We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience in the rainforest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great experience in the rainforest”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at a rainforest chalet, surrounded by the trees with a bit of a sea view up ahead. The experience of living so close to the rainforest is great. We stayed on our balcony until late spotting all of the big flying and crawling things around us. At some point a monkey even dropped by.

The hotel uses diesel shuttle busses to drive guests around (there is no way around it, its a large hilly territory), so it can get noisy if you live close to a busy stretch of road. Rooms are a little older than we expected. Cleanliness is average - housekeeping failed to remove huge palm and finger stains on all of the windows from previous guests and there was some hair in the bathroom. Breakfast is simply disappointing, but room service is surprisingly good. The "oriental village" part is boring, but there is a duty free shop there (Langkawi is a tax free zone), which is walking distance to the hotel.

While we are generally not fans of large resorts, Berjaya can be anything you make of it - whether its romantic walks, wildlife, dining, sunbathing etc.

We would definitely come again.

P.S. Please do get the free Dev's evening walk, you won't regret the time spent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kolship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,090
    1,731
    543
    210
    140
See reviews for
1,217
2,427
81
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for a few nights, a few days before the Easter weekend. We had a studio with a kingsized bed for a family of two adults and 2 small children. It was a rainforest cabin. Including breakfast and meals (mostly in the hotel) we paid about RM4000 for 4 night's stay.

In terms of value for money this was reasonable, but not as good as our two previous holidays in Sarawak. The latter is not as well developed as Langkawi, so you are paying a premium for better tourist infrastructure here, I think. At the Spa I paid what were Singapore prices for treatment (reflexology), but the ambience is very good and you are then welcome to use the jacuzzi, sauna etc. The reflexology experience also was one of the better ones I have ever had and I am comparing to dozens of others.

Given the time of year the Berjaya was busy; there were longish queues to check-in and more of a sense of being processed rather than being welcomed. Also the reception does seem small given the overall size of the place, although the staff are generally efficient (they missed one wake-up call, didn't matter on that day but could have been catastrophic on any other day).

The chalet system connected by an internal road network served by shuttles works well overall, but there can be queues for service. So you wait or you walk and wish you had looked at the map of the hotel layout prior to booking to ensure that you were close to reception.

The notice by the shuttle service (expect to wait for up to 10 minutes) and the customer feedback box both suggest that the waiting for shuttles issue is a known concern.

However, one of the features of the place is NOT being in a concrete box. So this inconvenience comes with the territory. This also applies to the proximity to wildlife, some of which (e.g. gekkos and monkeys) may not hold much appeal to visitors and instead be regarded as vermin. In my opinion once you've been in Malaysia for a while it's only the more exotic (and generally shy) species of primate that excite interest.

Food quality was good, but relatively expensive and there don't seem to be cheap alternatives nearby. The local market we visited, served very inexpensive food, but seemed to be good for very little else and it was a 20 minute drive.

The number of flies in the open-air Dayane restaurant really killed the eating experience (there is another one, breakfast for people in more expensive rooms?). Covering food with napkins was one option we used. But what can you do about those buffet food items that are left open e.g. fruit? The hotel do seem to be trying with the blue-light fly electrocution devices, but they're simply not enough.

The activities desk staff are well-informed and helpful and making bookings is a breeze. There is actually quite a lot to do and most of the activities seem to be provided by external organisations. This can mean a bit of hanging around as tour participants are picked up and the odd experience of people being split up for lunch (depending on how much they paid?).

The hotel rents out bikes cheaply and there is also a free tour of the flora/fauna around the hotel: both of these features reduce the impression of an organisation trying to fleece customers.

The room was clean, bed firm, sheets crisp and the bathroom spacious and recently renovated. Sofas etc. have cloth coverings and you wonder how practical this is given the large amounts of water and sand that are a given in this area. Unfortunately the fans only seemed to have one speed and the sink drained veery slowly, not enough to complain about, but you'd expect the cleaning staff who used them to have reported it.

The resort is clean, the well tended flowerbeds give the impression of an organisation that cares and there is CCTV and security staff discreetly but reassuringly present. They are all very friendly, which does add to the experience. The shop also has some useful/practical goods as well as souvenirs.

Finally a shout out to Sabrina at the activities desk who really looked after our kids at the kids' club.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SQ320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in the rain forest chalet.
The chalet was perfect, very clean, spacious and modern, and exceeded our expectations.

Unlike some other travelers we didn't mind the distant location as we like to walk and wanted to explore the grounds and look for exotic birds and flying lemurs and monkeys, which we saw plenty of!

It took us about 15 min of brisk walking to get to the lobby and breakfast, which we enjoyed, but if we wanted it was easy enough to jump on a shuttle bus or call for one.

The strengths of Berjaya and the reason we chose it are:
- beautiful grounds and beach
- excellent chalet
- exciting and abundant wildlife
- reasonably good value
- suitable for couples and families

A few things that weren't great include:
- staff were overworked and very possible feeling hot! Not very friendly and seemed to be under a lot of pressure
- the pool is quite tiny given that the hotel has a 500+ room capacity, meaning at full occupancy over 1000 people could be staying here..
- Staff seemed to be reserving unoccupied tables for guests staying in the most expensive rooms. Once they heard our chalet number (rainforest, not on the water), they showed us to different sections and told us that tables that were empty, and remained empty, were already booked...

Despite the above, it was still a fantastic place. We would come back for the beach, the chalet and the animals!

Room Tip: All the chalet's were lovely but if you want privacy make sure you get a studio chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Berjaya hotel is situated at a privileged location but the beach is not very clean. On the left, you can find garbage bags, coke bottles, a lot of straws and even a laundry basket. The problem is easy to solve and it only requires a staff once a day to pass by the beach and collect the garbage like they seem to do at the Andaman. The location is as beautiful as Datai Bay and closer to the main attractions in Langkawi so this is not the problem but swimming with plastic bags is not what you want when you are in paradise. We stayed at a Rainforest Bungalow and the room was great. We also found the staff very helpful and the hotel breakfast and facilities are really luxurious. Another suggestion is to have staff to take drink orders at the beach and bring the drink to you. But i guess this is not essential. A clean beach definitely is essencial. we would be happy to come again but we are afraid that the garbage in the beach will accumulate to the point that it is unbearable. If the problem is not fixed, we suggest to chose some other luxury resort.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I don't really like large resorts and that is why I gave the resort 4 stars instead of five. We were here for the Easter weekend, and the resort seemed really full. That meant that you had to book everything (restaurant, spa etc) at least a day in advance.
The layout of the resort is fantastic: rows of chalets against a hill overlooking the water. The front rows are on stilts in the water, the back rows are on the slope in the rain forest. The resort is at least a kilometre long, and the facilities are dotted throughout the grounds.
We had a premium chalet over the water, completely at the furthest end of the resort (chalet 1520), which was great for us because there is not much passage and as such a bit more privacy.
The chalet was well appointed and all amenities were there. The premium chalets have big balconies with daybeds and side tables: one evening we just had room service an the balcony with a bottle of wine and that was really nice and relaxing.
Breakfast for the premium rooms is at the Boat House and is very nice: there is a view over the water and the beach. We always immediately had a table and service was good. The food was an a la carte menu for breakfast, accompanied by a buffet.
We walked everywhere in the resort and had numerous encounters with the local monkeys. Most people seem to take the little shuttles all the time (there are plenty and they are well organised)
I found that the shuttles drove a bit careless: it wasn't a problem when you were on them, but it was a bit of a problem when you were walking on the road. We had to hurry a few times off the road because the shuttles did not see us in time on the winding roads and came quite quickly around the corners. We did a lot of hiking and sightseeing and found the location - planted in the middle of nature- great

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karoh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

First a few words about us: we chose this hotel because of the vast grounds, wildlife, beach and tranquillity of living in our own chalet and were not disappointed.
Our chalet was rainforest, very far from reception but extremely comfortable, clean and spacious. Every morning we would stroll to breakfast looking for birds, flying lemurs etc and it took us about 15 min. The shuttle buses were frequent and good but we did not use them a lot.
Breakfasts was fine, though most of it not really our cup of tea. .. the grounds eere huge and there was lots to do: volleyball, jet ski, kayaking, guided nature walks , mangrove walks ,etc. And it is walking distance from the cable car and Oriental village.
The pool was very small considering that this is the largest resort in langkawi with over 500 rooms, so we spent most of our time at the beach which is fantastic.
Food wise, the thai restaurant was the best by far, but one needed to book tables in advance.
I guess the only thing that we didn't like was that it seems that some of the best tables are available only to those staying in the most expensive rooms. ..they were free, and staff told us that we could not make reservations but when we asked to sit there staff said they were occupied. ..this happened several times and was a bit unpleasant.

Overall we would recommend this place to anyone who loves nature as we saw lots of flying lemurs, monkeys, horn bills, and exotic birds! I would only hesitate to go in high season as the size of the resort would mean that well over 1000 people could be staying!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Berjaya was the first location of our honeymoon and it was indeed an awesome choice. I just can't say enough about this resort.We reached a little early and it took us about 40 minutes to check in but the staff was really helpful and had no issues in giving us a early check in. We were taken to our room in a scooter and the entire was just beautifule. The private beach is really clean and we even enjoyed jet ski over there. The food was great and to top of it the pool bar is just out of this world.

Room Tip: Take the one closer to Lobby as the transport to room may take time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AC1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,315 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing