We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Danna Langkawi(Pantai Kok)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,205)
Filter reviews
5,205 results
Traveller rating
2,295
1,907
607
238
158
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,295
1,907
607
238
158
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrainforest chaletoriental villagebeach restaurantshuttle servicethai restaurantdayang cafecable carpremier chaletshuttle busfamily chaletprivate beachon stiltssea viewflying lemurssky bridgemain lobbyour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,078 - 2,083 of 5,205 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I would like to start my review by saying that we had a fantastic holiday at Berjaya Langkawi Resort. As I was looking for a resort to relax, my wife had suggested this resort so that we can spend our time close to the nature. Close to the nature does not mean that our room did not have the modern amenities. We did have a good air conditioner, hot water in bathroom, cable TV and also free wifi in our room. After arriving at the airport we rented a Toyota ALTIS Sedan car and drove to the resort using Google Map Apps in my mobile. It was a fantastic experience, the roads were very scenic. The check in was very quick although there were many guests waiting for their turn to check in. We booked a Rainforest Studio for us as we had our son with us, for that we had an extra bed in our room. When we went to our room we were amazed to see that the room was just like the photo we have seen in the website of the resort. From our balcony we could see the sea. All around the balcony there was rainforest. It was a wonderful experience. But sometimes at night we heard different sound of birds and animals. On the first night our son got scared when he heard a sound on the balcony. May be some animal or bird came to the balcony and later left. Using shuttle for going to our room was a must as it was up hill but sometimes we walked down to the lobby. But the number of shuttle was less than the required number and for that guest had to wait for their turn.

Breakfast at the resort was excellent. Lots of food choice. After 9 am the restaurant becomes crowded. On the last night we had dinner at Pahn Thai Restaurant of the resort which is located over the sea. The environment was good with live music and songs been played by different artist. The price of food was reasonable. There are some other restaurants at the Oriental Village (Cable Car Station) which are located at the back side, one Japanese, one Arabic etc. The Oriental Village is 8-10 minutes’ walk away. There is a harbor (Perdana Quay) about 6-8 minutes’ drive away where there are many restaurants just beside Danna Langkawi Hotel. The Lebanese Restaurant is at the front but there are at last 4 other restaurant (Artisans Pizza, Tapaz Restaurants, etc) at the back facing the water and the luxury boats. The prices of the foods are reasonable.

There are many types of pool in the resort. The deepest one is 1.5 M deep. The beach is also good and clean with nets in place to keep away the Jelly Fish.

I think to relax, Berjaya Langkawi is a good choice.

Room Tip: Try to choose room close to the lobby.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HawkDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a long weekend to the Berjaya having previously tried-out the Mutiara and Sheraton hotels at Langkawi.
The Berjaya was a disappointment and the booking company Agoda, again failed to properly describe the package.
For S$400+ a night I did expect something more to the chalet than a mini-bar, hair-dryer and toiletries which, in my experience, is supplied in any 3* level hotel but there was nothing in the chalet to give a warm fuzzy feeling that ones money had been well-spent!
The beef rendang ordered for lunch in the Malay restaurant was inedible and I sent it back. The hamburger was little better. Both took well over half an hour to be served.
Booking a table in the Thai restaurant later, we explained the lunch fiasco and the waiter smiled! He said he knew about 'that kitchen' and assured us the Thai kitchen was better.
The curry we had did prove edible but, again, sadly lacking in Berjaya quality and taste.
The pool was ok and plenty of sun-loungers available.
If I had paid a very considerable amount of money to reach the Berjaya from Europe I would have been bitterly disappointed in the over-priced package. The increasing numbers of Middle Eastern visitors apparent since our last visit to Langkawi probably explains the high cost but this should not excuse poor food and a mediocre atmosphere. We won't be going back to Berjaya, prefering the Sheraton, even if it is slightly more expensive.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MarkieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisNBLR, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Berjaya Langakwi Resort !

Thank you very much for the review after your recent stay with us.
Firstly, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced when you were here with us. We fully appreciate feedback from our esteemed guests such as your self as it points out our shortfall and where we need to make the necessary improvements.

On this occassion, we seem to have fallen short of your expectations. I have since spoken to the Chef in charge about the quality of the rendang and he has personally assured me that he will ensure that the food quality there is closely monitored.

I have also shared your comments about being overpriced with our National Sales team to further see if our marketing strategies needs to be re-looked at to stay competitive.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist with anything else. We do look forward to having you stay with us again.

Thank you and regards.


Sincerely,

Chris Niuh
General Manager
Berjaya Langkawi Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Berjaya is a lovely spot far away from any noise and bustle. Whole place is clean and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Pool and beach are both very nice. The only issue is that the on site restaurants and food services are expensive and not great. It's a shame, because the locations are incredible. Also be aware that you'll need to get a taxi everytime you leave the hotel, as it is remote.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Clayton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Be prepared and know what you will be booking beforehand.

The rainforest chalet view is very very cramped for two people. We did try upgrading but told no.

We made a complaint about sheets being dirty however nothing was done and had to again let the room service know. Sheets may be cleaned but are not easy viewing. All our towels are the same with red marks or other. The general cleanliness of our room is not good with many foul smells.

With the ac and fan it is difficult to get in between hot and cold and can go from one extreme to the other.

Not able to use the cupboards for our clothes due to the foul smell.

The advisor at the activities desk was not helpful. We were informed that the cable car runs to 7 but she was adamant it was until 5 so we did not go as it was too late. Only to find out later in the evening that it was open till 7 by the shuttle desk service and the taxi man.

At the same time we are very close to the beach which is amazing.

Langkawi is a beautiful island with many nice attractions and places not sure I feel the same about berjaya.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Great location on private beach, but service is very hit and miss. We stayed in the over water chalets and while the location was great, for the price we paid apx $480 aud a night, I would expect far better service from the staff. No one smiles, it took 2 requests and 8 hours for toilet paper and 4 requests all day long to get a bed made up for our son. The wild animals and location on the beach was great, but the bed seriously hard. and service around hotel terrible apart from the swim up pool bar guy, he was good. Get an additional key to your room when checking in so you can leave your aircon running. Try book a room close to the pool so you don't have to catch the shuttle. We ate breakfast at the beach front restaurant, it was ok, but no where near 5 star standard. We went to the kids club one morning and had to go through the other breakfast area at the other restaurant which was more like a food court at a busy shopping centre, so eat breakfast at the beach front restaurant. Much quieter.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank traveller20002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews