We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, worth a visit for a couple of days. Stay away if you want nightlife.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #13 of 105 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked a 4 nights here at the end of July 2014.

We arrived quite early in the morning, normally most hotels won't let you check in until after 1pm or 2pm, but the Berjaya staff was friendly and organised a room within ten minutes for us. During the check in period they organised us a complimentary soft drink while waiting for the room. Which was a small but nice touch considering we had been traveling for the previous 12 hours and was tired and thirsty.

We was taken to the chalet (rainforest) by a small mini cart or bus? It was kind of cool even though it felt dangerous going up and down the steep hills. (I'll come back to these later)

The room was nice, it was clean, there was the mini bar and usual amenities you would expect from a hotel. I think after 4 or 5 nights we would of got bored of the rooms, they're not 5* with the wow factor, but they're cool and comfortable. Our only let downs with the room, was they would forget to top up the soap/shower gel even though it had ran out. We also had to call for towels twice as they seemed to forget to replace them.

The pool area was nice, there was monkeys roaming around and a friendly fun atmosphere, the pool could do with a clean as there are lots of things floating about it in it, but we turned a blind eye, and parked ourselves at the pool bar for some cocktails (which are very hit and miss). Our one let down of the pool area are the people who take the towels at 6am in the morning and claim the sun beds. This disappointed us a bit as we had nowhere to put our things and there was lots of sun beds sitting with a towel on and claimed yet no one on them for hours. The hotel should have a better policy with the sun beds.

The main beach area was really nice. The beach was beautiful and spotless and a perfect view. They have a bar on the beach which again has hit and miss cocktails and next door they have the watersports shack. We took out the jet ski's which was cool. We wanted to do Parasailing but unfortunately the boat was broken.

The restaurants was ok, breakfast in the main restaurant located next to the lobby was average. We also ate there twice for lunch and again it was average.

We tried the restaurant that overlooks the sea next to the beach for our evening meals twice. The food was average the first time, on the second time, they completely messed up the order, the waiter wasn't very sympathetic to the mistake and said i'll come back with what you ordered and left us with the miss match of our orders. Not wanting to make a fuss we said don't worry its fine, we'll eat it. It turned out to be our favourite meals for the duration of the holiday.

We also tried the Thai restaurant for my girlfriends birthday, i called up in advance, mentioned it was a birthday and they give a free cake also which was a really nice touch. The food was above average, the atmosphere was nice and we really enjoyed it there along with the breath taking view.

Our biggest problem with the resort was the transportation. They are very effective and quick at moving you about the resort, but they are so loud. At all times during the night and day if you are in your room all you can hear or diesel vans roaring outside your chalets. Our room was on a bit of a hill. We could hear gears grinding at the bottom of the hill and hi revs of a mini bus trying to get to the top. My advise to the resort would be to scrap the vans/mini buses, and buy some silent golf buggys to transport the guests.

Lastly, there isn't much nightlife in the resort or Langkawi in fact. If you're looking for a late night and some good entertainment its probably best to stay away from Langkawi full stop. All the restaurants in the hotel seem to shut at 10:30pm (so we was told by the staff). The only place for a drink is the hotel lobby bar, who have a live band. But it is what it is, a hotel lobby bar.

We got a taxi every night in to the city for quite cheap, we found one bar which was called OMG, located next to the Chanag mall we and stayed there every night. It was fun, more lively, and the staff was nice.

Overall the hotel was nice, we really enjoyed our time there. I think if we had stayed another day we would of been bored. Coming from Dubai we are used to 5* resorts and this would probably fall under 3* as to what we're used to. But it was cool and fun, and i'd recommend it friends and family if they was looking for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,929 - 1,935 of 4,994 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our experience at the Berjaya is forever lodged in our memories. The service was excellent, our chalet was clean, spacious and the resort had a lot on offer, there was never a dull moment. We spent 3 nights at the Berjaya which we felt was just enough time to see and experience the resort. We will definately come back again, what a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidzo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Generally, we had an enjoyable time at this beach resort. Met a few nice Americans who managed to gather enough friends to make up teams to play a water ball game at the pool. By the pool bar, there was this curious monitor lizard who didn't seem to be afraid of humans. The staff couldn't decide if it was dangerous or not so we decided to keep our distance.

The beach is nice to walk on in the evenings but between noon and 4+pm it is like being under burning fire with lack of comfortable shady places to chill out. It might seem like a private beach but it is not.

As this is a duty free island, we would think that the liquor prices would reflect that but it didn't. We were happy to take a drive out to purchase our beer for a quarter of what they charged here.

The restaurant is reasonably priced and food was mostly local dishes, nothing outstanding.

We had a garden view chalet which we booked through time share and happy with that. But then, we had to view the newly renovated premium chalets and were so ready to top up to move in to those but we couldn't understand why the resort felt it justifiable to charge rm1,200/premium chalet (ROOM ONLY) during mid season. That's just way too much. In total, we would be asked to pay rm 950++/night on top of the rm150/ night we had already paid for room only. We really liked what we saw but felt the price wasn't justifiable for a 4 star resort. The manager was also quite snobbish so we didn't pursue.

We loved our dining experience at the Thai restaurant. The view was fantastic and the restaurant staff were great.

Overall, a good stay but we preferred Berjaya Tioman for their beachfront chalet with the beach at our doorstep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maywgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here in early July with Family (Wife and 2 Girls 10 & 3). Overall the concept is very original, a Jungle type environment with numerous Chalets dotted around large grounds. Pick up from Airport is smooth and efficent. Travel around the complex is fine, but in date smelly diesel vans as per other reviews. We were lucky to be within 5 mins walk and so mostly we were able to survive without a wait.
The chalets are very very dated (even the renovated ones). Our cieling had plaster fall down by the aircon (which we reported but nobody came to clean up).
Nice being close to nature though with monkeys and other wildlife all around the Hotel.
Pool was ok, quite dirty at times but close to a nice clean beach. The setting for the hotel grounds is stunning and the 4 restaurants we visited served pretty good food and reasonable prices. Buffet nights were reasonable value too. Some staff were fantastic but others were pretty rude and unaccomodating. Agree with other reviews about Berjaya Resorts not updating their rooms though as these were very sub standard, verging on a very good 3 star or poor 4 star rather than the advertised 5 star (maybe the Premium Rooms were 5 Star but our Rainforest Family Chalet certainly wasn't) - We had a good time though so cannot really complain much although on our next visit we would definately choose somewhere else.
Travel anywhere around island via taxi is easy and quick to book via the hotel direct, this service is a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonC1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We checked into the Berjaya's Langkawi resort on the 2nd day of our 5 day family vacation and it was exactly what we were looking for. The staff were very friendly, and like one of the reviewers wrote, if you give them your time and respect, you will be rewarded with a warm and friendly reception.

Our family of 10 stayed in 4 rooms, the Premiere Chalet on-land and I believe we got one of the best views in the resort. Our rooms were perched up high and looking out, we were able to see the water chalets followed by a breathtaking view of the sea.

Being in a rainforest, part of the charm was the sound which accompanied it. It does take time to get used to but it was a great change from the hustle and bustle of city life. The entire experience was great, with a clean and beautiful beach, while being not too far away from Kuah and the Chenang area (which to me is beginning to resemble Kuta, Bali)

We would definitely be going back again, hopefully very soon!

Room Tip: Try out rooms 1242 and 1243 for amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank ZikriAzizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Berjaya very much. Even though the hotel provides Buggy services to operate on its territory it is worth just walking around to enjoy the flora and fauna found in abundance there:) Very friendly and qualified personal, Food was just great. Children spent all of the time in the pool or playing in the kids paradise, which allows parents relax and enjoy time themselves.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Southseadreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Berjaya for 7 nights! I cannot fault this resort, perfect location and I love the fact that it is set in the jungle it makes you feel like your somewhere totally different .
We stayed in a premier chalet on the water, room was immaculate, clean and well maintained.
The Thai restaurant is well priced and the food is spectacular.
The resort is quite big, but no need to worry the free shuttle service is super quick we would call and it would be there in less than two minutes.


Recommend
Nature walk, it's free for resort guests.
Hiring a car or a scooter to see the island best thing we ever did.
Go to the Thai restaurant but make sure you book.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Taleah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,264 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 105 in Langkawi
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
11.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £83 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing