We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit far from the beach”
Review of The Villa Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Villa Langkawi
Ranked #69 of 148 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Jakarta
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A bit far from the beach”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This new hotel looks fresh with its modern minimalist style. Check in was quick and efficient, you can also book for taxi or tours from the frontdesk. I got an upgrade to family room which was spacious enough for four persons. Bathroom was also clean but there are no amenities except for shower gel. Beware of mosquitos and prayers from neighbouring mosque. If you are a light sleeper you will be awaken daily around 5.30 am by this prayer call.

Breakfast was ok but running out fast and the refilling takes awhile. Wifi is available in all areas. Pool is a lap pool type.

Location is not near the Cenang beach. It is about 30 minutes walk and i am a fast walker. Better take a cab for about RM10.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Jkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    38
    62
    23
    23
See reviews for
60
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The place was very modern and clean, reception staff were lovely and accommodating, pool was very nice and the breakfast in the morning was pretty good value for the price. However there were some drawbacks, the main one being that there is a mosque situated next door so you do hear the prayers very easily. I wasn't really affected by any but family members I was staying with found that the 5.40am woke them up every morning. They chose to wear ear plugs after the first night whereas I am quite a heavy sleeper and would wake up momentarily and then fall immediately back to sleep.
I didn't find it that disruptive but I definitely think that it is something people should be made aware of.
Also mosquitoes always managed to make there way into the room somehow but that was easily fixed by just spraying the room with natural bug spray once returning to the room in the evening.
There are also some very nice and affordable restaurants (more local than others) which are next door and very close. A convenience and laundry are also a few minutes walk down the road.

Overall I think it is quite a good new hotel that is very comfortable with a few problems.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmgeschke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

stayed for 3 nights in family room. yeap the room a bit dark as my room was at the back. the rooms facing the pool are actually for deluxe/standard. breakfast was ok and pretty basic. we dont mind at all about the adzan as we are muslims. easy for us to get up early and start out activities. the pool is not kinda big but adequate in size for 5 6 people at a time i think. i picked this hotel/bb as this was the best which offer 2 queen beds near Chenang area. all in all its quite good for people who arent fussy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duraath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The villa itself would have quite potential to be a cheap, confortable choise in the second (or rather third) row. But the nice rooms and good facilities are put off by the noisy mosque next door which will wake you up early in the morning. Also the breakfast was disappointing and when we got the dining room 20 before 10 there was almost nothing left even though we were not the only late comers. The staff didnt seem to be keen on filling it up again for the remaining 10 guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Booked this property after a long survey, assuming its a new one & will get good services.

The review is only for services because the staffs are well in nature & try to help you on every aspects.

The disappointing part: as we booked long back for a deluxe room but when we arrived they gave us family room where we found 2 king size beds with hardly spaces; which was not useful for us even though it is high in cost as per them.

Told us no deluxe room are available!!!! this i was not expected.

How ever after interacting with one couple; came to know they got a deluxe room after our booking.

And this part is surprising!!!

No choices in breakfast & hardly a choice for vegetarian.

Rooms are good & the property is tiny & lovely.

Overall Okay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayshan_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Nice pool there, all adult and children also enjoy the swimming pool.
Villa decoration also nice. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Location not so good, must planning to rent a car.
Got a lot of mosquito >,<

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I was told by some of the locals that this hotel used to be a fine dining restaurant that didn't last long before it became The Villa. My friends and i booked a Family Suite room (Two king sized beds) for 4 days 3 nights and we enjoyed ourselves despite of the little noise next door.

We read the reviews about the mosque NEXT door and thought maybe it wouldn't be so bad because this was the only hotel that had double king sized beds available. Every morning, noon, and evening... the loud speaker next door lets loose like a boombox.

The Villa's location is kinda out of place because here you have a modernly designed hotel inside and out but its surrounded by shacks, village houses and shrubs and trees. We drove pass our hotel a few times because of all the greenery everywhere.

Besides from mosque directly next door to our room, We were satisfied with our spacious room. The bathroom had two different shower heads with good water pressure. Large mirror with a lot of counter space for all of our girlie body and facial cream and lotions. The beds were large and comfy with the thick comforter which helped with the freezing AC but not the pillows. I prefer light and bouncy pillows, not heavy dead weight pillows. The TV had a select of channels but it freezes from time to time and sometimes the voice isn't synced to the programs. And last but not least, the mosquitoes. I was appointed the mosquito killer because i kept killing one mosquito after another.

The staffs were friendly, informative and cooperative. The reception and breakfast area were surrounded by glass windows which provided a lot of natural lighting which it reflected the pool beside. There were chairs and tables beside the pool for people to sit and hangout which we did and there were also a semi secluded area for people to sun bath or sun dry or whatever. The corridors were plain and simple but echoed at every sound. And I really like their red, black and white painted walls.

So overall, if you don't mind the morning calls at 6AM, this is a place to be because the beach and tourist areas are just 5 minutes away by car. Go straight to the end from The Villa is the beach. Go straight and turn right at the intersection are the bars, pubs, restaurants, resorts, shopping, shopping and shopping and the Underwater World *RM28 for MyKad holders and RM38 for foreigners* (P.S: It's not worth it)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeCarina90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.5 mi away
Nadias Hotel
Nadias Hotel
#17 of 103 in Langkawi
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
0.0 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#1 of 24 in Pantai Cenang
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Village Langkawi
Green Village Langkawi
#102 of 148 in Langkawi
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Fina Fine Homes
Casa Fina Fine Homes
#18 of 148 in Langkawi
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Langkawi

Property: The Villa Langkawi
Address: Lot 993 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villa Langkawi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Villa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing