We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New, Clean, and friendly resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simfoni Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Simfoni Resort
Ranked #84 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“New, Clean, and friendly resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

This is my first time to Simfoni Resort, it's new in langkawi, highly recommend to group friends anf family! get a apartment with 4 rooms, 2 bathrooms, with breakfast for RM480/night.

Room & living room
it's clean and tidy, comfortable bed, and nice wardrobe!
with LCD at the living room and a dining table for 6 persons.

Breakfast
Need to improve for the breakfast quality and choices.
I stayed for 3 nights, everyday maintain the same choice for: fried mee, fried kuey teow, fried rice, porridge and bread only; with limited choice!

I came to breakfast every morning around 9pm-9:30pm, porridge empty, and left only fried mee, luckily it's still warm, taste so so only, and the flies making us disgusting.
The management should improve the food quality.

Facilities
Overall is ok, but no swimmming pool in this resort, if have, will get some additional mark!

Room Tip: 3/4 bedrooms apartment highly recommened
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caren33gan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    15
    23
    13
    8
See reviews for
25
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed there for one night on the 27th Dec 2012. Its an apartment concept, comes with two bedroom (queen size bed in each room). The room was well maintained and clean. It has a living room with sofa and a dinner table. A 32 inch LCD Tv. The bathroom come with hot shower, however the the water is more of warm then hot.
The location of the resort is near the town, however you would not be able to locate it at the main road. If you are driving from the Jetty, look out for the signage on the left hand side after Hotel Continental. You have to make a left turn in to find the hotel.
I would definitely go back again as the service for good.

Breakfast is provided however not much of a choice. They had fried noodles, breakfast with kaya, butter and jam, banana cake.

However its worth a stay. Try booking the hotel using Agoda as you may get discounted rate for the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TC5118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

This place sounded right when we were searching because we wanted somewhere to accommodate 3 adults for 4 nights. Reasonable price, well away from the touristy beach area, a brand new serviced apartment. It was what we wanted. We booked and arrived a couple of days before Christmas. Staff, genuinely friendly and polite, quickly showed us to our apartment. It had two bedrooms, a sitting/dining and kitchen area and one bathroom/toilet.
At a first glance all seemed well, the place was new and the furniture and fittings were not flash but modern. However, there was still a damp concrete smell in the building. It was obvious that it was hastily finished and the floors were covered by 'caravan carpet' before actually drying out.
The rooms looked ok but the bathroom, which only consisted of a hand basin, toilet and a stand alone basic shower, was in a shocking state. We called the staff to clean it and two room maids rushed in to do the best they can. Seeing we arrived about 7pm, they could have had enough time to clean between occupants but it looked like it was completely forgotten.
The strange thing about this place; when we asked for something, they were quick and pleasantly obliging, however, until we checked out they never came to clean or service the rooms of their own accord. They never made the beds, changed the towels or emptied the bins. We actually had to ask to have clean towels and toilet paper, and remind them to empty the bins. Although, we saw the service staff in the corridors and expected them to clean the rooms after we left, we came to find them just as we left them.The corridors were oviously never cleaned or vacuumed either because there were hundreds of huge spiders hanging off the ceiling everywhere. The famous Christmas tune "Let it snow" repeatedly played in the lobby and corridors for the last two days we were there. The breakfast, which was included in the room price, was so boring and so poorly managed, we just skipped it and went out.
This place could be much better. The staff are all really nice people and mean well but it is baffling that it is so poorly managed.

Room Tip: Two bedroom basic apartments have Asian bathrooms. Shower and toilet in the same area without shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mckrungtep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Just wanna to say their services & cleanliness are really bad. Once I enter the room, the smell of insecticide are so heavy. And I found a small cockroach in my room. I stay for 3 days, asked for room services many times but still no people come to clean up our room. How about the breakfast? The breakfast are fried noodle, fried rice. Most are all Malay food. And the only thing I can have it as my breakfast are only bread. They will never refill the food until you asked them!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Staying here over the Xmas period, and was pleasantly surprised to have been given a whole suite, (TV, lounge, balcony, dining area, kitchen sink / fridge, 1 double room, 1 twin room, and shower room) despite having only assumed myself and my friend were paying for just a twin room. whether this was a mistake on our part or by the hotel i'm not sure, but getting all of the above for what we paid is terrific, especially if you watch the pennies, dollars, and ringitts like I do.

The hotel itself, appears to be a relatively new build, and in places seems to have either been rushed to finish, or just forgotten about, sealant around the bathroom door, or wiring for wall lamps in the bedrooms.

The mattresses are firm, but I've actually had some of the better sleeps of my travels here, pillows are very soft, and all linen and towels provided were clean and good quality.

Bathroom is an ideal size, and shower has decent pressure, and adjustable (hot & cold), unfortunately we had a bit of a leaky sink, drips through the u-bend pipe, but nothing drastic, and I've experienced much worse. None of the lights worked in the main living/dining area, however for us wasn't an issue, as bathroom and bedroom lights and aircon all worked fine, and we never were in need of lighting during day (as we were mostly out).

Location in Kuah is OK, close enough to the little convenience stores and the few shops / shopping mall that Kuah has to offer, also only 5 minutes from taxi rank, for me there wasn't a great deal to see or do in the close proximity, however taxi's were cheap and frequent enough to explore the rest of what Langkawi had to offer.

Complimentary breakfast, but very limited, and found myself not overly bothered if I missed it completely.

Staff and general cleanliness of Hotel are fine, staff helpful and friendly whenever we enter or leave the hotel and willing to help out with any queries.

Would possibly stay somewhere a bit livelier if I was to come again (Pantai Cenang) as we expected a few more to be about, especially over the festive season.

Overall, nice place and fairly well run with pleasant staff, a few maintenance tweaks here and there and this place would have gained a higher star rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NotAnotherNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

The toilets are dirty, the pillow case are dirty. It seem like no one clean the pillow, and the toilet. It suppose to be a new apartment, sooner or later it will change to a lousy one with very bad cleaning services. It doesn't seem like a resort. No astro. The wifi are lousy as well. The only great deal was it was an apartment with 4 bedrooms and it big for kids to hang out. The possivite remark was they aloud late check out. And lastly - the breakfast served LOUSY!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celinetsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Langkasuka
Hotel Langkasuka
#64 of 106 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Dayang Bay Serviced Apartment & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Baron Water Front
The Baron Water Front
#11 of 19 in Kuah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.7 mi away
Season Inn Langkawi
Season Inn Langkawi
#25 of 141 in Langkawi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chomelle Hotel
Chomelle Hotel
#60 of 141 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simfoni Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simfoni Resort

Property: Simfoni Resort
Address: Lot 1-13 Jalan Taman Pelangi | Kelibang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Simfoni Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Simfoni Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing