We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem, great Malay food”

Maya Restaurant / Cafe
Ranked #106 of 423 Restaurants in Langkawi
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The restaurant is near by Holiday Villa Hotel Langkawi. It was about walking distance from the hotel to this restaurant. 7 mins walk. It a local restaurant with a local Malaysian cuisines. A lot of people been talking this restaurant in their review especially who stayed at the Holiday Villa Hotel.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, great Malay food”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Maya restaurant is a great restaurant if you would like to try authentic Malay/Chinese cuisine. It has a bit of a street food atmosphere, big round tables are perfect for groups up to 10. The friendly owner recommended us different things to try and to share. The pepper beef, morninglory, prawns, fried rice were very good in taste and perfectly cooked. We ordered about 8 different dishes, had a lot of beers (1 can tiger beer is just 3.5 ringgit) and the total bill was 230 ringgit, which is awesome value for money :) :)

Highly recommended !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tobi1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Going the extra mile”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Having been to Maya three times in the past we decided to return for our dinner one evening. My main reason for returning was because of the amazing crispy fried squid. We decided to have squid & chicken satay for starters & it was superb. For our main course we chose from the Malay menu & both dishes had the option of being either medium spicy or hot spicy so we chose medium spicy which, for us, was just right & the food was bot tasty & fresh.
My wife then fancied fried bananas for pudding but was told "sorry, bananas finish".
What a disappointment.
A few minuits later Maya herself came to our table & said that she had sent a boy out to get some bananas so if my wife still wanted them, which she obviously did.
Service above & beyond the call of duty, which deserves recognition

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Manicmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“great ice blended drinks & amazing langkawi curry”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

They open for both lunch and dinner. Great chicken satay and awesome slurpee-slushie fresh ice blended fruit drinks, especially the passion fruit/guava! The guava milkshake was also amazing. The best dish we had there was the langkawi curry-it was so flavorful and tasty! The cheese nan is just nan with bits of processed cheese on it but still good with the curry nevertheless. The mango chicken was decent (fried chicken with bits of fresh mango). Their pad thai wasn't the best and the papaya salad small and a bit salty. You definitely should wear pants to avoid mosquito bites at night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redeyeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good malay food”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Maya is one of the first places we go to each time we return to Langkawi.
The staff are friendly, and helpfull with suggestons if you are unsure about what to eat.

I love the papaya salad, very refreshing. Prices are very reasonable, and the quality good. They don't sell beer, but there is a supermarket opposite where you can buy some and take it in, they will even supply an ice bucket.

Maya loves to put pictures up on the wall, so you can see who has been back and when. Great place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Ambience. Food was also good.”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Reasonable price but limited choice in menu. Portions were smaller. Customers are from all parts of the world.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TennisPRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maya Restaurant / Cafe also viewed

 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Maya Restaurant / Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing