We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spot”
Reviewed 4 March 2010

This hotel is all chalets in the water or the rainforest and the property is beautiful. We had a premier chalet on land just inside the forest with a great view of the ocean. It was close enough to the main buildings to be able to walk rather than depend on the carts which was a great advantage (though we had no problem finding a ride when we needed one).

The room looked newly redone with a huge bathroom. The room and balcony were both very spacious. The pool was very nice, but we spent our time down at the beach which was beautiful. It was never a problem getting chairs and they all had shade.

The staff were all very nice and the food was great (though we both had some stomach issues there). We ate in the Beach Restaurant mostly, but tried them all. We were most pleasantly surprised by the buffet. The hotel spa was amazing. It is in the forest and there is a mineral pool looking out onto the ocean.

There are quite a few monkeys in the forest and they are not afraid to come on your balcony - or inside the rooms! They are cute, but can get aggressive, so I wouldn't suggest leaving food out for them.

It's a tranquil, picturesque property perfect for relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starkerama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,075
    1,721
    539
    210
    139
See reviews for
1,206
2,412
80
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

I have never stayed at a resort with a better location. The sprawling resort covers an entire hillside with nothing beyond. Amazing place for morning and evening walks, one of the most romantic restaurants in the world in their Pan Thai restaurant. The water chalets should really be at par with the ones at Tanjung Rhu and The Datai if not for the service which I thought was very poor by global standards. S.E. Asian hotels (arring Singapore) really need to improve their service if they want to compete with the best in the world.
But if you just want to forget the whole world and go relax at your own private thing, book a water chalet and spend the evening on your verandah listening to the waves lapping at the rocks below you and watching schools of squid pass by,

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Fredrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this review, 4 March 2010
Thank you for your review and I am so pleased theat the overall experience was enjoyable. I really am sorry to hear that ther service aspect was not to your expectations and would be very pleased to hear what problems you encountered as we are very focussed on ensuring we improve in every way. I would be most pleased to hear your feedback if you have time to advise me on gm@b-langkawi.com.my
My sincere thanks and regards for your taking the time to provide your feddback,
Enzo Rulli GM Berjaya Resort Langkawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argenton-sur-Creuse, France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

For some reason after reading all the reviews I didn't expect it to be so big! The huge lobby with all the coming and going was a shock after our 5- bedroomed hotel in Penang. We had a problem booking in as they weren't expecting us until the next day despite e-mails from our travel agent, but it was all sorted out and we were put in a temporary room and moved the next day. We loved the room and not having a sea view didn't matter as watching the monkeys, squirrels and tokay lizards was one of the highlights. Most of the time we had nobody next door so noise wasn't a problem but I could see that it could be.The shuttle service usually worked but it wasn't far to walk and by walking you saw more wildlife. We found the restaurants in general expensive and nothing special except the Thai restaurant which we went to twice. The guys who sing there are really good. The second evening the food was even better. Our Malay buffet evening didn't have rendang or gula melaka which we had expected - so maybe the menu could be printed outside the restaurant as it seems they alternate them. Drinks were expensive too but then I supposed it's to be expected. We loved the beach and preferred it to the pool. People bagging the sun loungers and then disappearing for the day was annoying and unnecessary - on our last day someone even moved our stuff to another one while we were swimming in the sea. The resort is a bit out of the way so you need a taxi or hire a car to get about. We went to the night market by the airport and Kuah town. I also had an excellent massage at the spa. Although we enjoyed our stay here and we had a special deal I'm not sure if we've become one of the fan club members but I can see why a lot of people like it

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lasatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We loved every moment of our stay at Berjaya Langkawi. While its a little out of the way of the main tourist centres, this for us was a good thing! It's set on a quiet private beach at the far west end of the island, with magnificent rainforest surroundings - the wildlife, including monkeys and squirrels are an attraction themselves!

We were upgraded to a premier land chalet which was stunning - huge and very well kept. I had read some reviews from people saying the rooms needed repair and weren't as good as they were expecting... but I guess they must have been in different styles of rooms from us, as the only thing we could find to compain about was the hard bed, which we later found out is a common occurance in Asian hotels!

The staff were very friendly. I don't think we met or walked past one that didn't beam us a huge friendly smile every time we saw them.

One of the best meals of our trip to SE Asia was had at the Chinese restaurant near the lobby. Ohhh I want to be back there now! Of course the prices are more than at restaurants in town, but that's expected at a resort. It's still far less than half the price we would pay for a meal in Australia!

We will definitely return to Berjaya one day.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LandyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Berjaya was a perfect hotel we chose ( with recommendation of my cousin Sunil!). The location of this is very unusal. It is bulit in forest. All rooms are built on stilts in forest, which make it appear like they are tree house. More to this qhite a few have a sea facing views! There are also executive rooms built on stilts in sea! The whole scenery is breath taking!!
We loveld our stay here in April 2009. My kids were fascinated with views, forest and monkeys coming and sitting in your balcony. The rooms need a update but still are not bad for 4 star. Lovely beach but cant swim beacuse of jelly fish.
I would definately come back again and would recommend it to anyone who wants a different experince then a norm hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonDipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

On return to Berjaya for the second year got to chalet to find a weclome back chocolate cake. It went down very nicely with tea for a couple of afternoons. For such a large resort this kind of detail was appreciated. We also appreciated the location and nature more on this, our second visit. It was quite busy due to Chinese new year but had no issues with checking in or staff. A smile and hello to the staff brought friendly and helpful responses, so many guests were downright rude, not only to staff but to other guests.
Found restaurants in the hotel good quality and fairly good value. Tried restaurants at the nearby Telega harbour and found high costs and not that great quality food.
Enzo, thanks to yourself and staff for another lovely stay. Hope to see you again

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2010

The hotel itself was beautiful..Only downfall was some of the staff were VERY rude.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UmmKhalid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this review, 22 February 2010
Thanks for the review and we will be trying even harder to ensure sevice levels are improved further. It is an area where we have been striving to improve but it seems that we need to try even harder. Your reviews assist in telling us where we need to focus more time. Many sincere thanks, Enzo Rulli GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
6.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing