We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a magical place...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #13 of 108 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2010

What an amazing place! Our stay here was from 22 - 30 April 2010. We spent 8 nights here and loved every minute of it. After checking in, which was a really friendly and swift process, our luggage and ourselves were put onto one of the many shuttles that the resort has. Our bags were taken into the room and air conditioning turned on. What a beautiful room! We were in one of the upgraded rainforest rooms. By the end of the holiday, we were convinced that the rainforest was the place to be. It was cooler and the animal life was incredible! I have attached photos of the room.

We were issued with a breakfast card and the breakfast did not disappoint. The array of food available would have something for everyone to enjoy. The staff were efficient and friendly. Make sure you ask for a glass of cold water. Two reasons, firstly you will need the chilled water to quench your thirst, second because that way you will have a bigger glass for juice! The egg station was brilliant. I kept to the fresh fruit, waffles and toast. But for the more adventurous, there were all types of traditional Malay, Chinese and Indian food too. As much as a wanted to, I just couldn’t bring myself to tuck into a curry in the morning!

The pool area was gorgeous; all surrounded by the beautiful rainforest one side and the beach the other. We really enjoyed the swim up bar too! The only down side to the pool area is that the umbrellas do not block out the suns rays properly. A number of people were quite badly burnt, thinking they were safe under the umbrellas. You can order food poolside and it was fairly reasonably priced. Around 38MR for a pizza and about 18MR for 6 satay sticks. This is still expensive compared to eating away from the resort. (Check out the reviews for restaurants that I have added.)

The shuttle bus service was superb! 24hrs a day. We were up the back of the forest and whilst I can appreciate the beautiful scenery for walking, it was just so hot that we chose to catch the shuttle. The drivers were considerate and polite and the guys who run the service at the lobby were friendly and efficient. Mohammed deserves a special mention here. This young guy always greeted us with a smile and within days, knew our room numbers! You can get the shuttle to the Oriental Village, but you can’t get it back, so chose a cooler day to do this.

We ate at the Beach Restaurant and had a lovely meal there. They served an assortment of meals both western and Malay. It was probably the most expensive meal we had the whole time in Langkawi, but it was our first night there and it was a great way to start! This restaurant overlooks the beach and you can see the lights of the other resort and the marina from here.

The gift shop at the Berjaya was reasonably priced. We had a good look through and then went out and shopped at other places first. In comparison, some things were about the same, others were cheaper and some were far more expensive. So, as usual, it pays to shop around.

I decided to do yoga at the spa and it was fantastic! It was a truly amazing experience that took place on the outside deck of the spa surrounded by the rainforest. A troop of monkeys decided to cruise through and check us out and the babies stopped for a play. What a privilege to be so close to these inquisitive creatures. The yoga was great too!

If you take nothing else from my review of the Berjaya, then I hope that you read this… You MUST do the nature walk with Dev. We went on the evening walk that started at 6pm on our second to last night. How I wish we had made it our first stop when we arrived. The walk was incredible and took a fairly leisurely pace that made it doable for virtually anyone. To say Dev is a walking encyclopaedia for the flora, fauna and wildlife on the island, is an understatement. He was superb! By the end of the walk, I felt so much more in touch with what was happening around us. I understood what all the noises were around us. Thanks Dev!

Overall, if you are looking for somewhere that provides you with clean, tidy and enchanting accommodation; if you want to experience somewhere close to nature; if you want a good range of restaurants; if you want friendly service; if you want somewhere fairly central, Berjaya is the place for you!

We hired a car and this was possibly the best decision we made after choosing to stay at the Berjaya. Make sure you barter to get the best price for the rental car. We managed to hire a reasonable car (ie 2000, 5 door, air condition, manual) for 400MR for 9 days. We rented it at the airport. Just arrived and chose the most polite person at the desk!

Berjaya is a place that people return to again and again. We were fortunate enough to be invited to the GM’s cocktail evening and there was a Japanese man who was there for his 22nd time! We came to celebrate our 15th anniversary and the hotel gave us a complimentary chocolate cake and fruit basket. It was gorgeous! We would come back in a heartbeat… one day!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bizzygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,720 - 3,726 of 5,110 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2010

If you are looking for a high rise hotel on the beach in the middle of a city then this is not the one for you. This hotel is set within the rain forest of Langkawi and has rooms (malaya huts on stilts) over the sea and on the land. The hotel is on a hillside and therefore the rooms work backwards from the sea up the hill. There are rooms that are luxury itself and have large balconies with sunloungers and wonderful bathrooms with fantastic sea views as well as vergitation and animals (monkeys). Then there are rooms which have slightly smaller balconies set higher up the hill in the rain forest which might have sea views and might not (remember trees do go quite quickly here). The staff at the hotel work very hard and are always friendly and helpful. The facilities are very good with great pool, beach, restaurants and a wonderful spa. We spent a month here from the middle of March to the middle of April and it was our 3rd visit to Langkawi, what a wonderful rest. There is lots to see and do around the island and some of the trips that we did were: Mangrove Trip with Dev's Adventures (liked this so much we did it twice), Crystal Yaght trip (we did both day and evening trips). Also there are no buses on the island, but taxi's are very cheap and we booked a taxi for 4 hours to drive us around to visit various places and this cost 100 ringit (£20 approx) which we felt was good value. Some people say that the Beryaja is too far out of things, but we didn't feel this to be the case as you can get a taxi to the Harbour Park Restuarants for 10 ringit and there are a large number of places to eat, if you want a change from the hotel. We found a chinese fish restaurant at the harbour park where you can get tiger prawns 12 inches long (so you only need one each) and tiger grouper plucked from the sea that day, wonderful.
When you go to the Baryaja, you do need to visit the spa, which will allow you to visit and use the facilities even if you are not having a treatment (massage, facial etc.). There is a hot bubble pool and a chilled plunge pool and wonderful gardens and peaceful setting. As the hotel is set on a hillside there are some steps and pathways to walk (mind the monkey poo) so people with walking difficulties may find this a problem, but there is a wonderful trolley bus service that will pick you up from your room and take you to the reception/lobby area, and of course take you back again.
We loved this hotel and the holiday and are now planning to go back again in 2012.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivr513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

This is the 6th time we have stayed at the Berjaya Langkawi and we just love everything about it - from the friendliness of the staff, the food, rooms and best of all, being completely surrounded by nature. Since the new General Manager took over we have seen a huge improvement in the resort and its facilities, which is to be commended. Some of the areas may still be looking a little 'tired' but with such a big resort, these things take time to remedy, especially when in the tropics with the humidity and rainy season working against you. I have been reading other reviews about a fly problem within the dining areas and whilst this may be partly true, the staff do their best to minimise this by covering food wherever possible. Besides, I would much rather wave away a few flies than breathe in toxic pesticides! The highlight of our stay at the Berjaya is always the morning and afternoon walks with Dev or one of his staff. These are offered free of charge and are always extremely informative. The spa was also a treat.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artellphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I stayed at the Berjaya in April for 2 nights in the Chalet on water. It was beautifull to say the least and definately the best place I have stayed in. The only problem was that the resort was so big that we had to get a shuttle bus even to go to the lobby, however the shuttle service was very efficient. The staff were freindly. The food was a little overpriced and also the spa treatments. I think if the resort lowers their price it would be an ideal place to come again and again. I also think the reason I liked it so much was because of my chalet on water, it was calm and peacfull hearing the waves and seeing the sunset and rise. The chalets in the rainforest looked a bit spooky at night.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sabreen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

The hotel is in a stunning setting between the beach and tropical forest. The wildlife is exotic and plentiful. Monkeys roam the resort (don't worry they are friendly) and at night you can watch flying lemurs soar between the trees by the pool. Kites, eagles and hornbills can be seen above the pool and from the beach.
The rooms are comfortable and spacious without being luxurious. Ours had a huge kingsize bed so we slept soundly every night. Our chalet offered a sea view from the veranda and a jungle view from the front - an ideal location.
All of the restaurants do excellent food. Prices in the resort are not particularly cheap but if you venture out and about beer and food are great value.
Some things to do; Hire a car and drive around the island. You can get to all of the attractions and it is a much better and cheaper way of doing things than booking organised trips. The roads are good and it is easy to find your way around the island. Do take a tour of the mangrove swamps and do try the night markets where you can get cheap local food and various 'fake' designer items (Raybans £3.........)
In the resort the facilities are very good but it's the welcome from the staff which made it such an enjoyable stay. People are friendly in all of the bars and restaurants and the army of staff who maintain the complex are more than willing to stop and chat.
My favourite escape hole was the sports bar. After a day sweltering by the pool or beach it was lovely to fall into the air conditioned bar and be met with with a cheerful welcome by the bar manager, Robert, and his staff. Do get Robert to order you a meal in the Chinese restaurant - he knows what he is talking about. Murty knocks out a mean cocktail and also entertained us with card tricks and bottle juggling skills. Also take an hour out to see Hassan play guitar in one of the bars.
Also - do go on one of the short nature walks run by Dev. They are a fascinating insight into the ecology of the resort.
I would really recommend this resort and, indeed, the island. We saw it as a second honeymoon and had a blissful 9 days.

Bernie W.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bernie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I've travel in a large group of organization.
We stay 3 days 2 nights in your hotel.
The service in the so call Dayang Restaurant was so bad.
There is a lot of flies in the food.
Everyone keeps busy keeping away the flies from our foods.
The first day, my stomach upset after consume the food.
The staff said they can't do anything because of flies season now days.
The management don't even wants to think how to minimize the files.
I did ask for the candles, but one of the waiter said it's only for dinner not for lunch time.
But, the others table has the candles.
What kind of services do you provide to your customers ?
It's so bad!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richardkmw68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2010

Dear Mr. Richard,

Thanks for staying with us in Langkawi. Sorry to hear that it was not to your expecations overall.

Regarding the flies issue, as I had mentioned in a response to a previous post, the flies this past couple of weeks have been particularly bad due to the extended dry season and now the onset of the rainy season. It will be a short-term thing but has been quite a niusance this year compared to the past. We have engaged local pest control companies to provide solutions and they have advise on some extra insect traps that may help but will not completely solve the issue. I have spoken to many other resort Managers on the island and all have said that they are experiencing similar issues for their outdoor dining restaurants at this time.

While the extra traps and food covers will assist, we are in a very natural ecosystem and we can only influence it so much before disturbing the balance. For example spraying and overfogging the resort areas will have adverse affects on the Butterfly populations and using chemicals uncontrolled in the forest will introduce these compunds into the wildlife's diets both directly and indirectly. So, expect that things will be back to normal soon as the rainy season progresses. In fact it is already better now than 2 weeks ago. .

Hope this helps to explain and sorry for the other service shortfalls mentioned. I will attend to these immediately and ensure that we continue to improve.

Kind Regards, Enzo Rulli GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We stayed in the Rainforest Studio and the room looks exactly as it is in the website's picture. Big, lovely and very clean. Room service were excellent. Buffet breakfast were ok, but have lots of flies which makes the breakfast unpleasant. Staff were very helpful especially the recreation desk staff.

Overall, we would come back and maybe stay the the water chalet next. Highly recommended for everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sun_kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,390 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 108 in Langkawi
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
11.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £85 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing