We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I'd like to start by reminding readers that is a 3-4 star resort. Some of the previous reviews seem to be unfairly evaluating the resort against 5 star standards. I would recommend staying at Berjaya if you are holidaying in Langawi because a) its the only resort with over-water accommodation - it was really wonderful to fall asleep listening to the sound of the water underneath your bed, b) it encorporates nature - if you are an animal lover this is the place for you c) for couples you have true privacy - because the resort is spread out you have a real sense of privacy and your own space, no neighbours to be heard or seen. Its difficult to get bored at this resort because it has many different dining options and well as activities so you can do as much or as little as you like. Having said that it is not five star, the resort is not new and yes it could do with a resort wide update. So stay here if you want a unique experience and you are happy to accept 4 star standards but don't stay if you have five star expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BecandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,865)
There are newer reviews for Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,418 - 3,424 of 4,865 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2010

Stayed in the Deluxe Chalet for two nights. Overall liked the place & the experience. Would definitely love to return for a longer duration. Also good vegetarian options for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forry71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The location is beautiful, rainforest and wildlife were a different setting for a resort. No real complaints but just not a high enough standard for us to go back.

Staff are average. Sometimes friendly but mostly indifferent. The housekeeping staff do an excellent job and are really friendly and cheerful.

Food was really disappointing. Average meals and definitely below expectation for this kind of resort. Atmosphere in most of the restaurants was dreary and drab. The Rimba lounge was pretty much the only exception, being cool and welcoming.

Facilities are good and the rooms whilst not as sparkling as the pictures, and definitely in need of some refurbishment, are comfortable and very clean. And we found the beds comfy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mack1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We stayed here for 10 days. It sells itself as a three star resort and in many respects it is far better than that. The beach and pool facilities are brilliant. The staff are very helpful and the setting of this hotel is fantastic.

I only have two complaints about this resort. First the rooms were shabby. They needed to be refurbished and while they were spotlessly clean you did not want to stay in them any longer than you needed to. Second, the resort restaurants were very average.

On the plus side it is very cheap to hire a car and you can tour the island and eat out at a fraction of theprice you spend at the resort.

The location of this resort is however a real plus. It is just round the corner from the Andaman and the Datai and its beach is much better than the one at the Andaman. The back drop of the mountains is fantastic - one of the best views ever. The resort is nestled in the rainforest and a tour with Dev is a must. You will see monkeys, flying lemus and hornbill.

Had a great holiday here and although its not perfect I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndrewandKeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We stayed at the resort for 6 nights as part of our month long honeymoon in the far east. We opted for the premier water chalets which in our opinion were worth the extra money we paid to stay in them. The rooms are large and one can enjoy a spectacular view of the Andaman sea. Nothing compares to waking up and having a coffee while being surrounded by the fantastic backdrop of the forest and seaview! The bathrooms very spacious and always clean as the room was. Our room attendant was very efficient.

The rest of the resort in our opinion was always clean and the forest always well looked after by the staff. We always noticed people working around its many acres of land. The beach also very clean and so was the pool area. We must also mention the staff who was always friendly and with a smile on their face; from the reception people to the pool boys-everyone makes you feel welcome at Berjaya. Keep it up.

The areas for improvement are where the food is concerned. Though the breakfast spread was varied and good, to be honest we did expect it to be a bit better and have a wider choice. We have stayed in various 4 star and 5 star resorts and we thought that for the money you pay to stay here you would expect a better and wider option for breakfast.
We dined at the Pahn Thai restaurant only once; again service exceptional and with a smile however when compared to the quality of other Thai restaurants we had dined elsewhere, we thought it could be better and food tastier. Also, it is quite expensive for the quality you get. We dined at the Beach restaurant once and it was the best out of the other restaurants with a good choice of dishes and relatively good quality. So all in all when it comes to food we would rate it as average.

Overall good stay however; great staff, excellent room and service and beautiful resort where one can forget about the world and enjoy a few days of peace which was much needed in our case following our wedding.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natalie26Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Really a nice place for relaxing, you won't find much noise there, in the outskirts of the city. You can enjoy varoius facillities in the resort itself e.g. they have there own private beach, various room options ....Forest view , sea view etc.
The only problem you need to walk too much from admin building to room and vive versa although they provide regular car service free of cost from there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChanchalNidhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We stayed at the Berjaya for 9 nights. We were a little concerned because some of the negative reviews but the resort excellent...we loved it. We stayed in the Rainforest Studio and it was exactly as described on the website. The housecleaning lady was efficient and extremely friendly. Our check in and check out was fast, the staff were friendly and breakfast had a great selection...We travelled with our 10 month old and she had a blast. The staff loved her and she loved the attention. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are there to relax and slow down your pace. Yes it's a little isolated but it has a pool, private beach, great range of restaurants, close to the cable car and close to a mariner which has a fantastic Tapas Spanish restaurant......

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tilbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £79 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing