & flying sqirrels) and were closer to the main hotel facilities. Thai and Beach restaurant were very good - the Pearl and Buffet were ok. The pool & bar were excellent and the beach clean but the sea was a little cloudy as we had a couple of storms
Great resort for younger kids though there were not many on our visit.
The reception shuttle & taxi services were very good, free to oriental village & cable car, £2 to Perdana quay with 7 more restaurants to choose from.taxi to Chenang was about £6 ( the pice of a cocktail) so although car hire was cheap (£25/day) it's not essential. You have the benefit of a beautiful secluded resort without the smells, noise of Chenang.
Only 2 minor complaints - the optional deposit system when you check in is not explained- we ended up not giving a Pre payment and this made us stick to our budget - though paying cash at the pool bar became a pain . The entertainment wasn't great or at least should be more
varied . The spa was being moved during our visit but I would recommend the beach massage instead .
Overall with good free Wi Fi, no hidden extras and very friendly staff we thought our stay was good value and we got to see 3 weddings on the beach!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffswaninn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,090
    1,731
    543
    210
    140
See reviews for
1,217
2,427
81
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We travelled all over Malaysia, going to islands and highlands and this was by far our best and most luxurious destination/resort. We got a great price on a sea view chalet which was one row back from the front row of larger houses that sit in the water, so we had fantastic views of the sea without the feeling of being stranded whilst also being surrounded by trees and the amazing sounds of monkeys and birds in the forest. Our best night was going to the thai restaurant that sits on the end of the jetty in the resort. We had amazing thai food in a really romantic location with tea lights and the sea swishing around you, they also provided a serenading band who came to each table to sing requests, some couples danced, we sat and appreciated the music, they can play absolutey anything and there was no extra charge. The other positive about Langkawi is that taxis have set fares everywhere so you won't get 'done'. We had to leave our hire car on the mainland (there's a cheap car park at the ferry terminal) to come here as transporting cars is a pain, but it was worth it and the taxis were relatively cheap especially as this resort is probably as far away from the ferry terminal as you can get on the island (about an hour away) but the people are lovely, the taxi drivers are chatty and friendly and there is so much to do around Langkawi that you'll never get bored, the cable car is definitely worth a visit, even if you just do a 360 tour without getting off which we did as we didn't have much time and there's a couple of nice shops at the base of the cable car to get holiday presents and cheap clothing (the best shop for fashion, as in stuff you can wear again, appears to be just as you enter the shopping area on your left up a step or two, we tried all the others and they were abit tacky / oldfashioned or commercial, this one had more modern designs but perhaps not as authentic). Back to the resort, don't worry about the chalets being far away from the pool and main area, the mini buses (like golf carts) come at your beck and call to collect you and take you back again whenever you choose, you get used to it after half a day. Also we never got bitten the whole time we were in Malaysia (and we always get bitten), perhaps its the time of year but even the insects were friendly. The pool area is beautiful and there are plenty of beds for everyone, and more on the beach. There are lots of water sports you can do and horse riding I saw (though signs said no horses but in Malaysia rules are made to be broken). I recommend you go to the busy restaurant area of the island whilst you're there to sample much cheaper and authentic local food, like the famous dish "char keow teow" which is flat noodles with garlic/chilli (not too hot) prawns/clams/chinese sausage - doesn't look amazing but tastes DE-licious as well as fresh coconut drinks and watermelon drinks, you can get all these for a few pounds but the more run down the place often the better, as long as it's busy and full of locals, it's worth a visit. I wish I was still there, brilliant, romantic and fun. PS I saw lots of kids there with parents and they were having the time of their lives.

Room Tip: Sea View is definitely worth the extra, though I overheard a couple saying they loved their forestvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAtmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed here about 9 months ago in a beach front room. It is probably the nicest stay I have had at any resort, was there in July for a week and weather was good, staff were excellent, even down to the way towels were folded in different arrangements each day and cookies were hand delivered to the room each evening. The rooms were madern and spacious, pool was great as was the private beach. Waiting for the shuttle could take some time so ofter we would walk the 10 minutes it took to get to reception as the gardens and wildlife are excellent so walking was not an issue. Will definately be coming back

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaughan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I visited langkawi and stayed at berjaya from 13th to 15th April. This was by far the most wonderful experiance I had. The room was brilliant and so was the view and very nice food. Hotel staff were very helpful too. I recommend berjaya to who ever plans for a vacation to langkawi.

Neeraj

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeerajUpadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013

many thanks for the management to provide to my nice room on the sea direct with value of money due i booked before 30 day of my staying
it was very nice time with Berjaya i will inform my friends about it and i hope to comeback again in future

Room Tip: try to get Junior Chalet On Water it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osama M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My wife & I stayed 2 weeks at the Berjaya. I can honestly say that we have nothing but praise for the kind and helpful staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble. There were too many staff to name, but the main dining room assistant managers were totally professional gentlemen. The reception staff were lovely ladies, always with a smile. So, a great holiday with some really great people.
The only "negatives" were that I was expected to lodge 200rM (about £50.00) for each day of our stay - 11 nights = £550.00 - as we checked in. This was so that I could "charge" things, like meals, drinks etc. I refused, even though they assured me that the remainder was refundable at the end of our stay. Well, I use a credit card exclusively for charging things whilst on holiday, and find it both convenient and secure - there's a low credit limit on it, so no massive bills can be run up on it, should it be stolen/cloned. If I had been charged the £550 in cash to my CC, I'd have been charged a 3% premium (£16.50). I decided to use cash, and got a slightly better rate at the Oriental Village nearby. Food is generally good, and the Chinese restaurant at the hotel was really nice. Costs for food are a little higher than we are used to. The only time I felt ripped off was in the Beach Restaurant. A couple of tough lamb chops listed as "slow-roasted rack of lamb" cost 77rM (just over £18.00). They were very small too. We didn't like the atmosphere there either - too many Brits & Aussies vying with each other to be posh.
A tip is to buy some booze at the Village. At 45rM for a litre bottle of Absolut, it made a pre-dinner aperitif on our veranda an awful lot cheaper. Wine is far too expensive, so don't bother.

Room Tip: Chalets 2161 & 2162 are nice and quiet, with a great view. Visit Eagle Square at Kuar. Eat at &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catnamedog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

By far the best resort on the island of Langwaki. What an amazing forest resort. We had a Premier Challet room which was situated just behind the sea chalets, so we were practically on the sea. what a room it was room 1276, fantastic is all i can say, alot bigger then the single chalet rooms in the forest, those are small. definitely go for either the sea chalets or premier chalets. #hotel it self was great too, so friendly and helpful, good activities daily, with about 5 restaurants inside the resort or a 20min cab ride to Chanang beach where you have hundreds of places to eat. cab cost about £5.

Room Tip: Sea or Premier Chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himz1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,314 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelbag and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing