We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very peacefull place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ocean Residence Langkawi
Ranked #10 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very peacefull place”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We went there for 5 days in the big appartment; space is tremendous and the view is gorgious; the place is quite and peacefull and the staff very helpfull; not expensive for what you have.
The only inconvenient is that it is a little far from the beaches (price to pay for this upmost quite place); we took a car during one day to do the tour of the island.Better is to take a car or motorcycles for the whole stay. It is not more expensive than several taxis and gives more freedom. Special thank to April who does all she can to make this stay a special and troubleless moment. As it is not a hotel, service is limited, but full of attention.Thank you !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle071218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    75
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
53
58
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Family Suite is the ground floor of the building in the hotel picture.
It has a huge master bedroom, huge hall, huge living room (one corner serves as bedroom), kitchenette, tiny office room with desk, tiny bedroom with only a (drawer) bed, and three bathrooms (one shower only, one toilet only, one combo).

The view south to the sea with fisherman sheds floating and islands in the background is just fabulous. The location is very peaceful (or isolated if you wish), no neighbors visible. There was some expansion building activity on the hotel area, but no noise was caused. The pool is spacious and pretty - and actually the only service available. This place is a getaway, really. Very friendly staff.

Some suggestions for a visitor to check out:
- full payment in advance required (contrary to the terms visible in booking.com at the time)
- no cleaning nor cleaning equipment provided ("usually stay shorter than whole week"). I suggested a self service brush+dustpan made available.
- there is a self service laundry, I only found out the last day!
- there were no mattresses for the pool side beds as they were just brought in
Family Suite:
- toilet only bathroom frequently occupied by a frog lurking on the cool porcelain of the seat. I suggested a network to guard the window.
- the tiny bedroom and the living room beds have no wardrobe/drawer capacity

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Esa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Ocean Residence is the place to go for peaceful and relaxing accommodation. We booked the Executive Suite and were pleasantly surprised at the size of the apartment, it had double doors onto a balcony that looked out to a fabulous views that we enjoyed hour after hour -the view was just as spectacular from the infinity pool. The grounds were well maintained and the staff were helpful and friendly. We stayed for 10 days and were sorry we hadn't booked for longer. As the location was 6km from Kuah and 16km from Pantai Cenang having a hire car (not terribly expensive) made our stay easier when it came to picking up groceries (the apartments are self catering), going out for dinner and generally exploring the island. We are already checking dates for when we can return to the Ocean Residence and relive this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 4 & 1/2 days. We booked Studio B, but on arrival was given a much nicer room in the eco house. It was the first time anyone had ever stayed in the room, so i think they were using us to test it, but we didn't mind as the room was large and comfortable, and the bed was great. The bathroom however was very small and the shower was tiny!
The views are amazing, but the location is a bit far from where you want to be. The residence is close to Kuah, the main town of Langkawi. On arrival we were advised to drive into town for food, however the town is a bit dodgy and not very nice. There is nothing to do there, and its hard to find somewhere nice to eat. Cenang Beach is a far nicer place to go, although its more of a drive.
The staff were very friendly and helpful but a little nosy. Every morning we tried to open the curtains and sit outside for breakfast, but each time we did several of the workers looked in to our room, one lady in particular stared repeatedly as she watered the garden - made us feel a little uncomfortable.
Theres a lot of construction going on at all hours, they're building cheaper accommodation behind the eco house. Sadly its very close to the house and will obviously become a noise issue later when its finished.
The road going down to the residence needs some work - it needs to be concreted and widened.
A hire car is an absolute must for this place - it would cost a lot to go to and from and getting around the island using taxis.
The place was clean and safe, and the pool is amazing. We enjoyed the residence, but i think if we were to stay in Langkawi again we would probably choose somewhere closer to Cenang Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms in the eco house are new and very nice, the main house looks much older.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The place is very calm and peaceful and well worth the money.We booked the apartment for 3 days and had a great time there.The apartment is sea facing and has a nice balcony with chairs so you can sit and enjoy the view (which is absolutely stunning in mornings and evenings).Although it is a bit out of way from the major tourist attractions, it is quite easy to find out.Major plus point is the owner and the staff!! They are very helpful and friendly.We were received by Jarina, when we had to check in a couple of hrs earlier than their timings and the apartment was already readied for us!! Paul (the owner) helped us with the car rental the same day and we had a sumptuous lunch together in an Indian hotel (where he personally took us just after the check in).Overall we had a wonderful vacation thanks to ocean residence..we will surely go back again!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naganjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

A good place to hide away for those who love peace in mind. Location is in a small alley, opposite to the KDN Building (Immigration Department of Langkawi island.
It could become popular place if signboard is clear from street view.

I'll come back :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FiFiPham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
10.4 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
2.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
9.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.0 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
3.3 mi away
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Residence Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Residence Langkawi

Property: The Ocean Residence Langkawi
Address: No. 1 Ocean Front | Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ocean Residence Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Residence is a real Unique Place to spend Your Holiday in Langkawi. Beautiful tropical Garden with 3 Swimming Pools and each Room&Suite offers a private Terrace with an amazing Ocean View ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ocean Residence Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing