We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good confort rooms but noisy and bad breakfast if any” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Villa Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Villa Langkawi
Ranked #81 of 141 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good confort rooms but noisy and bad breakfast if any”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

The villa itself would have quite potential to be a cheap, confortable choise in the second (or rather third) row. But the nice rooms and good facilities are put off by the noisy mosque next door which will wake you up early in the morning. Also the breakfast was disappointing and when we got the dining room 20 before 10 there was almost nothing left even though we were not the only late comers. The staff didnt seem to be keen on filling it up again for the remaining 10 guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    37
    61
    23
    23
See reviews for
58
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Booked this property after a long survey, assuming its a new one & will get good services.

The review is only for services because the staffs are well in nature & try to help you on every aspects.

The disappointing part: as we booked long back for a deluxe room but when we arrived they gave us family room where we found 2 king size beds with hardly spaces; which was not useful for us even though it is high in cost as per them.

Told us no deluxe room are available!!!! this i was not expected.

How ever after interacting with one couple; came to know they got a deluxe room after our booking.

And this part is surprising!!!

No choices in breakfast & hardly a choice for vegetarian.

Rooms are good & the property is tiny & lovely.

Overall Okay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jayshan_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Nice pool there, all adult and children also enjoy the swimming pool.
Villa decoration also nice. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Location not so good, must planning to rent a car.
Got a lot of mosquito >,<

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

I was told by some of the locals that this hotel used to be a fine dining restaurant that didn't last long before it became The Villa. My friends and i booked a Family Suite room (Two king sized beds) for 4 days 3 nights and we enjoyed ourselves despite of the little noise next door.

We read the reviews about the mosque NEXT door and thought maybe it wouldn't be so bad because this was the only hotel that had double king sized beds available. Every morning, noon, and evening... the loud speaker next door lets loose like a boombox.

The Villa's location is kinda out of place because here you have a modernly designed hotel inside and out but its surrounded by shacks, village houses and shrubs and trees. We drove pass our hotel a few times because of all the greenery everywhere.

Besides from mosque directly next door to our room, We were satisfied with our spacious room. The bathroom had two different shower heads with good water pressure. Large mirror with a lot of counter space for all of our girlie body and facial cream and lotions. The beds were large and comfy with the thick comforter which helped with the freezing AC but not the pillows. I prefer light and bouncy pillows, not heavy dead weight pillows. The TV had a select of channels but it freezes from time to time and sometimes the voice isn't synced to the programs. And last but not least, the mosquitoes. I was appointed the mosquito killer because i kept killing one mosquito after another.

The staffs were friendly, informative and cooperative. The reception and breakfast area were surrounded by glass windows which provided a lot of natural lighting which it reflected the pool beside. There were chairs and tables beside the pool for people to sit and hangout which we did and there were also a semi secluded area for people to sun bath or sun dry or whatever. The corridors were plain and simple but echoed at every sound. And I really like their red, black and white painted walls.

So overall, if you don't mind the morning calls at 6AM, this is a place to be because the beach and tourist areas are just 5 minutes away by car. Go straight to the end from The Villa is the beach. Go straight and turn right at the intersection are the bars, pubs, restaurants, resorts, shopping, shopping and shopping and the Underwater World *RM28 for MyKad holders and RM38 for foreigners* (P.S: It's not worth it)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeCarina90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

The Villa is a lovely new and modern hotel just off the main beach area Pantai Cenang. The hotel has a modern, minimalist look and feel...you get the idea it is very peaceful and zen-like environment when you arrive. Sadly, this is where it stops. If I could recommend this hotel based on looks, it would score very well.

We booked a superior room, but it was shockingly small. We were given a deluxe room for a minimal daily charge to add on and this room was excellent in terms of size. The AC works very well and water pressure/temperature was fine. But unfortunately the easy-to-do details are missing. There are only 2 bath towels given per room, along with a bath mat. No hand towels or wash cloths. Furthermore, there is only a 3-in-1 shampoo/gel dispenser in the shower. No other amenities are provided, not even hand soap for the bathroom sink or tissues. Things like this take so little effort and would be an improvement. Twice during our 4 day stay, we ran out of toilet paper. Also one day, no towels at all were left so I had to go to the front desk to ask for them. These are relatively small issues that can easily be resolved.

The breakfast was adequate each day. A small selection of western egg/meat/bread/fruit kind of buffet, along with some asian dishes. Coffee, tea, and orange drink as well. Nothing special , but very reasonable and satisfying. The restaurant is located in the main "courtyard" of the property. Light and airy and all windows opening up to the hallways of guest rooms around it. The bad part here...the smell of food wafting into the room in the morning, along with the sounds of guests.

The staff are by far the best part of this property. Very nice girls at the front desk. Level of English is fine and they are good at providing local information, making bookings, and arranging taxis, etc.

What will seemingly doom this hotel to attract returning guests is the poor planning of the location. As mentioned before by other guests, the property sits next to a mosque. LITERALLY less than 4-5 meters away, the loud speakers point directly at the side of the hotel. The call to pray rumbled our entire room. I would liken it to the volume of a fire alarm. I have lived in the Middle East for many years and am not bothered by the mosques as it is a part of the islamic world, but this is way beyond what any reasonable person (muslim or not) would tolerate. No possibility of sleeping through this! Furthermore, after the main calls, the imam's prayer were on a lower volume which could still be heard reverberating through rooms on the left side of the hotel. This goes on 5 times a day for more than 15 minutes after the booming call. Clearly there are many guests who are not going to tolerate this noise level. There is really no complaining about it as it is entirely out of the control of the hotel. You either put up with it or find a new hotel...the mosque will not change, and the hotel cannot do anything about this at all.

The other major design flaw is the 'courtyard' approach to this property's design. All the rooms are in corridors around the restaurant and lovely swimming pool area. However, the corridors are stone and echo loudly with all the sounds coming from the restaurant and pool. We are not ones to stay around the hotel much anyway, but for those travelers who look at the hotel as part of their entertainment, there is not much quiet time to be had. Also, the only windows in the rooms are to the corridor and not to the outside wall of the hotel. One small window in the room that gets light that comes in through the courtyard...makes for a very ill lit room.

On the flip side of this design, apparently the management doesn't mind that people bring in their own food and drinks to have around the pool. Have seen several groups of people with their own beers and snacks sitting at tables around the pool area. This could be fun if you want to have your own drinks without bar prices. However, this perk creates more noise in an already noise-prone area!

All in all, I want to love this hotel because the staff were so friendly and I really love the design and spaciousness of the deluxe room. I simply cannot recommend it, nor will I come back due mainly to the noise level and lack of attention to room details.

Room Tip: Standard and superior rooms are extremely small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

was there for 5 nites with the family, it had pretty much what we needed, family room, wifi, pool, clean rooms. even though breakfast was limited, we could eat pretty much all what was on offer and a good mix of local malaysian and usual western fares of good quality. the hotel is still quite new so things still work well, and hotel staff are friendly and responsive to your needs. location is about 1km from the cenang/ tengah beach area, so wise to hire a car thriughout stay as we did. and theres a laundry place about 5 mins walk away. the best part is it is beside a surau (small mosque) which is great for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREECE&CYPRUS
Level Contributor
1,518 reviews
311 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,857 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We only spent one night here and it was an extremely disappointing stay.

Staff: They were friendly but they know very little English.

Room: It was spacious however you could not say that it was clean. The floor was dusty and neither mobbed and we did not feel comfortable out here at all.

Bathroom: It was ok but there was very little water coming through the shower. No pressure at all and it was difficult to adjust the water in the pipe and due to the low pressure, we had the tap water pouring below instead, making it difficult to have a proper shower.

Noise: The second reason we left was because of noise pollution.
You see, firstly we were awake at dawn (5:30 am – 6:30) from the prayers coming from the loudspeakers of the mosque which is right next door.

Then there was much noise coming from the kitchen utensils and cutlery, plus extra noise from the staff in the kitchen which was near our room. No respect for guests as if they come from another planet and they cannot understand that the guest is here to relax and enjoy their holidays.

Noise from the doors which were creaking and you could hear clearly what was going on next door. It was a nightmare in all.

Breakfast: Really poor. It was actually the WORST I had in my entire life. In an attempt to get just bread….it could honestly not be eaten even by animals.

There was no way to stay here even if we had the room for free for a week.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.1 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
0.2 mi away
Casa Fina Fine Homes
Casa Fina Fine Homes
#16 of 141 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Village Langkawi
Green Village Langkawi
#96 of 141 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Langkawi Chantique Resort
Langkawi Chantique Resort
#3 of 141 in Langkawi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airis Sanctuary Resort
Airis Sanctuary Resort
#82 of 141 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Molek
Villa Molek
#2 of 5 in Pantai Tengah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Langkawi

Property: The Villa Langkawi
Address: Lot 993 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villa Langkawi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Villa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing