We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They forgot our rice!”

Maya Restaurant / Cafe
Ranked #114 of 437 Restaurants in Langkawi
Cuisines: Malaysian
Description: The restaurant is near by Holiday Villa Hotel Langkawi. It was about walking distance from the hotel to this restaurant. 7 mins walk. It a local restaurant with a local Malaysian cuisines. A lot of people been talking this restaurant in their review especially who stayed at the Holiday Villa Hotel.
Restaurant details
Description: The restaurant is near by Holiday Villa Hotel Langkawi. It was about walking distance from the hotel to this restaurant. 7 mins walk. It a local restaurant with a local Malaysian cuisines. A lot of people been talking this restaurant in their review especially who stayed at the Holiday Villa Hotel.
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They forgot our rice!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Service was late. Had to wait almost an hour. Mozzies everywhere. Corny photos and phony statements on the walls which does not represent the quality of the service. And they forgot our rice order!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HaPPyMe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Three times a visit.”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our eating out philosophy in Langkawi has been just head out and try a few different restaurants,we do take note of the reviews but often they can count for nothing as everyone's interpretation of a good dining experience is varied.
We headed towards this quieter end of Pentai Tengah one evening and have returned two times since to this charming 'family style feel' run place and have eaten some really nice Thai and Malay cuisine,which gave us the impression that the person in the kitchen had a fair idea what he or she knew what they were doing,it's also cheap unlike some of the more so called recognised eating establishments on the glitzy end of the area.
So,conclusion if your on a bit more of a budget but want to eat some great food, then give this place a go I really liked it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlesheyTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Try the samosas”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stopped in here for dinner one night when we didnt feel up to walking all the way into Cenang beach.
The staff were pleasant and friendly and the food good.
We ordered samosas for entree, which were amazing.
There is a large selection of mains, so should be something for everyone.
And I absolutely LOVED my mango smoothie (with vanilla/coconut icecream). Would go back for those everyday if I could.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pumba103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Good and Inexpensive Food”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is my 14th holiday in Langkawi and only came across this restaurant for the first time this year (I must have gone past it with my eyes shut!) and visited in on 2 occasions. I couldn't fault the first occasion but the 2nd visit was spoilt by bad attitude.

Positives

Something to suite all tastes
Food tasty and good especially the chicken satay
Good vaue for money
Some of the staff are very pleasant and welcoming
Able to TYO alcohol
Clean surroundings

Negatives

The only negative was a young waitress ( not the Muslim girl) who on our first visit was pleasant enough however she was positively rude on our return which spoilt the occasion. She actually lost 2 local clients when they very pleasantly asked for a menu and got a response of the girl slamming menus down on the table and storming off. The clients looked at each other and immediately walked out without even looking at the menus.This girl was in a bad mood! She was definitely a teenager with a real bad attitude which needs to be addressed. We will not hurry back this year because she did cause a bad atmosphere however by next year she might have left and I am sure that we will give Maya's another visit.

Overall great food at a great price in local but pleasant surroundings. Would have given an excellent rating if the service had been better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MumtoScruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, great Malay food”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Maya restaurant is a great restaurant if you would like to try authentic Malay/Chinese cuisine. It has a bit of a street food atmosphere, big round tables are perfect for groups up to 10. The friendly owner recommended us different things to try and to share. The pepper beef, morninglory, prawns, fried rice were very good in taste and perfectly cooked. We ordered about 8 different dishes, had a lot of beers (1 can tiger beer is just 3.5 ringgit) and the total bill was 230 ringgit, which is awesome value for money :) :)

Highly recommended !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tobi1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maya Restaurant / Cafe also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Maya Restaurant / Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing