We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Atmosphere.”
Review of Monkey Hut

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monkey Hut
Ranked #61 of 162 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Reviewed 15 August 2012

If you're looking to meet people for an unforgettable trip then this is the place to stay.
Monkey hut is a small guest house with only 2 rooms and a dorm room with 8 beds.
The rooms are basic but very cheap however you won't want to spend much time in your room as everyone chills together in the communal area or outside. They have a tv with astro and a dvd player with plenty of movies if you fancy being lazy through the day time or want a quiet night.
In the evenings it is often that everyone will sit outside with instruments and cheap duty free drinks and get to know everyone. The staff are great and will recommend the best places to go, you can even join them in the evenings to visit the best local and tourist bars for an ultimate experience.
If you are looking for 5 star accommodation then this is not the place for you. If you are looking to make new friends and socialize then this place is perfect. We planned to stay here for 3 days and stayed for over a month.10/10 from me! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0veLife-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Basic rooms at cheap prices but the best bit is the socialising. It's a friendly place right where you need to be in Cenang. Very close to the beach, bars and shops. Manager has excellent local knowledge and will make sure your stay is memorable.

Don't bother staying in another place where you end up being shut in your room, there's loads of placed like that. Stay here, save some money for better things and have the best time in Langkawi.

You wont regret it. I was meant to stay a few nights but ended up nearly being an ex-pat in Monkey Hut.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baileysblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed at the Monkey Hut for a couple of nights earlier this year and met some really incredible people. The owners are wonderful and welcoming people and the facilities were perfect for the price. Good location too! Can not recommend highly enough

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henners101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I came to Monkey Hut in January 2012 and intended on staying for a few days - I left three months later. On my first day in Langkawi I had an accident and ended up in hospital with a broken leg. The day I discharged the people running the guesthouse were there at the hospital waiting for me - god knows how they knew I was coming out on that day. Over the next few months these guys looked after me as my own family would have done - These were some of the nicest people I've ever met and I have made some lifelong friends.
As for the guesthouse, It is fairly small with two rooms and an eight bed dorm but because of this there is a very intimate, almost family like atmosphere. The size of the place brings people together, not like other places where everyone sits in their little chalet and don't interact.
It's certainly no 5 star palace but if you're traveling on a budget I would recommend this place all day long. Nearly everyone that checked in, intending on staying a few days, extended their stay.
I have to say there is a mysterious element about this place that I have found in very few other guesthouses - it's very easy to get stuck here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

very good place to stay budget traveller.. , cheap .clean and friendly too...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeisforliving_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fredskrigare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.0 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
0.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
0.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Hut

Address: Lot 19 KG TG Mali | Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 162 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing