We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great with kid(s), certainly not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the Berjaya 15 nights. This was our first beach holiday with our 15 month old son and we chose this resort because we thought that a big resort with private beach, pool and lots of restaurants was ideal. And we wanted a room with two bedrooms, and as we can't afford a suite in the Danna or somtehing like that, we chose a family chalet, i.e. two rooms.

Our first impression was not so good. When we weren't parents yet, we were used to boutique hotels, so the size of this resort scared us a bit. Furthermore, our room wasn't ready, while they knew exactly when we would arrive (the hotel shuttle picked us up from the airport) and it was well after check in time. It took about an hour and a fair bit of complaining to finally have our room ready. Then the shuttle to the chalet (the resort is huge, you need shutles to go everywhere) took one of the turns to fast and one of our suitcases flew off and the handle broke. So we weren't too happy at first.

But it was smooth sailing from there on. We got reimbursed for the suitecase without hesitation, and when we got the hang of the resort we really really enjoyed it. The rooms we had were great. Wooden floors, nice beds (too hard like all hotel beds around the world, but okay), hot water always, with good pressure from the rain shower. Not bath tub, and we cursed that for about five minutes because our son needs a bath now and then. But with the baby cot housekeeping automatically brought a little bath for him. That brought a big smile to our faces. The wall between our room and our sons was quite thin. As this was sold to us a family room, that’s no problem, but if two rooms in one chalet are sold to different guests, I can imagine it being way way to noisy.

The restaurants in the resort are way better than we had imagined. The buffet breakfast is great, with everything you expect from it. I just don’t know why you have to wait to be seated. Sometimes you have to wait in quite a long line, but the only thing the waitress does is look for an empty table. You could do that yourself faster. Anyway, the buffet restaurant also has dinner, but I wouldn’t recommend that. The food is not bad, but not really good either. Then there’s the chinese restaurant. Fantastic! The peking duck is delicious and so are all the other dishes. We ate a couple of times and weren’t disappointed once. We also ate ate the thai and the japanese restaurant and that was great also. And the indian dishes at the beach restaurant were just as good.

One thing that was really, really bad at Berjaya was the wifi. The connection was great everywhere in the resort, but only the connection with the wifi routers, not with the internet. About half the time my androidphone got stuck on ‛obtaining ip adress’. My wife’s iphone and our ipad couldn’t connect at all. And then there’s the completely superfluous login in. Why, on a resort this big, would you need a login that’s only good for three days? Guests come, guests go, and in between they’re connected. Period. It was really annoying that when I finally go online, my login was not valid anymore and I had to get a shuttle to reception to get a new code. And then there’s the speed. When I finally got connected to the internet, the speed was like 90’s-internet speed. Really really slow. Come on, it’s the 21st century, good, reliable, fast internet is not an extra service, it’s a priority.

Some more good and bad of Berjaya
– Altough it can be a bit crowded at the swimming pool, the beach always had plenty of empty beds.
– During ‛rush hours’ the wait for a shuttle can be very, very long. They should have more when demand is high.
– The activities desk is completely superfluous; the only thing they do is call the agency that organises the tour of whatever and tell you what they said at the phone. Take out the middle man and call from your room, it’s easier and faster.
– A atm on site would be nice. The one at the oriental village is in a store so it’s closed after 6 pm. Sure, you don’t need cash in the resort itself, but an atm still would be handy.
– We hired a babysitter a couple of nights. Perfect! It was a lady from housekeeping and she was really nice. And it’s really cheap compared to European babysitters: we paid about 12 euro for a night.
– The spa prices are completely ridiculous. More than we pay in Europe. There’s a spa on the way to the airport that’s much cheaper (still not as in Thailand ofcourse) and the massages are really good. It’s not fancy, but good and the owner drives you back to the resort if you like.
– Prices in the store are absurd too. Get your wine and soft drinks at the oriental village or, better, in Kuah if you plan on going there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmirAndriesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,866)
There are newer reviews for Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,104 - 2,110 of 4,866 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very large hotel which didn't really suit our taste, but the beach is fantastic and surprisingly not too overcrowded and the scenery is gorgeous. We stayed in a rainforest chalet which we had no complaints with and we really enjoyed the sounds of the wildlife in the forest. If you enjoy wildlife you will love this hotel. There are lots of things to see and hear. There are plenty of monkeys roaming around although you are warned to be wary of them and they will take every opportunity to steal food or drink from you. We witnessed this on a few occasions. The food in the hotel is ok, but not memorable and the breakfast menu does not vary and can get a little boring after a week. Not really a lot to do outside the hotel in the evening unless you want to get a taxi to another part of the island. We enjoyed the cable car which is close to the hotel, but the oriental village is a let down. We would not choose to stay at a hotel as large as this again. Long walk from reception to the room, thank goodness for the buggys which are available to take you up and down at your request.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room near to reception or you could end up a very long way away from the fac...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShropshireChez_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We visited this place just for a quick lunch but immefiatly noticed a high degree of lack of maintenance. Rotren wooden floors, lack of recent paintjob, not functioning lavatories, dirty chair covers, a not very attentative staff and a general state of falling a part - well, invest some of the profits in the building! However the location is very beautiful and deserves investors that take care of this and not only takes what ever money comes this way thanks to not truthfully photos....

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Sassare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a rainforest studio for 4 nights back in November. The service was amazing! The staff seem genuinely happy to see you, always had big smiles and extremely friendly. The whole resort was amazing, excellent food, service and location. Our room was modern and spacious with good air conditioning. Heaps of different food, drink and activity options, all at very reasonable prices. Probably my favorite place we stayed while in Asia. I'm too scared to stay anywhere else if we go back in case it doesn't live up to Berjaya!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Asif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We were in need of a relaxing week away and certainly got that, we were upgraded to an ocean chalet and it was gorgeous. The staff were lovely and given how obnoxious some people can be when they are abroad, I respect their patience. I was embarrassed on two occasions by the behaviour of tourists, some please and thank yous would go a long way to making life easier for staff. Some were just plain vulgar. Travel is a luxury, not an opportunity to act superior to others.

This resort accommodates the widest group of nationalities I have seen on one location, and they did it well.

We had fun as a group and the location is hard to beat. I'd love to go back, there is something totally exotic about watching a monkey patrol the balconies looking for an open door. The spa was awesome, and is set with pools for just the spa, and a view to the sea. It was a great treatment but very expensive in comparison to other spas.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

In our opinion, the place to stay in Langkawi. Great resort on the beach, great pool a number of restaurants (would highly recommend the Thai and the Beach restaurant) and some good bars (swim up pool bar in the day and sports bar at night). Prices are reasonable considering its a resort (£50 for two course meal with wine for two, £6 for pizza snack and about £2 a beer) amd the wildlife is great to see. The on site shops sells booze at very reasonable prices (cheaper than at duty free at airport) and the cable cars are only a five min walk away. The only negative would be the level of customer service, not awful but could be much better.......not rude but perhaps better training is needed. Would recommend and would stay here again......

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dom1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed in a rainforest studio for 4 nights back in November. The service was amazing! The staff seem genuinely happy to see you, always had big smiles and extremely friendly. The whole resort was amazing, excellent food, service and location. Our room was modern and spacious with good air conditioning. Heaps of different food, drink and activity options, all at very reasonable prices. Probably my favorite place we stayed while in Asia. I'm too scared to stay anywhere else if we go back in case it doesn't live up to Berjaya!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billycil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £79 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing