We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LADY NEED MORE GENTLE AND A MAN KEEP THE ATTITUDE”
Review of T Star Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
T Star Cottage
Ranked #14 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I have check in on 4th March 2014 late night , my flight make me feel so tired. my impression of this hotel is 0 when i was in taxi but the impression so wrong due the hotel very silent and make us feel so peaceful.

The reception so helpful and friendly it's make my self very happy even am so tired that night. the room i very good and clean.i got a room as per my request to have a room near the reception.my room number M-02.

in the morning 1 reception guy help me regarding the late check out he give me the explanation that i need due i have attend the interview at other hotel and it's make my check out will be late.so he make me understand and tell me what should i do.

But a little bit of adjustment for LADY in reception , please smile even your not feeling well. in services line we have teach to be the SUPER PROFESSIONAL LIAR.why i say that it because even we don't like , hate to do the job , tired , and everything but we still need to pretend to do the job and serve the guest. so lady please change the attitude.

the room and surrounding area i very good,very clean,and very peaces. it's good for the bag packers group.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrsamran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for four days in february and loved the place. It looks great, the staff is really friendly and bed was comfy. The bathroom is a nice size and the cold shower a treat in the heat. The tiles in the bathroom got quite slippery though. The monkeys were great entertainment ( this will probably change as we did see tourist feeding them and they will become more aggressive as a result) only downside was the heat in the afternoon, not very pleasant to be there around that time, but morning and nights were nice and cool didn't need the fan even. A mozzie net is a must at night but there weren't as many as I expected. Would definitely recommend to budget travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter298570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

book for 4nights.
excellent place for budget.
no problem with mosquitoes at all.
very nature type of hotel
good place for sleep and move around.
dnt expect room service, hot shower.
a lot of restaurant nearby and 10min walk to beach.

Room Tip: choose s13.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ragu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over new year as was only accommodation we could find that wasn't crazily priced. As mentioned, the first thing you are recommended to do is open the doors to let fresh air in which is a first and a little suspicious. The room odour is not pleasant and we thought it was more a damp/musty smell caused by the lack of natural light or ventilation. We presume T-star is an offshoot of the T-shoppe chain of shops especially as this place is behind a T-shoppe. A budget type concept that is very popular with the local monkeys, the highlight of our stay was an irate Swedish gent trying to shoo a hairy little visitor away with a slipper :) Probably only suited to those who are short of other cheap options.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

One of the first things you are told when you check in is to open the doors for 15 minutes.... The rooms stink of some kind of wood treatment, the loos are so slippery BUT the place is so leafy and cool, except the half recliners on each individual terrace are impossible to ist in and the matress is in the floor. With a little thought and improvement this would be one of the best places to stay in Langkawi. Come on guys, a bed frame, a bathroomfloor and simple chairs on the terrace and I would give you a few more stars... What is that smell????

Room Tip: Ground floor is good enough, no point paying for first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Pros
Cheaper than most

Cons
1. Loud music is terrible. starts at 11pm and doesnt stop till 4am
2. No room service. You have to clean the room yourselves
3. Beware of monkeys. They steal your food items and can go through your belongings if you leave the windows open
4. No hot shower.
5.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mustafa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I'm not too positive nor do I dislike this motel. It's a so so to me. The cons are:
- mosquitoes
- too small for two people (1 should be fine) hence the crampy room gets stuffy and hot day/night time but you are unable to let the doors open since mosquitoes are abound
- bathroom is nicely done just it's not practical. you get wooden flooring in between the pebbles and stones - but then it gets slippery when you shower unless you opt not to use soap or shampoo - I hope the management will do something about this.
- the wooden door is quite hard to close from inside. I was woken up few times at night by other people trying to close their doors (banging more like it)

Stay here if:
- you are a single traveler
- you can get yourself a mosquito spray

Staffs were attentive. Distance to chenang is walkable...nice and easy stroll is the way to go.

Room Tip: Don't leave your food on the balcony, the monkeys being monkeys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
8.5 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#3 of 17 in Kuah
312 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
8.1 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
7.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,328 reviews
0.8 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T Star Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T Star Cottage

Address: Jalan Teluk Baru | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range: £7 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — T Star Cottage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your T Star Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing