We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful beach and great food”
Review of Tanjung Rhu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Ranked #8 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

a good choice for an all inclusive (in terms of f&b) vacation at a beach resort

good stuff:
- great food and drinks!
- all inclusive package means you can order anything on the menu (except alcoholic beverages)
- menu options are varied and extensive
- beautiful beach setting with a view of islets and islands
- non-motorised boats available for a reasonable rate
- kid's club and other scheduled activities are available
- good service generally

Not-so-good:
- on-going renovation means a longer walk to the dining section
- some rooms have been upgraded. those that are not are outdated in terms of design and finishes
- rooms on the top floor of the block means a walk up 4 stories of stairs (there are no elevators) to get back to your room.

Overall, a great setting with the excellent food makes for an enjoyable holiday. We were fortunate to land a room on the 1st floor instead of the 4th!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower floor!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shockl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,354)
There are newer reviews for Tanjung Rhu Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Booked for a week and stayed in August. Did not know beforehand that it was undergoing renovations. If known would not have booked but in saying that the building works were relatively quiet. Found hotel too far from things. To even go to a shop had to catch a cab both ways. Hotel did offer events to appease guests during renovations but each time we tried to book they were booked out so that was very disappointing. Concierge was very unhelpful with us. Rooms quite dated but nice enough. Very expensive for what we got. Bar staff and restaurant staff fantastic and friendly

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stay at Tanjung Rhu with the family in August 2013. Would like to compliment them for their top-notch customer services. The hotel is currently undergoing major renovation and as such the rooms were at very competitive prices with airport transfers and complimentary island tour and other activities.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were ushered directly to our rooms and check-in was done comfortably at the room. Although the rooms that we stayed have not been renovated, they were clean and well maintained. We stay at the Bayu Suria rooms which are huge. It was perfect for a couple with two kids. The beach was beautiful and clean. The resort has 3 swimming pools but we mainly used the Sunset Pool which was more a family pool. The driver that took us round for the Island tour was very good and attentive. We were also surprised that the hotel also provided picnic lunch for the island tour.

Very happy with our stay at Tanjung Rhu and would love to return someday

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elenalsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Elenalsy,
Thanks for staying with us and for your fabulous review. I am pleased that you had a great family holiday and we look forward to seeing you again when you return Home to Paradise!
Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel was under renovation when we stayed so unfortunately, the best rooms with ocean view were not available. Upside was that the hotel was utterly quiet with probably only at a third of its full capacity and management granted all guests complimentary activities as a compensation of the inconvenience caused.
The hotel has truly the best beach in Langkawi and it is for guests only, with a breathtaking sunset.
The Sands pool, for adults only, is great and large enough (50 meters) for real swimming, very clean and well maintained.
The Rhu is an excellent top end restaurant but be prepared to pay the price accordingly. The location is perfect for those who look for calm and quietness away from the frenzy of Pantai Cenang.
As for the areas of improvement, the room we were staying was a bit outdated and humid. It may explain the need for renovation.
The Sands restaurant is also outdated and not so welcoming with ugly mesh nets all around for whatever reason. It would clearly need better decor and refurbishment.
We recommend this hotel especially after full renovation is completed.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phil647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear phil647,
Thanks for the review and I am pleased that overall you had a nice stay at Tanjung Rhu. As you have noted, the rooms and restaurants will be completely renovated soon to further enhance the overall guest experience. The reason for the nets at the Sands Restaurant is to keep the Minor Birds away from the guests and there is really no other way to do this. Most guests do not find the netting a problem but I understand your view. I am sure the next time you visit us in Paradise you will be even more satisfied due to the new rooms and restaurants. This will just make Tanjung Rhu and even better Paradise for everyone to experience and enjoy.
Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We thought that spending 300$ in a 5 stars hotel will give us a lovely happy ending holiday, but this was not the case! This hotel need urgently a general MANAGER! All hotel is under construction, only 4 part are open and only one is renovate! Of couse webgot the old part and I tell you room are very old, shower doesn't work, on the stairs window are broken, floor is dirty, furniture very old with a coach old with dirty spots! This is 2 stars more than what it should be! No chanel tv!!! How can this happen in a five stars hotel? Almost all hotel is close so to get to the restaurant you have only one way, very long way!
The only positif thing of this hotel is the location and beautiful beach, even the water is not blue!
I will not say that this is a 5 stars hotel ! It doesn't deserve it!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tiger2669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear tiger2669,
Thank you for your review and for outlining your concerns. I understand that you were moved to a new room on the second day of your stay and that this was more to your liking. I realise that you had not been advised about the upgrading works by your agent and this is a shame but it seems that that last few days of your stay were much more enjoyable for you both. I am sure that you will be entranced by the Tanjung Rhu magic the next time you come to stay with us here in Paradise.
Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I'm booked for a trip in early August , but they've just call to tell me they can't get the rooms renovated in time, so they'll offer me a downgrade to a Garden room ... how disappointing!

I am totally unhappy that just days before I leave for my vacation, I have to deal with this sort of stress.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank mozilla_monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear mozilla_monster,
Thank you for your feedback and may I once agin extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you due to the changes. The upgrading works unfortunately were slower than expected in releasing our sea view rooms for sale in time for August and we had no option but to offer a one level downgrade for all guests who had booked thius category. We had tried to get in touch with you via Expedia several times some time ago but received no response. We were finally able to get in touch directly in the past couple of days. I trust that you have been able to make other satisfactory arrangements for your holiday booking and hope that we can make this up to you when the Bayu Senja Seaview rooms are once again available later this year.
Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
enzo@tanjungrhu.com.my

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We've been there in January 2013. we liked the hotel very much. Food was delicious- 5 stars!
The staff was nice. Thanx to Manager Labazda Azzedine, who was very friendly and helpful.
The only dissapointed thing was that there were many mini lakes that didnt have barriers. it was not safe for my children 5 and 2 years old. They could fell down.
I hope administration will make area safe for kids.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank assel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear assel k,
Warm Greetings and thank you for you kind review. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed the Resort, the Food & the Service. Thank you also for the feedback regarding the water feature ponds at the Resort. We will look into this as well. I hope to see you once again when you return to Paradise!
Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
11.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.4 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
10.4 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
10.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
13.0 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjung Rhu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Rhu Resort

Address: Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £107 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tanjung Rhu Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanjung Rhu Resort, nestled in the shade of casuarinas over 2.5km white sandy beach, is one of Asia’s finest boutique resort renowned for its scenic views, impeccable service and gourmet fine dining. This is a place for romance, privacy and tranquility. The 136 luxurious suites Tanjung Rhu lies at the northern tip of the Langkawi island of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tanjung Rhu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Rhu Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing