We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature at its best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nature at its best!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at Berjaya Langkawi for 4 nights during out visit to Malaysia in Feb'13.We keep on travelling and have visited many beach resorts. But this one just blew us off! It sprawls across many acres and has water villas(floating) and rainforest cottages (located inside the forest). It was an awesome experience staying in one of those cottages. All you could hear was birds, insects and monkeys .Once has to take the resort ride from the reception to the cottages since its a huge resort. There are 3-4 restaurants . The one we liked the most was 'Pan Thai'. This one is a floating restaurant where you can go for a relaxed candle light dinner. There is a beautiful bridge like structure built on sea , that's the way to the restaurant. Even if you are not staying at Berjaya, visit to this restaurant is a must for its marvelous views. Overall the stay at Berjaya was just awesome. We would definitely visit the place again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighwayTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,109
    1,748
    548
    211
    140
See reviews for
1,236
2,443
80
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I went for our honeymoon. The complex is amazing, staff really friendly and lots to do in the local area. We told them it was our honeymoon and they made it extra special for us proving a honeymoon cake, chocolates and fruit all free of charge. We would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you can't afford a room on the sea get a partial sea view it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at Berjaya for 10 days and we wish it had been double that. Other guests that we talked to who had only booked for 3 or 4 days were genuinely upset about leaving this paradise so soon. Berjaya has everything you would want for a relaxing holiday - location, beach, pool, food, rooms, staff - all excellent. Set on 28 hectares that stretches from beach to mountain, the stand alone rooms make you feel you are the only ones there if you want it to.

The eco theme of the resort, and the whole island, makes seeing wildlife like monkeys and hornbills a common event that you will never tire of. There is wildlife everywhere through the resort. Don't forget to do the nature walks while there, the guides from Dev's Tours were great. There are 2 activities desks at reception but the language barrier can be an issue. I wanted to book into the 3 hour nature walk of the resort which you have to pay for but they booked me into the 1 hour nature walk that was free. It was excellent though. The staff at the desks are very helpful and friendly, just make sure they understand what you want.

The resort has 5 restaurants, Dayang, Oriental Pearl, Beach Restaurant, Pahn Thai and Mizumi. The Muzumi is in the Oriental Village at the base of the cable car just down the road and not actually on the resort grounds but the shuttle will take you there and pick you up for free. With the exception of the Beach Restaurant, you could eat at the resort every night for a month and never be disappointed. All of the other 4 are exceptional and would be top class restaurants wherever you were. We had lunch once at the Beach restaurant and the service and food was less than acceptable. The food was ordinary and very slow in coming and the staff looked like they would rather be somewhere else and it was our fault they couldn't be. They also do an al-a-carte breakfast which we paid extra for but we only did that once before opting for the buffet breakfast, which was delicious. Stick to the other 4 restaurants when dining in, you won't be let down and your holiday will be full of great culinary experiences. The café area of Telaga Harbour is a 3 minute (10 ringgit) taxi ride as well.

It is a very large resort and walking from reception to your room can take a long time and you would be sweating heavily if you did. The life blood for all guests is the shuttle service which, by and large, is pretty good. However, we were completely forgotten 3 times in the 10 days we were there and had to rebook a pick up and the return journey area at reception could really use someone with some organisational skills. Plan well ahead if you need to be at reception for a tour but little hiccups like that fade into nothing when compared to the whole experience that is Berjaya.

The water areas are well thought out with the reception area leading down to the wading pool which leads down to the main pool complete with swim-up pool bar and this area in turn leads down to an expansive beach area with a netted swimming area.

Make Berjaya Resort part of your Langkawi experience, you will be very glad you did.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saggital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel and will go back again. Great food. In particular, the Pahn Thai restaurant was absolutely excellent. Fantastic food. Attentive staff and a perfect venue for dinner at sunset! We preferred the Beach Bar for breakfast. Better view and staff were more attentive here. The Pool Bar was fun ... in the swimming pool. All round great facilities including the variety of water sports (Jet Ski RM150/half-hour). Good free gym with great view. The trips we booked were not any more expensive than booking direct. A must-do is the Mangrove Boat Tour and the Sky Cable Car is a shuttle-bus 3 minute ride away. The evening entertainment was very good with 2 girls with great voices. We booked a Premium Chalet which was very clean, surprisingly large and a great view of the sea from our balcony. It was only a fun 8-minute walk to the main reception area, although there are free shuttle buses that drive around the complex 24-hours. On the walk we saw huge Monitor Lizards, black-faced monkeys, Great Hornbill birds and what looked like Chipmunk/Squirrels.
However, BEWARE. The chalets are built up and in the mountain. The steps can be VERY steep from the road up to the chalets and there are no hand-rails. The hotel Reception staff were very kind and moved us to a chalet near the beach which only had 3 steps. If you cannot walk well, I recommends Premium chalets 1229, 1237 or 1239. I've included some pictures of the hotel complex model which is in Reception.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel, although our only disappointment was that the Spa treatments were very expensive, even with a 20% discount... compared to other 5 star hotels we have stayed in Malaysia & Asia, so we didn't go.

Room Tip: Very steep steps up to majority of chalets. Premium Chalets 1229, 1237 & 1239 only have a few s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blairabroad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We have just returned from our 5th visit to the Berjaya, Langkawi
The grounds are just as beautiful, the staff are still brilliant, the rooms are as good as ever - BUT- there are problems.
The hotel management needs to make up its mind - is the hotel a resort for people who wish to be amongst the beautiful surroundings and wildlife, and to have a relaxing and peaceful holiday - or does it want to be a Conference Centre and a Wedding Venue?
Our holiday was spoilt by both!
We had no prior warning of the changes which would affect us, and it seems that we were paying for amenities we were not able to use, through no fault of our own!
Restaurants were closed to residents, often more than one at any one time: the pool was out of action for 6 days, (the water resembled thick soup, as the filtration system was out of action following 3 days of an Indian wedding, with 190+ guests). We were not able to use the pool, the sun beds, or any of the pool relaxation and swimming areas. The entire facility was disrupted, often with major areas being totally taken over by, and often outnumbering the regular guests.
This was followed by a Chinese wedding, which again closed facilities for guests, including large areas of the beach!
Then several hundred people descended on the hotel for a conference, and, once again, restaurants were closed, the beach was virtually unusable, and guests were inconvenienced. There were actually far more people at the conference than guests who had paid for and wished to enjoy a peaceful holiday!
Breakfast venues were a disaster! The main restaurant was given over to conference delegates, and the rest of us were sent to the Beach restaurant, but there was nowhere near enough room at this venue, and many guests were left standing outside in full sun for some considerable time, before being sent back to the Dayang, (the usual venue, where most breakfasts are normally served), but this was already full!
In the evenings most people had no option but to go out of the hotel to eat, involving getting taxis!
ALL of these events took place without any prior notice to the guests, and some of the time without prior knowledge of the staff!
If you are only staying for a few days, you might not feel the effects of these changes, but many guests stay considerably longer, and feel like they are being treated like 2nd class citizens, and I suspect that the hotel may need these long term guests in the future!

Room Tip: Lower level sea view rooms are best but most expensive. Rain forest rooms are in the rain forest and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lesley Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a rain forest cottage, the room was not that big but still ok for two of us. We even had a very nice sea view from our cottage. The shuttle service was also nice, we could get to the cable car by the shuttle. Staffs were friendly and the restaurant was not bad. The only problem for me was 'Insects'! A LOT OF INSECTS!!
On the ceiling, floor, and even in the bed!
Everyday we have to fight with 20-30 insects in our room, which drove me crazy. The Hotel really need to do sth with this!
If u could bear with this u could choose here, otherwise better to choose other places.
Ps: the beach is nice, but u need to be careful with jellyfish.


Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paulownia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisNBLR, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Berjaya Langkawi Resort !

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time and giving us a review after your recent stay here with us. We are very pleased to hear that your overall stay was a memorable and pleasant one indeed, except for the insects !

These "Mayflies" are a common occurrence here in the rainforest especially during the rainy seasons. They are especially attracted to light sources and tend to appear around dusk when the lights are turned on. While we will do our best in sweeping away these flies, it is indeed next to impossible to prevent something like this from happening as it is indeed Mother Nature's call.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist with anything else. We do look forward to having you stay with us again.

Thank you.


Sincerely,

Chris Niuh
General Manager
Berjaya Langkawi Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is now my third visit to this charming Hotel, and I am glad to say its still a great place to go. The staff are still wonderful and smile, and the food is as good as ever, if any thing the beach restaurant could do with some more dishes as it has always been my least favourite place to eat if you are hungry, which is a shame because its in a great scenic place. The beach is just great too. Its worth pointing out at this point that the seashell hotel just along the beach is no longer there which is a shame because it added a new dimension to your food and entertainment. Please visit the duty free shop in Oriental village for cheap alcohol, also try some very cheep good food at the far end of the village. Great place the Berjaya, but get out and see the island and discover the many markets that are on every day selling very cheep good local food. One last point, we saw a lot of wildlife from our balcony (monkeys. etc)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omega132857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,329 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing