We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth it at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not worth it at all”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

i travel abroad atleast twice each year & always stay at 4/5 star hotels only because of assured good service & comfort. Unfortunately both were lacking at this property in Langkawi. We travelled with friends in June.

Pros: good beach front resort
good breakfast
Only helpful person was the duty manager.

Cons :...
check in - room was not ready before 3.30pm... we were two couples with once child. We were given two adjoining rooms(meant for two adults with two children type) since one room did not have a safe/no umbrellas etc...inspite of paying Full rate for two rooms.
Inspite of repeated requests for a room near reception from the time we booked through our agent ( my husband has an ankle surgery year before) till even at the time of check in. We were assured it was close to the main hotel building... but soon we realised it was the farthest away. Room 3145. and it was on a slope so no way could my husband ever walk down. Each time we had to wait for the shuttle which took ages & then we friends had to help him do the last few steps.
Room safe was not working & the poor duty manager herself came twice to fix it.
Very average room not worth the money.
We were too tired to complain after an overnight long flight & hence stuck to the rooms.
We also realised that the reception staff were not freindly at all. Found no point in trying to explain to them. We rather make the best use of our vacation.

Location: Hotel is very far from main Cenang or Tengah beach area...which has the main eating & shopping places.
Nothing closeby except the oriental village.
No restaurants/shops etc are walking distance. You have to eat in the resort or oriental village.

Property- extremely spread out resort not good for families with small children or old people or folks with walking disability.

The poolside was full of slippery algae & for us the worse happened...my husband twisted his bad ankle there. Luckily the inhouse doc was very helpful & so was the duty manager.
She even organised late check out for us after hearing us out of our check in experience.

Overall we had a terrible experience as the staff were not pleasant at all(something you take for granted in south east asia).

Better resorts in Cenang beach for sure.
This is an absolute 3 star property....except the private beach nothing else is of any quality here.

Room Tip: if you dont get a guaranteed room near main building... dont go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ub7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,109
    1,748
    548
    211
    140
See reviews for
1,236
2,443
80
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Berjaya is a great hotel to relax and unwind, the beach is beautiful and the rooms are excellent. The hotel is 10 mins from the airport and about 15 minutes from the main town Cenang. There is a nice Marina 5 minutes away which has good restaurants if you want to venture out of the hotel. The food at the hotel is good and the prices fairly cheap, we went half board and the breakfast buffet was good and it allowed us to pick a different restaurant on site each night instead of having to do the buffet every night. There are loads of water sports which are free to do at the beach & jet ski's can be hired at a reasonable price. I never used the pool or swim up bar but it did look very nice and was fairly busy everday. As a location to chill out and relax I would highly recommend it, the only slight downfall is that the nightlife is minimal but across the Island that is the case.

Room Tip: All rooms are worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter5k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This resort left us such sweet memories.It was isolated but quiet and relaxing.The swimming pool was huge and having a water bar in it.The rainforest chalet we stayed in was cute and cozy,surrounded by wild monkeys and birds.After all,everything was perfect there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hao S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely location and resort. Nicely build of the chalets. Will be back to the resort in future if I visit Langkawi Island again.
Please standby a nice pair of sport shoes.

Due to the resort is at the jungle, you may also need to standby the mosquito spray to prevent from mosquito bite.

Majority the resort is lovely build!
Thumbs up!

Mark

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMark85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our first thought of Berjaya Resort was "wow" and we just mesmerise by how big, how beautiful and how unique it is - half sea, half jungle.
We were greet with extremely friendly concierge, however it was quite disappointing when we reach to reception desk - could be a bit more friendly. Since we arrived quite late so we settled ourselves with the dinner buffet at the Cafe - it was seafood night. The food were quite good however it was a bit disappointing - the cold food such as sushi, sashimi, prawn, salad were left on the tray without ice to keep them cool so after a while they became either dry, warm and room temperature - a bit gross for seafood...other than that it was good.
The breakfast buffet was extremely good and full of varieties however having to stay there for a full week, after the 3rd day we were actually quite bored since majority of the foods are quite repetitive. There are a couple of restaurants inside the resort and perhaps it would be awesome to have another buffet there with a different theme, different food? Other than that we could not ask for anything better.
When we stayed there it was low season so shuttle buses were efficient so there are nothing really to complain. We loved walking toward our chalet anyway because it was quite relaxing and amazing to see the wild life there. If you have time please sign up either for morning walk or evening walk at the activities and tour desk because you will see a whole new side of the resort ! They are free of charge and operate by Dev's Adventure Tour
The worst thing of this resort probably housekeeping, don't get me wrong it is quite vast and can be super tiring for the housekeepers to move from one chalet to another so we completely understand when they missed one thing but having to miss a couple of things each day for 5 days straight is unacceptable - toilet tissues, shampoo, conditioner, sugar, coffee, etc. We stayed at a lot of hotels and resorts and this actually never happen before... quite ridiculous.
Overall, it was amazing and relaxing to stay there after a busy and chaotic week in KL. If you're looking for something completely different, total relaxation, beautiful surroundings and away from the busyness Berjaya Resort actually quite magnificent !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ngocdo270692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

After 5 nights in Singapore this was the perfect place to relax in the sunshine.

On arrival we were told we had an upgrade to a sea view chalet, amazing views, the room was a little dated but very clean.

We were 10 mins walk away from the main complex and tended to walk in and get the bus back, we were able to get a bus as soon as we wanted one.

Food at the resort v reasonable with a lot of choice.

There were a lot of families so the pool did get crowed but lots of room on the beach.

Would definitely recommend this resort to friends as some where to chill out.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz73Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We love the Rainforest feel stay here, many plants & flowers are beautiful, natural music "birds sing" the resort area a huge we have a morning jungle walk & feel safe. Beaches are clean. We just stay in the Resort cos it's really Relax & peacemind, we didn't go out from the resort for the 2nts except drive all the way to Kuah Town for some food cos the resort itself already have activities for u & you will not feel like going out from the Resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeohSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,329 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing