We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Nearby Hotels
The Danna Langkawi(Pantai Kok)
US$521
US$294
TheDanna.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
US$207
Westin.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
US$219
LuxuryCollection
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bon Ton Resort(Pantai Cenang)
US$178
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$752
US$704
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambong Ambong Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)
US$212
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Mar, Langkawi(Pantai Cenang)
US$421
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$457
Cancelon
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,206)
Filter reviews
5,206 results
Traveller rating
2,295
1,908
607
238
158
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,295
1,908
607
238
158
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrainforest chaletoriental villagebeach restaurantshuttle servicethai restaurantdayang cafecable carpremier chaletshuttle busfamily chaletprivate beachon stiltssea viewflying lemurssky bridgemain lobbyour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,276 - 2,281 of 5,206 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We first stayed at this hotel in 2005, then again in 2006 for our honeymoon. After an absence of 8 years, we returned and were not disappointed. Best concierge desk ever! Food at Pan Thai sublime, and the Dayang Cafe will provide all your other needs. Most smiley staff, great team. If you want to experience the rainforest, you must stay at this hotel. We'll go back, and we won't wait another 8 years. Thank you everyone at the Berjaya for making our holiday so fabulous yet again.

Room Tip: Choose sea view room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at a rainforest chalet, surrounded by the trees with a bit of a sea view up ahead. The experience of living so close to the rainforest is great. We stayed on our balcony until late spotting all of the big flying and crawling things around us. At some point a monkey even dropped by.

The hotel uses diesel shuttle busses to drive guests around (there is no way around it, its a large hilly territory), so it can get noisy if you live close to a busy stretch of road. Rooms are a little older than we expected. Cleanliness is average - housekeeping failed to remove huge palm and finger stains on all of the windows from previous guests and there was some hair in the bathroom. Breakfast is simply disappointing, but room service is surprisingly good. The "oriental village" part is boring, but there is a duty free shop there (Langkawi is a tax free zone), which is walking distance to the hotel.

While we are generally not fans of large resorts, Berjaya can be anything you make of it - whether its romantic walks, wildlife, dining, sunbathing etc.

We would definitely come again.

P.S. Please do get the free Dev's evening walk, you won't regret the time spent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kolship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for a few nights, a few days before the Easter weekend. We had a studio with a kingsized bed for a family of two adults and 2 small children. It was a rainforest cabin. Including breakfast and meals (mostly in the hotel) we paid about RM4000 for 4 night's stay.

In terms of value for money this was reasonable, but not as good as our two previous holidays in Sarawak. The latter is not as well developed as Langkawi, so you are paying a premium for better tourist infrastructure here, I think. At the Spa I paid what were Singapore prices for treatment (reflexology), but the ambience is very good and you are then welcome to use the jacuzzi, sauna etc. The reflexology experience also was one of the better ones I have ever had and I am comparing to dozens of others.

Given the time of year the Berjaya was busy; there were longish queues to check-in and more of a sense of being processed rather than being welcomed. Also the reception does seem small given the overall size of the place, although the staff are generally efficient (they missed one wake-up call, didn't matter on that day but could have been catastrophic on any other day).

The chalet system connected by an internal road network served by shuttles works well overall, but there can be queues for service. So you wait or you walk and wish you had looked at the map of the hotel layout prior to booking to ensure that you were close to reception.

The notice by the shuttle service (expect to wait for up to 10 minutes) and the customer feedback box both suggest that the waiting for shuttles issue is a known concern.

However, one of the features of the place is NOT being in a concrete box. So this inconvenience comes with the territory. This also applies to the proximity to wildlife, some of which (e.g. gekkos and monkeys) may not hold much appeal to visitors and instead be regarded as vermin. In my opinion once you've been in Malaysia for a while it's only the more exotic (and generally shy) species of primate that excite interest.

Food quality was good, but relatively expensive and there don't seem to be cheap alternatives nearby. The local market we visited, served very inexpensive food, but seemed to be good for very little else and it was a 20 minute drive.

The number of flies in the open-air Dayane restaurant really killed the eating experience (there is another one, breakfast for people in more expensive rooms?). Covering food with napkins was one option we used. But what can you do about those buffet food items that are left open e.g. fruit? The hotel do seem to be trying with the blue-light fly electrocution devices, but they're simply not enough.

The activities desk staff are well-informed and helpful and making bookings is a breeze. There is actually quite a lot to do and most of the activities seem to be provided by external organisations. This can mean a bit of hanging around as tour participants are picked up and the odd experience of people being split up for lunch (depending on how much they paid?).

The hotel rents out bikes cheaply and there is also a free tour of the flora/fauna around the hotel: both of these features reduce the impression of an organisation trying to fleece customers.

The room was clean, bed firm, sheets crisp and the bathroom spacious and recently renovated. Sofas etc. have cloth coverings and you wonder how practical this is given the large amounts of water and sand that are a given in this area. Unfortunately the fans only seemed to have one speed and the sink drained veery slowly, not enough to complain about, but you'd expect the cleaning staff who used them to have reported it.

The resort is clean, the well tended flowerbeds give the impression of an organisation that cares and there is CCTV and security staff discreetly but reassuringly present. They are all very friendly, which does add to the experience. The shop also has some useful/practical goods as well as souvenirs.

Finally a shout out to Sabrina at the activities desk who really looked after our kids at the kids' club.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SQ320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in the rain forest chalet.
The chalet was perfect, very clean, spacious and modern, and exceeded our expectations.

Unlike some other travelers we didn't mind the distant location as we like to walk and wanted to explore the grounds and look for exotic birds and flying lemurs and monkeys, which we saw plenty of!

It took us about 15 min of brisk walking to get to the lobby and breakfast, which we enjoyed, but if we wanted it was easy enough to jump on a shuttle bus or call for one.

The strengths of Berjaya and the reason we chose it are:
- beautiful grounds and beach
- excellent chalet
- exciting and abundant wildlife
- reasonably good value
- suitable for couples and families

A few things that weren't great include:
- staff were overworked and very possible feeling hot! Not very friendly and seemed to be under a lot of pressure
- the pool is quite tiny given that the hotel has a 500+ room capacity, meaning at full occupancy over 1000 people could be staying here..
- Staff seemed to be reserving unoccupied tables for guests staying in the most expensive rooms. Once they heard our chalet number (rainforest, not on the water), they showed us to different sections and told us that tables that were empty, and remained empty, were already booked...

Despite the above, it was still a fantastic place. We would come back for the beach, the chalet and the animals!

Room Tip: All the chalet's were lovely but if you want privacy make sure you get a studio chalet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Berjaya hotel is situated at a privileged location but the beach is not very clean. On the left, you can find garbage bags, coke bottles, a lot of straws and even a laundry basket. The problem is easy to solve and it only requires a staff once a day to pass by the beach and collect the garbage like they seem to do at the Andaman. The location is as beautiful as Datai Bay and closer to the main attractions in Langkawi so this is not the problem but swimming with plastic bags is not what you want when you are in paradise. We stayed at a Rainforest Bungalow and the room was great. We also found the staff very helpful and the hotel breakfast and facilities are really luxurious. Another suggestion is to have staff to take drink orders at the beach and bring the drink to you. But i guess this is not essential. A clean beach definitely is essencial. we would be happy to come again but we are afraid that the garbage in the beach will accumulate to the point that it is unbearable. If the problem is not fixed, we suggest to chose some other luxury resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews