We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cocktails and great music”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Babylon Mat Lounge - CLOSED

Babylon Mat Lounge
Cuisines: Bar, International
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cocktails and great music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Very friendly bar staff with lots of tricks while making drinks. My daughters thought they were cool. Really good value cocktails. Great music while you sit in a mat with your feet in the sand. We have been there for the past three nights and will probably go every night until we leave. The band was very friendly too and were happy to chat when not playing. A happening place, love it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank angotula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Really liked this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We went twice with our kids, once for a late lunch and then again for dinner. Both lunch and dinner are really not why most people go to Babylon, I belive it is more of a night-club... but I liked it anyway. Great roti and the best burger I've had in Malaysia! Really nice staff and great reggae music on the beach. At one point a goat wearing a peace symbol necklace strolled through the place...
This is not fine dining, all the furniture is made of driftwood and palates and the decor is... not for everyone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanuckFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Babylon bar is about as good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Beautifully located, nicely but humbly furnished and staffed by friendly laidback locals and expats. Open all day for all your chilling needs and the atmosphere heats up (not too much) after dark when there's usually a live band and good cocktails. Fire poi performers on the beach, bar flair while you wait for your cocktail, beautiful scenery and an incredible atmosphere. What else could you ask for? Perfect (oh wait, the toilet could be nicer... That's about it).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanJMorris89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warung Cafe and Babylon Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

The place I have been searching for..... for a very long time.

Came across this slice of paradise during my holiday to Langkawi this year. Although relatively new the bar looks like it could be decades old and has huge charm nestled just off the beach but subtlely on the roadside of Pentai Cenang.

Nothing more to say than the staff were great, the food was great, the location is ideal and if you fancy a late night drink, head down to the sister bar, on the talcum powder beach, Babylon for some live reggae.

Karim. Thank you so much for your hospitality to my family and I. You really do have a unique place.

See you soon.
Alex and family.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AMcNess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly reggae bar.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Nice bar on the beach, cheap drinks, good music, friendly staff. They also sell shisha! Great place to hang out!

Helpful?
2 Thank L0veLife-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babylon Mat Lounge also viewed

Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
Kuala Teriang, Langkawi
 
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing