We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can say a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We can say a good experience”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have been there with my family, over all experience is good but I think and believe next time will look for better place.1. Location is close to almost all activity with an acceptable taxi fees.
2. Restaurants and food there is very nice and better quality than eating outside.
3. Beach,pools, over all rainforest atmosphere is nice.
4. Better to chose premiere chalets or any room on water to minimized and avoid the lizard and other insects although it's not guarantee at all and it one of the bad things in the resort.
5. Bad things that's you have to wait for shuttle to drop you in the chalet and verses via.

Room Tip: Must chose ON WATER room, and as ne'er as possible to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisNBLR, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Berjaya Langkawi Resort !

Thank you very much for the review after your recent stay with us.
We truly appreciate the feedback as it helps us make the necessary improvements along the way. I have since shared your comments with the rest of my team and rest assured, we will endeavour to continue to improve.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist with anything else. We do look forward to having you stay with us again.

Thank you and regards.


Sincerely,

Chris Niuh
General Manager
Berjaya Langkawi Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,116
    1,754
    551
    214
    140
See reviews for
1,246
2,450
81
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,200)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Selangor, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The location at the Berjaya was wonderful, love the beach, is not the clear crystal waters of the Caribbean but it's pretty.

We opted for the luxury chalets in the water, they were the last two away from the main buildings and it's was very nice and quiet, very few kids and overall it was romantic and secluded.

Here are my cons, the dinner and meal services were at the most a rating of three, meals came late and disorganized, the rooms were a lot smaller than expected, beds were pretty tough, they were clean, no unexpected visitors although as they tell you, keep you doors closed and locked, there are monkeys everywhere and they know how to get in if you give them a chance.

There are shuttles constantly up and down the resort and that was nice, best they offer was a room for us to change and stay until our late flight, not the prettiest of rooms, but it worked after a day at the beach and having to catch a late flight.

We will try a different place next time!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stellaluna14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

So we did our honeymoon at berjaya in Langkawi. The rooms were amazing. The service was quick and very nice. Rooms were so clean and private. I also booked a romantic dinner for two on the beach and surprised my wife by it and she loved it .. The server was nothing short of fantastic.. Everything u do there though I would call first and ask them what can they through on top.. like for our dinner I had them through a bottle of champagne and a private band and came and played for like 20 min .. we danced on the beach and my wife loved them. The food was great too. Accommodated us. Also try to ask for a free upgrade ... we asked and we got it .. it was pretty nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I would like to start my review by saying that we had a fantastic holiday at Berjaya Langkawi Resort. As I was looking for a resort to relax, my wife had suggested this resort so that we can spend our time close to the nature. Close to the nature does not mean that our room did not have the modern amenities. We did have a good air conditioner, hot water in bathroom, cable TV and also free wifi in our room. After arriving at the airport we rented a Toyota ALTIS Sedan car and drove to the resort using Google Map Apps in my mobile. It was a fantastic experience, the roads were very scenic. The check in was very quick although there were many guests waiting for their turn to check in. We booked a Rainforest Studio for us as we had our son with us, for that we had an extra bed in our room. When we went to our room we were amazed to see that the room was just like the photo we have seen in the website of the resort. From our balcony we could see the sea. All around the balcony there was rainforest. It was a wonderful experience. But sometimes at night we heard different sound of birds and animals. On the first night our son got scared when he heard a sound on the balcony. May be some animal or bird came to the balcony and later left. Using shuttle for going to our room was a must as it was up hill but sometimes we walked down to the lobby. But the number of shuttle was less than the required number and for that guest had to wait for their turn.

Breakfast at the resort was excellent. Lots of food choice. After 9 am the restaurant becomes crowded. On the last night we had dinner at Pahn Thai Restaurant of the resort which is located over the sea. The environment was good with live music and songs been played by different artist. The price of food was reasonable. There are some other restaurants at the Oriental Village (Cable Car Station) which are located at the back side, one Japanese, one Arabic etc. The Oriental Village is 8-10 minutes’ walk away. There is a harbor (Perdana Quay) about 6-8 minutes’ drive away where there are many restaurants just beside Danna Langkawi Hotel. The Lebanese Restaurant is at the front but there are at last 4 other restaurant (Artisans Pizza, Tapaz Restaurants, etc) at the back facing the water and the luxury boats. The prices of the foods are reasonable.

There are many types of pool in the resort. The deepest one is 1.5 M deep. The beach is also good and clean with nets in place to keep away the Jelly Fish.

I think to relax, Berjaya Langkawi is a good choice.

Room Tip: Try to choose room close to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HawkDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a long weekend to the Berjaya having previously tried-out the Mutiara and Sheraton hotels at Langkawi.
The Berjaya was a disappointment and the booking company Agoda, again failed to properly describe the package.
For S$400+ a night I did expect something more to the chalet than a mini-bar, hair-dryer and toiletries which, in my experience, is supplied in any 3* level hotel but there was nothing in the chalet to give a warm fuzzy feeling that ones money had been well-spent!
The beef rendang ordered for lunch in the Malay restaurant was inedible and I sent it back. The hamburger was little better. Both took well over half an hour to be served.
Booking a table in the Thai restaurant later, we explained the lunch fiasco and the waiter smiled! He said he knew about 'that kitchen' and assured us the Thai kitchen was better.
The curry we had did prove edible but, again, sadly lacking in Berjaya quality and taste.
The pool was ok and plenty of sun-loungers available.
If I had paid a very considerable amount of money to reach the Berjaya from Europe I would have been bitterly disappointed in the over-priced package. The increasing numbers of Middle Eastern visitors apparent since our last visit to Langkawi probably explains the high cost but this should not excuse poor food and a mediocre atmosphere. We won't be going back to Berjaya, prefering the Sheraton, even if it is slightly more expensive.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisNBLR, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Berjaya Langakwi Resort !

Thank you very much for the review after your recent stay with us.
Firstly, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced when you were here with us. We fully appreciate feedback from our esteemed guests such as your self as it points out our shortfall and where we need to make the necessary improvements.

On this occassion, we seem to have fallen short of your expectations. I have since spoken to the Chef in charge about the quality of the rendang and he has personally assured me that he will ensure that the food quality there is closely monitored.

I have also shared your comments about being overpriced with our National Sales team to further see if our marketing strategies needs to be re-looked at to stay competitive.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist with anything else. We do look forward to having you stay with us again.

Thank you and regards.


Sincerely,

Chris Niuh
General Manager
Berjaya Langkawi Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Berjaya is a lovely spot far away from any noise and bustle. Whole place is clean and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Pool and beach are both very nice. The only issue is that the on site restaurants and food services are expensive and not great. It's a shame, because the locations are incredible. Also be aware that you'll need to get a taxi everytime you leave the hotel, as it is remote.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clayton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Be prepared and know what you will be booking beforehand.

The rainforest chalet view is very very cramped for two people. We did try upgrading but told no.

We made a complaint about sheets being dirty however nothing was done and had to again let the room service know. Sheets may be cleaned but are not easy viewing. All our towels are the same with red marks or other. The general cleanliness of our room is not good with many foul smells.

With the ac and fan it is difficult to get in between hot and cold and can go from one extreme to the other.

Not able to use the cupboards for our clothes due to the foul smell.

The advisor at the activities desk was not helpful. We were informed that the cable car runs to 7 but she was adamant it was until 5 so we did not go as it was too late. Only to find out later in the evening that it was open till 7 by the shuttle desk service and the taxi man.

At the same time we are very close to the beach which is amazing.

Langkawi is a beautiful island with many nice attractions and places not sure I feel the same about berjaya.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,334 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing