We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort, but could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tanjung Rhu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great resort, but could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed here for 5 days, as part of our honeymoon trip in May. Its in a lovely part of the island, in the same area as the Four Seasons. We chose this over other hotels based on reviews we read here about the service, but in hindsight we may have been better off at one of the newer resorts in Langkawi, as we found a few things lacking.

The resort itself is large, with three pools, one of which that never seemed to be used, probably as the other two were better. The rooms are very spacious, the one we had was a little worn but as I understand it there is a refurbishment program in place. This resort is perfect if you are looking to get away from the world and just relax. The breakfast is great, but as it was low season I dont think the full service was operational, we only saw it kick in on our last day when a large group arrived.

As it was low season there were not many activities around the resort, at times it felt very deserted. There were a few evenings by the pool, where we were the only couple enjoying the 'happy hour' the resort had arranged to bring the guests together! Due to the refurbishment, two restaurants had combined into one, meaning there were two options for lunch or dinner. We are vegetarians, so found the menu a little limited, though the staff at the restaurants did their best to adapt dishes for us, after a few days the food did get boring for us.

We found the staff on reception to be very formal and useful only to a point, we didn't find they tried to help more than they needed to, which was slightly disappointing given we stayed during the low season the resort was only 20% or so full, and chose to stay here over other hotels in Langkawi becuase we had expectations from other reviewers that this hotel specialises in service and giving the best possible experience to honeymooners. I don't feel they went the extra mile to make our stay as special as it could have been. The staff on site were great, all were very happy and friendly. The best part of our stay here has to be the sandbar that opens up at low tide - walking across this to the islands is a pretty cool experience.

The island itself is amazing, we would recommend hiring a car and driving around, as that way you get to see it all. The mangrove tour was good, we combined it with the cable car so did a full day of sight seeing, hired a car for a day of driving round the island and pretty much relaxed the rest of the time, enjoying the beach and tranquility.

Choose here if you are looking to get away from it all and just relax in a comfortable setting with a great view on the beach. If you need a more modern resort, with more choice, a newer resort will suit you.

Room Tip: We had a seaview room, it was lovely waking up and wandering to the balcony and seeing the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Binal4,
I was interested in reading your review. I am sorry that it seems the front office staff were not responsive to your needs. This is very uncharacteristic and has already been discussed with the Team. We usually get top rated comments about all the staff and especially the front office team so we will consider your comments and ensure that we do not let anyone down again. On the other hand I am pleased that all the other staff at the Resort met your expectations.

It is true that in May it is a quieter season and in fact this is pretty much the same story across Langkawi in general. That said, Tanjung Rhu tends to be a Resort where people come to totally relax and enjoy the idyllic and peaceful surroundings and even in the busier periods it is usually quite "chilled out" and peaceful.

I am glad you enjoyed the sand bar as this is a great feature and also makes for a beautiful and unique panorama at low tides during the Full & New Moons.

Thanks again for your kind coments and I trust that you will consider us for the next vacation when you are looking for a relaxing break in Paradise!

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    281
    65
    30
    38
See reviews for
265
714
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

The view from both of the luxurious and stylish pools at this resort is one of the best I've ever enjoyed. Really stunning, in rain or shine. The only drawback was - and oddly this wasn't mentioned on reviews I'd read before - because this hotel is near the mouth of the river the ocean water was pretty murky and as placid as a lake. So if you're looking for great beach swimming or frolicking in the water, this isn't the place for you. But if chilling by chic pools, soaking up a world class view, and sailing or canoeing on placid waters works for you, the don't hesitate to go here!

The only let down were the restaurants. The food was pretty good but the ambience and style need a lot of work. It's fine for outdoor dining, as nothing beats an ocean view, but if it's raining you're stuck inside rooms that look as stylish and cozy as first class lounges of train stations. Quite depressing, actually.

The hotel rooms, situated in one big apartment stlye building, were also pretty ordinary in terms of style. They were nice and clean, the bath huge, but chic they were not, especially for a five star hotel in a region of the world known for hotels with cutting edge interiors.

But again, the pools, the grounds, the views and friendly staff made this a great holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finerworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Finerworld,
Thanks for your kind review and for staying with us here at Tanjung Rhu. I am also pleased that you had a great holiday overall. I agree that the views from the resort are just magic and even though I see it many times every day, I never take it for granted as it is just breathtaking - especially on a beautiful, clear, sunny day like today.

The water in Langkawi generally is not clear blue as in some other place in South East Asia however I would hate for people to think it is "murky". It is a phenomenon particular to the island due to the limestone make up of the islands that create the Emerald Green waters of the Andaman Sea as opposed to the blue waters found in many other areas of ther Region.

You will be happy to know that we will be upgrading the rooms and the restaurants progressively over the next year + and I think this will further meet your expectations and tick all the boxes. I trust that you may be able to come and experience these for yourself when you return to visit us here in Paradise!

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed at the Tanjung Rhu resort for a four days and overall it was a lovely hotel but there were some failings. We booked a room very last minute through Agoda so when we arrived, the receptionist only had received our booking within the last hour. They said that they did not have a room for us immediately, which was not a big problem as we used their facilities and had some lunch. After an hour or so we returned to reception to see if our room was ready and it wasn't - they said that a final inspection needed to be done on it so we amused ourselves for a while longer. We did think this was a little odd as the resort we were told was only 40% full and i was surprised that rooms were not ready for guests to check into immediately. We finally checked into our room which was lovely, the interior was done very tastefully and we had a lagoon view.

Upon closer inspection, we found a large hole in the wooden window frame. The frame was rotten and the wood was crumbling away. We reported it and the staff were most apologetic (considering they had taken time to do a final inspection of the room) and they gave us a bottle of wine to say sorry. They filled in the hole immediately.

We wanted to hire a car for two days to see the island, so we asked the hotel for a price for a hire car. The price they gave us seemed very expensive. We did our own research on hire car prices and they were a lot cheaper. We asked the hotel if they could match the price we had been quoted by another local company and after some deliberation they finally agreed. We felt that they were really trying to get as much money as possible from us.

The beach was stunning but unfortunatley when we visited the currents had changed which in turn had brought a lot of debris and general litter onto the beach. The hotel tried to keep on top of this by driving a tractor along the beach with a large rake on the back of it to collect the rubbish. This was done at least twice a day. However, when we went for a walk along the beach one afternoon we were shocked to come across two hyperdermic needles. When we returned to the hotel, we reported this straight away as someone could have easily walked on them. There did not seem to be much urgency to sort out this issue and were quite shocked at the relaxed response. Two hours later and still nothing had been done, i reported it again to another staff member who thanked me for reporting it and said that someone would deal with it. That evening we had dinner on the beach and still nothing had been done about the needles. We thought this was an appalling attitude and no one seemed to take responsibility for acting on what we had told them. The next morning, i would imagine the tractor had cleared the needles, but this was a whole day later.

Overall, the hotel was lovely as was the beach but the whole needle scenerio spolit it a bit for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear abi m,
Warm Greetings and thank you for the kind review. I was very pleased to know that overall you had a lovely time at Tanjung Rhu. I must take the time to apologise for the problems you experienced upon check in. I understand there was a 50 minute delay in allocating the room after you arrival. This was due to room category availabiity as a result of the short notice of your booking. This seems to also have led to the oversight on the maintenance issue in the room which I also apologise for. I trust this was not too much of an inconvenience and did not detract overly from the experience of your stay. We have discussed these issues at length with the Housekeeping Team.

Regarding the hire car, we have a supplier of the vehicles and do not set the prices here ourselves but I am pleased that they were able to arrange a competitive quote for you in the end. Prices for cars on the island can vary and this usually has to do with whether or not some hire agencies have proper licences, permits and insurances.

On the matter of the beach, this time of the year there is a bit of a current change that sees debris wash up occassionally on many of the beaches in Langkawi. We do try hard to continually clear the beach and usually are successful in reducing any inconvenience to our valued guests. I was concerned to hear about the items you saw on the beach and even more surprised to hear that we did not respond to your advise as the team are usually very responsive when it comes to Safety issues. We of course have mentioned this to all staff since seeing your review and advised them to act with absolute urgency on such issues always. I have tried to trace the department to whom you reported this. As I do not have your direct email address, perhaps you can advise me further as to who you reported this to so we can follow up directly with the team members concerned. My email is : enzo@tanjungrhu.com.my

Please know that we are committed to ensuring that the Resort meets all our guest needs and in maintaining this beautiful and pristine environment. After reading your comments, we will try even harder to ensure we manintain this little piece of Paradise for all our guests to enjoy safely again and again. Hope you too will come back "Home" to see us again one day soon.

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

I guarantee this is one of the best locations on langkawi. A stunning beach and great accommodation to match. We enjoyed the tour of the mangroves especially as our guide had a great deal
of knowledge and respect for the ecosystem here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernemillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Fernemillen,
Thanks for staying with us and for the lovely review. It was pleasing to know that the tranquility and beautiful surroundings made this a special place for your holiday. It was also great to know that you were able to spend some quality time in the mangroves with our passionate naturalists who are exceptional in increasing one's knowledge and appreciation for this very special and beautiful ecosystem. Hope to see you back in Paradise soon.


Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed at Tanjung Rhu Feb/March this year and had a really wonderful time. The setting is perfect, the staff cannot do enough to make your stay special and the food is amazing. Check in takes place in your room, so you are immediately relaxed and comfortable. Our room was large, had a great sea view and the best bed we have ever had on holiday (and we have travelled quite a lot). We loved the little box of chocolates with the turndown service and full marks for providing lots of towels in the bathroom. Yes, the hotel was rather tired and the renovation is much needed but that did not spoil our break and once work is complete the hotel will be terrific. It was very nice to have a choice of pool and there are more than enough sunbeds. One of the highlights for us was afternoon tea followed by a stroll along the bay - bliss! Wifi was hit and miss (mostly miss) but they are working to improve this. The mangrove trip is a great experience and Fendi was both informative and amusing. The All Inclusive package is great value and well worth doing. This is one of those magical places that gets under your skin and feels like a home from home. We will be back!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank summertimeSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear summertimeSuffolk,
Thank you for such a wonderful review and for letting us know what a wonderful time you had with us earlier this year. Apologies for the problems with the wifi but we are working on this along with the room upgrade works. I was most pleased to see you say that the Resort "...feels like home" as this is exactly the atmosphere we try to invoke for all our guests as we make them feel part of the Tanjung Rhu Family! We are looking forward to welcoming you "Back Home to Paradise" some time very soon.

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is our second time at Tanjung Rhu after 4 years. This time we had 2 toddlers in tow and stayed for 4 nights. There are some renovations going on currently hence the special discounts - again we went for the all inclusive package (all food, mini bar, non-alcoholic drinks).

First of all the location is among the best on Langkawi (we've stayed at 5 other properties, including the Datai and Westin). It is somewhat removed from Kuah town - great for those who intend on staying mostly inside the resort. You can easily rent a car and explore the island and there are other tours and activities which you can organize through the resort. The beach is probably the best as it is relatively private and clean. Staff bring you cold towels and fresh cut fruits. The view is particularly spectacular with a beautiful sunset. Most of the renovations do not intrude on your enjoyment of the resort and definitely not at night. The rooms / suites are showing their age and do need a revamp, but retain a relaxed quality (rather than luxurious feel). It's a solid 4.5 stars.

The best deal is the all inclusive food and drinks package which quickly pays for itself as you can forget about how much F&B cost (standard resort prices which is about 5x the cost for the same food outside the resort). The quality of the food / drinks overall is very good. The Rhu restaurant (fine dining) was open during our stay and the food quality remains high although some of the flavours and style were not as good as 4 years ago. I would not recommend the martini - stick to the tropical cocktails / mocktails. An area that needs improvement is the wait staff at the various restaurants. The occupancy rate when we were there seems to be less than 50%, yet during busy times there is clearly insufficient staffing to cope. Requests for drinks and other items took an unusually long time or sometimes forgotten as the few staff run around to serve. This was evident at The Rhu and was worse at the Sands (main restaurant).

There was an unfortunate incident involving local fauna in our room one night. Management was responsive and immediately gave us another room. This was followed up by a written apology, bottle of wine and no charge on the massage which we had already booked. There is genuine service and they are proactive with problems.

Overall, it was an enjoyable and somewhat relaxing holiday (those with young kids will know). For couples who want a more luxurious resort, The Datai is an obvious choice. Tanjung Rhu remains on our recommended list, especially with the all inclusive package. Let's hope the renovations will make it even better ... and keep animals out.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor - less accessible to local fauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhotoMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear PhotoMD,
It was nice to meet you and thanks for coming to stay with us once again. Thank you also for writing such a kind review. Your objective views were well appreciated and we will continue to work towards providing unmatched service and experiences for all our guests. There is no excuse for the service levels you mentioned in the restaurants and I am surprised to hear that you had these delays - we will get on to this immediately to ensure correct service level for all guests at all times. The upgrading works will ensure that the rooms are progresssively updated and more luxurious (and keep the local fauna in their own habitat). We look forward to displaying some of these soon for our valued guests to see. As Langkawi is a place you know and love well, I look forward to making this your Home Away From Home when you next need a relaxing holiday in Paradise.

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed at this resort last year for 4 nights in June 2012 room 402
When we arrived there was a member of staff ready awaiting to take in our lugguage etc
The place looked surreal, so idyllic and tranquil almost like a rainforest with water surrounding
They checked in our luggage
With a young 2 year old we wanted the least inconvenience possible
There was initially a bit of a scare when they misplaced one of our small hand luggage, but all was resolved luckily
All I can say is the staff here really go out of their way to make it exceptional, it is very personalised service. No one harasses you for tips, staff are so kind etc
We had the baha Suria suite amazing, the staff member came to introduce herself and gave us a map of the ground and explained hotel facilities
This is a resort that is very peace, tranquil with lovely unspoilt beaches etc
It is not for those wanting clubs like ayia nappa etc or nightlife or for those chavvy type people as everyone has class here
Was mainly couples or family
My husband wanted cigarettes one time and a staff member went to get it for him cheaper from outside
They give you a trial 5 min massage for free too
They have a little kids centre and a lovely beach and you can also pay to have a private hired BBQ on the beach how koo
The pool was amazing and food was 5 star and well presented like Gordon Ramsey style
Desserts etc food was 24/7 all inclusive u name it u got it
All varieties of food malai, Chinese, Thai English etc
We had amazing food at the saffron, rhu restaurants one of the best steaks ever
We ate so much it was unreal and at the end of the stay zero charges!
Was not crowded at all
Everyone was so friendly with my daughter Eliza
We look forward to coming again soon
Expensive but well worth the money any day

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billytisekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear billtisekar,
It always pleases me so much to hear from guests who have enjoyed the beautiful, idyllic, relaxing and tranquil nature of Tanjung Rhu because this is who we are and what we offer. I am so happy that you have enjoyed the Tanjung Rhu experience and that you were also able to experience the exceptional service and wonderful food provided by the Team here. I trust that you will be able to come and enjoy the wonders of Paradise with us again some time soon.

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
11.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.4 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
10.4 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
13.0 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjung Rhu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Rhu Resort

Property: Tanjung Rhu Resort
Address: Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tanjung Rhu Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanjung Rhu Resort, nestled in the shade of casuarinas over 2.5km white sandy beach, is one of Asia’s finest boutique resort renowned for its scenic views, impeccable service and gourmet fine dining. This is a place for romance, privacy and tranquility. The 136 luxurious suites Tanjung Rhu lies at the northern tip of the Langkawi island of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanjung Rhu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Rhu Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing