We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Berjaya Langkawi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #13 of 105 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Visited this peaceful resort with family and friends. It certainly is a beautiful resort with a jungle like atmosphere, especially where most of the rooms are situated. One can also opt for beach front rooms.
Private beach. Great rooms. Comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffwong_my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,908 - 1,914 of 5,001 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this resort after travelling the region extensively and having been in Malaysia for about 3 weeks. In terms of pricing, this was one of the most expensive resorts we booked, so we had high expectations. I researched the resort extensively before booking it, and the photos online made it seem like paradise. Unfortunately, the reality was quite different; in sum, it was god awful. Literally in every single sense, apart from the staff (they were lovely hence the 2 stars).
There is no way this is 5 star resort by any stretch of the imaginations. Reasons:
1) When we first arrived to our room we found a broken shower head, a dripping AC, and dirty, worn and thin towels and sheets.
2) My husband tried to use the safe in the room, that was broken as well.
3) The resort is quite far from Pantai Cenang and the city center, so there aren't many choices when it comes to food (there is Danna resort close by and there are a few nice restaurants there). Consequently, you are forced to eat on the resort. The food is average at best and obviously overpriced.
4) Because there were so many people at the resort, it was almost impossible to keep the pool clean. This of course was a massive letdown. That being said, the beach was very beautiful.
5) Overall, whilst the guards, cleaning, lady, waitresses and such were very gracious and friendly, management and people working the lobby were aloof. We complained about the cleanliness of the room and the 'rundown' state of the chalet in general, and nothing was done. Instead we were met with a polite indifference.
I feel like there are far better options available on the island, do not stay here, you will be massively disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not book the rainforest chalet, they are worn, old and poorly maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dadoo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisNBLR, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Berjaya Langkawi Resort !

Thank you very much for giving us a review after your recent stay.
On behalf of my team and I, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences experienced when you were here. It is with such feedback from esteemed guests such as your self that gives us the opportunity to gauge where we stand with our service delivery and product.

On this occassion, we seem to have fallen short of your expectations. I have since shared your comments wiht the rest of my department heads and will ensure that we try to improve our shortcomings, especially in the quality of food. For info, we do have plans to expand the size of the swimming pool and are looking foeward to the final approval for this.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist with anything else. We do look forward to be able to serve you again in future.

Thank you and regards,


Sincerely,

Chris Niuh
General Manager
Berjaya Langkawi Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

10/10 great to be back changed but time does not stand still,hotel great staff great glad went back,some say never go back this is the forth time 5 times do not know,met waiter from the first time we went now asst manager he recognised us bumped into him last day,staff are great so helpful, always smiling ,must hire a car to see island

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We visited the resort with a group of 8 friends. The resort premises are huge and well maintained. The beach side is fun to be at and the swimming pool is decent sized.

The resort offers opportunity to spot wildlife. We could spot a monitor lizard and a flying squirrel.
The chalets are comfortable (mattress comfortable and Air Con worked well) and are connected to the report reception and resort restaurants by a buggy which can be called in from the reception.
The Thai restaurant is Ok and offers a nice ambiance to dine in the evening as it is across a boardwalk on the waters.

The only complain I had was from the service and management at the breakfast buffet. It took quite long for the tables to get cleared and the ordered beverages to arrive. The food and variety was quite standard and OK.

The check in took quite long (we waited for 4 hours, arrived at around 10 in morning and could only settle in our rooms at 2).
The resort is well located and walking distance from the Cable car.

The beach front restaurant is a better option for breakfast brunch in terms of service. The staff there was kind enough to prepare 'tailor made' ginger tea for us with instruction on how to do so.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AruJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisNBLR, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Berjaya Langkawi Resort !

Thank you very much for the review after your recent stay with us.
We truly appreciate feedback from our guests as it gives us the opportunity to see where we need to make the necessary improvements.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during breakfast and during the check in process. I must admit that you caught us fully stretched out and must apologise once again for our shortcomings. I have since spoken to the Restaurant Manager and also the Front Office Manager to ensure that they are scrutinising their manning rosters to address this busy period.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist with anything else. We do look forward to having you stay with us again.

Thank you and regards,


Sincerely,

Chris Niuh
General Manager
Berjaya Langkawi Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Quiet resort great food great rooms in the jungle (loads of animals to see- flying foxes, monkeys,stink beetles to name a few) just phone reception and they'll pick you up in a golf cart!! This is most definitely a resort based holiday for couples to have a romantic getaway fantastic pub just along the beach with regular live band but need to keep an eye on the tide coming in and out. Couple of good trips to do

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Niclolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have been there with my family, over all experience is good but I think and believe next time will look for better place.1. Location is close to almost all activity with an acceptable taxi fees.
2. Restaurants and food there is very nice and better quality than eating outside.
3. Beach,pools, over all rainforest atmosphere is nice.
4. Better to chose premiere chalets or any room on water to minimized and avoid the lizard and other insects although it's not guarantee at all and it one of the bad things in the resort.
5. Bad things that's you have to wait for shuttle to drop you in the chalet and verses via.

Room Tip: Must chose ON WATER room, and as ne'er as possible to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisNBLR, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Berjaya Langkawi Resort !

Thank you very much for the review after your recent stay with us.
We truly appreciate the feedback as it helps us make the necessary improvements along the way. I have since shared your comments with the rest of my team and rest assured, we will endeavour to continue to improve.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist with anything else. We do look forward to having you stay with us again.

Thank you and regards.


Sincerely,

Chris Niuh
General Manager
Berjaya Langkawi Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The location at the Berjaya was wonderful, love the beach, is not the clear crystal waters of the Caribbean but it's pretty.

We opted for the luxury chalets in the water, they were the last two away from the main buildings and it's was very nice and quiet, very few kids and overall it was romantic and secluded.

Here are my cons, the dinner and meal services were at the most a rating of three, meals came late and disorganized, the rooms were a lot smaller than expected, beds were pretty tough, they were clean, no unexpected visitors although as they tell you, keep you doors closed and locked, there are monkeys everywhere and they know how to get in if you give them a chance.

There are shuttles constantly up and down the resort and that was nice, best they offer was a room for us to change and stay until our late flight, not the prettiest of rooms, but it worked after a day at the beach and having to catch a late flight.

We will try a different place next time!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stellaluna14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,270 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 105 in Langkawi
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
11.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £85 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing