We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jala Restaurant

Jala Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 422 Restaurants in Langkawi
Price range: US$30 - US$49
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Nestled between an ancient tropical rainforest and the turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea, Jala is the latest addition to the dining venues at The Andaman Resort. Jala Restaurant is only available for Dinner and you may make a reservation with us to immerse yourself in a truly unique setting with our signature sand floor and exceptional Malay hospitality. **Special Announcement: Please be informed that Delivery and After-hours service are not available for Jala Restaurant.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A true dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This restaurant is a true dining delight, and despite the fact that I don't eat seafood, this did not stop me from enjoying the service and experience of dining at Jala Restaurant.

Eating at Jala is not just about the food, but the overall dining experience.

To begin with, service was unbelievably attentive. The staff make you feel like you're the only customer around! When I initially made the booking I enquired as to whether there were food options for people who did not eat seafood. At that point in time I thought Jala exclusively served seafood. The staff member who took the booking said that there were things on the menu for me, so I went ahead with the booking.

When we turned up the next day, we handed our thongs over as the restaurant floor is sand. The restaurant is undercover but open right on the beach! It was such a care free and lovely feeling. The view of the beach is splendid but don't forget your mosquito repellant!

As we were seated, one of the waitstaff actually handed me an ala carte menu and said 'I believe there is someone at the table that doesn't eat seafood?' When I mentioned that it was me, he kindly pointed out the non sea food options before letting us decide.

Jala restaurant actually has an uncooked seafood buffet display at the front, where the seafood lovers can choose their fish/lobster/prawns etc, before discussing how they would like it cooked and served with the sous chef who is manning the area. My husband choose this option whilst I ordered off the menu. When you choose your seafood, you also get to choose a number of accompaniments. The chef was more than pleased to make recommendations.

The food was fantastic and the seafood fresh.

At some point during the evening the duty manager introduced himself to welcome us to the restaurant, as well as to invite us to provide any feed back.

The Andaman should take pride in their staff who made such a wonderful impression. At one point in the evening a restaurant staff member grabbed another light/candle to bring it over as it was getting dark so we could see better.

Reception and concierge were friendly and most helpful in directing us to the restaurant when we first arrived, and then helping us to organise a cab upon leaving. The hotel driver who drove us home was pleasant, polite and friendly. I believe his name was Ahman/Ahmed.

The restaurant even has an area for you to wash the sand from your feet as you leave.

The only drawbacks is that the Andaman is quite remote and the cabs will charge about 70RM from Cenang Beach - although I think its remoteness only adds to the wonderfully secluded atmosphere - no traffic, no hawkers, no buzzing from water sports or crowds!

The other 'draw back' is obviously the fact that this is a fine dining restaurant and they charge accordingly.

I would recommend the Jala experience to anyone!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndamanLangkawi, Manager at Jala Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Sue C,

Thank you for your very valued feedback here on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to get detailed feedback that we can learn and grow from whether it positive or constructive feedback.

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your entire experience here in Jala Restaurant. Though we are a dedicated seafood restaurant, we also have selections for those who do not enjoy seafood as much, so we are happy that you decided to venture to The Andaman to let Jala provide you with gastronomical experiences. Of course we are specialised in seafood and love to guide our guests through the various options from the daily seafood display and our recommended preparations for each individual seafood.

The fish we provide is caught by local fishermen that work exclusively for Jala, and provide the high quality and fish according to the sustainable guidelines that we have discussed with them to ensure a healthy marine life for future generations to explore. The à la carte menu is more of a marriage between the Malay and Danish cuisine and offers the culinary highlights from both kitchens. Here we have both non-seafood and vegetarian options as well for our guests who are interested in trying those alternatives.

The open restaurant concept with the sand floor was something that we knew right from the start, was an element that we absolutely needed to provide for our guests, being as we are very lucky that the folks at National Geographic list Datai Bay as 9th best beach in the world. We wanted our guests to have the experience of dining on the beach with the view over the Andaman Sea. Being in a 10 mill year old rainforest nature follows in all ways, so in certain seasons we do have some mosquitos visiting Jala, but we are prepared with mosquito repellent here in Jala for those who need it.

We are more than happy to hear your comments on our attentive and dedicated waiters and waitresses in Jala. We have done specialised trainings here in Jala to ensure that we reach the expected levels of service and give the memorable moments to our discerning guests.

From arrival to departure we are happy to hear that we met all your expectations and were able to give you a memorable evening with gastronomic delight.

We hope to see you soon in the near future for an equal experience.

Culinary regards,
Chef Rene
rene.knudsen@luxurycollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    98
    31
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect dinner and sceneray”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very quiet and good location , directly on the beach. Design is well thought and very nice.
Seafood was really fresh, perfectly cooked. Side dishes are sophisticated and presented perfectly.
Dessert list is amazing.
Staff super friendly

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Aurelie75008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndamanLangkawi, Manager at Jala Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Aurelie75008,

Thank you for reviewing Jala Restaurant here on Trip Advisor and giving us an opportunity to give the positive feedback to our staff that will most certainly motivate and inspire them to preform even better.

We are happy to hear that you had an outstanding experience in Jala Restaurant, and that you enjoyed ambience, service and the culinary aspects of Jala. When we first envisioned Jala and the goals we set out to achieve, it was clear to us that we wanted it to be an incorporated part of the historic rainforest surrounding it and with an open restaurant, so our guests can appreciate the unequalled view of the Andaman sea while being provided with gastronomical experiences.

We are lucky enough to be connected with a group of enthusiastic young fishermen that provide us with only the most sustainable and best quality of seafood available in the area. We are very happy to hear that you noticed that and that you enjoyed the preparation of the seafood as well as the side dishes.

Like the rest of the menu, the dessert list is an inspiration from both Malay and Danish cuisine, and we always look forward to perfecting and developing these elements of the menu, which is a gratifying process - it gives us great pleasure to learn new ways of showcasing both cuisines in their best ways.

Thank you for your positive comment on the attentiveness and friendliness of our service staff. They are very happy to get these positive feedbacks and it will most certainly boost their motivation and encourage even better experiences in the future.

Culinary regards,
Chef Rene
rene.knudsen@luxurycollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We ate here on two evenings. The food is fantastic as you can choose your own fresh seafood - the chef or staff will recommend cooking method. The restaurant floor is sand but there is a shoe concierge for your shoes. The restaurant is on the beach so a lovely view of the bay. Service is friendly and attentive. A memorable meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita-Marie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndamanLangkawi, Manager at Jala Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Rita-Marie Y,

First of all, thank you for your positive feedback here on Trip Advisor. We are very appreciative when our guests take their time to respond with valuable comments that we can learn and grow from.

We are happy to know that you had a memorable evening in Jala and that you enjoyed, the ambience, service and food that we offer. We take great pride in offering the best and most sustainable seafood that we can get from the waters surrounding Langkawi and we are passionate about guiding guests through the best preparation methods, sauces and side dishes for each of our products. It is a good way for us to provide a little knowledge about the local seafood and cuisine of Langkawi.

The sand floor of Jala Restaurant is something that we are very proud of as it gives you an extraordinary feeling of dining on the 9th best beach in the world, by National Geographic. You can dig your feet into the unique sand while enjoying a well-prepared meal in the open restaurant with the captivating view of the iconic bay.

We hope to see you back at The Andaman and Jala Restaurant for another memorable moment in the near future.

Culinary regards,
Chef Rene
rene.knudsen@luxurycollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We visited in April 2014. The setting is absolutely lovely. Make sure you go before the sun goes down so you don't miss the view. The seafood selection was excellent but very overpriced. We had seen similar quality elsewhere on the island at a fraction of the price. The sides are also a little small. That said, you are paying for the location. Service is very good. We had our 2 year old with us and they didn't mind him playing in the sand next to our table. The only problem we had was that we had asked for candles to be put in our son's dessert (it was his birthday). This was forgotten. We would have liked to make a fuss of him.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndamanLangkawi, Manager at Jala Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Emmms,

Thank you for taking the time to review Jala Restaurant at Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate when people give us constructive feedback that we can develop from and get even better.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant overlooking the Andaman Sea, and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the sunset that is spectacular from Jala Restaurant.

The seafood that we get in Jala has been a developing project since we opened in January 2013. We were determined to make sure that we not only got the best quality possible on Langkawi, but also wanted to make sure that the seafood delivered to us was 100% sustainable. Unfortunately the global population is getting too big, and the world’s oceans cannot sustain this great number. Many marine biologists believe that we are already beyond the point of saving the oceans, but at least we want to maintain or even try to restore the natural life of our oceans.

To do this we have a group of young, dedicated and enthusiastic fishermen working only for Jala Restaurant, so we can give very specific instructions about what we want in terms on quality and sustainability. We have encouraged them to fish only using fishing rod, and release the fish that are too small, so they can keep reproducing. For the same reason they are releasing female crabs and spiny lobsters to contribute to a hopefully healthy marine life in our oceans in the future. Of course it’s a bit pricier when you have demands like this, but the price is a sacrifice we are willing to pay, if it means that we are able to contribute to sustainable thinking and support the local community.

For the side dishes we are developing a new menu, where we are changing the portions sizes so the guests will enjoy even more in the future.

We are of course sorry that we did not remember to put a candle in your son’s dessert, so he would get an even more memorable birthday evening.

Hopefully we will see you at The Andaman and Jala Restaurant in the future, so we can correct that error and give a new and improved experience in Jala Restaurant.

Culinary regards,
Chef Rene
rene.knudsen@luxurycollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent and outstanding place !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Visited Jala Restaurant in April 2014 and it was a very pleasant and new experience to visit a restaurant with bare feet :-) I dined at all the restaurants at The Andaman and dinner at Jala was without doubt the best. So tasteful, well-balanced and well-presented dishes. You enjoyed every mouthful of the 3 course menu. The staff was smiling, professional and attentive, so the evening was a great success.
The environment in and around the restaurant is also contributing to make the evening both magical and romantic. The moon sent its rays across the beach and the waves swayed lazily toward Datai Bay´s beach just outside the restaurant.
Thank you Jala for a fantastic evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndamanLangkawi, Manager at Jala Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Gunda K,

Thank you for you very kind review of Jala Restaurant.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the experience of dining bare feet with your toes in the sand of the 9th best beach of the world, according to National Geographic. It was an element that we wanted to be a part of the overall dining experience in Jala, so you have the feeling of dining on an extension of the beach.
The a la carte dishes in Jala Restaurant are a marriage between the Malay and Scandinavian cuisine, and lots of new and exciting culinary projects was born from that fusion.

We realise in Jala that a dining experience doesn’t only rely on the quality of the food, but also the professionalism and attentiveness of the service staff, so I am very happy to hear that you noticed the great work of our dedicated and enthusiastic service staff, and that they completed your evening.

Being such a great beach undeniably gives some advantages that you won’t get in many restaurants around the globe. And the magical hour around sunset in the months of April, May, June and July are quite spectacular. The sunsets between the tip of the bay and the little island connected to it and gives a stunning view of the setting sun.

We are truly happy to hear that you had a fantastic evening and hope you will be back for another experience in Jala Restaurant in the near future.

Culinary regards,
Chef Rene
rene.knudsen@luxurycollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jala Restaurant also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Jala Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing