We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor experience”
Review of The Villa Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Villa Langkawi
Ranked #62 of 162 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was alright, it looked nice and clean but the nightmare starts when you try to sleep. Sound proofing is horrible so you can hear everything. The prayer sounds from the mosque were really really loud at 6am and it goes on for a while and the sound from the massage chairs also do wake you up.

Internet there was also horrendously slow.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank markleo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Imagine a hotel which explains away a no water problem by saying that this is a normal occurrence that happens when all 30 rooms are fully booked. How about throwing in the lack of electricity too into the mix ? Welcome to The Villa Langkawi...a hotel far removed from any normal semblance of doing business.Imagine installing massage chairs which smokers inhabit to puff away on duty free ciggies which then pervade the rooms nearby.Can you blame them when there are No "no smoking signs around"? Welcome to The Villa.Every single complaint was with a standard response.....The Management blah blah. Never again will I stay in this dodgy establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lfc2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Never again will be the 2 words to describe this place. Not only was the room not maintained and toilet seats dropped off everytime we sat on it, but to top it off it also had no water supply and electricity was cut off in the middle of the night.

What was intolerable too was that cigarette smell from smokers smoking outside the chairs practically choked us all in the room the whole night. My 7 month old baby had to unfortunately go through that for 2 nights. We did not manage to move out after the first night as it was a long raya weekend and most of the hotels were fully occupied although it was intollerable by far.

This hotel is also located next to a mosque and they start their prayers at 5 am. Blaring loudspeakers made it impossible to sleep and 4 of us including the young baby had already woken up by 5.30am. As there was no hot water when the water finally came back on the 2nd day, we had our shower in the cold.

I will never ever come back to this place again. Not for the price of 390 per night. Definitely not up to expectation.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Paying RM 330++ per night having no water supply for every room on first night after checked in. Agreed on no maintenance being done well, internet coverage low, not on demand helping customer e.g not borrowing an extra chair & the receptionist telling scare their indoor white plastic dining chair to be dirty by gaving reason chair is hard to clean...bla...bla. Having bad experience in this villa langkawi. Not much facilities. Price not worth it.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Kennyccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel did not do maintenance, the room was dirty. and the price of the hotel was not valuable. I shall say i will not coming back to revisit this hotel.

My room was dirty and no maintenance for the furnishes. The toilet bowl had stained. The bed and pillows are too soft. Besides, room for 2 are not spacious at all.

The room had lots of mosquitoes. Tho we are not staying near to the bushes. Our room located near the swimming pool thus very noisy. And the when you walked into the main entrance, you will see swimming pool and besides was the reception. But, the water will slash you if there are guests in the pool.

And, the breakfast varieties are less and served cold. which Im not satisfy for that.

Do not expect any amenities from the hotel.

Personally think, the price and the standard are not there. And, the hotel located far from beach. You can't walk there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eeyanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Overall it was a nice hotel.Room was spacious.Clean,as its a rather new hotel.But not sure how it would be like one year down the road.We checked in and found the floor very sticky and sandy.Nice huge toilet.But not very well cleaned.Toilet bowls had stains inside.I would say housekeeping was bad.Even toilet rolls were not replenished.The worst part is,the extremely unfriendly staffs.One incident was,i was carrying my toddler,just about to have breakfast and requested for a baby chair from a staff at the reception as there was no other staff around.Instead of offering to help me get a chair,she pointed to me where the baby chair was and expected me to get it by self.Not very happy about the way they treated their guests.All of them were rather rude.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KKow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The room door was difficult to close. Lighting in the room is too dim.
The massage chairs were placed near to the room, causing unnecessary noise when people sit on it. Should get proper place for those chairs.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarojiny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.2 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
0.4 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
0.5 mi away
Nadias Hotel
Nadias Hotel
#19 of 105 in Langkawi
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Federal Villa Beach Resort Langkawi
0.7 mi away
Langkawi Chantique Resort
Langkawi Chantique Resort
#5 of 162 in Langkawi
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Lodge Motel
White Lodge Motel
#5 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Langkawi

Address: Lot 993 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: £34 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villa Langkawi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Villa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing