We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Hotel”
Review of T Star Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
T Star Cottage
Ranked #15 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My friend and I stayed here coz we found it on Bookings.com for a good price. We were pleasantly surprised. Quite small rooms but it has a fan, outdoor seating area and private bathroom. Would definitely recommend this place to couples on a budget and it is really cute and in a quiet location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bec H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

If you like a nature and "kampung style" of accommodation this is a good place to stay.but it is quite far from pantai tgh actually. So u should rent a car or bike.if u dont know where to rent, there are also a shop that have this kind of service just before this hotel's entrance.

But beware of the monkeys..dont leave any food at your verandah.otherwise your food will be snatch away like mine. And fun fact no.1 : in the morning, u can check out a cute kind of black coloured monkey with white coloured mouth at the tree in front of the receptionist counter.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank farhanimft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you're looking for a cheap and particular place this is perfect for you!! In the middle of the nature T-Star Cottage is a traditional malaysian accomodation. The room is quite small with a low bed and essential bathroom but perfect for an adventure couple of travellers, there are some eco-rules very interesting and definitely, you have to close all the windows when you go out cause around you monkeys are the most!! Very funny wild place ;)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed on 24/3/2014 till 27/3/2014 and was surprise with the room, and style of the hotel. spacious bathroom. Very clean and friendly staff. Blend into nature and you see monkeys everywhere. Perfect place for relax. Enjoyed my stayed there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lurdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I come to Langkawi on 4/2014. That is my first time travel abroad alone.
First, I didn't expect too much on this guesthouse, because its price is so cheap. However, when I receive my room, I was so surprised because it so neat and nice. Especially the bathroom, so nice.
Clean, peaceful and blending into nature (you can see monkeys everywhere). It's the perfect place for lonely tourist, who want to find a separate place to think and to relax.
One minus point is that it's a little bit far from the centre.

Room Tip: Don't even try to use fan-room to save money. The climate of Langkawi is extremely hot on summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeHoangThach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed there from 1st -3rd may 2014 and was surprised with the spacious toilet besides the small room but as an overall, it is a nice budget motel. Checked in the upper level room and we had air-cond + tower fan. Fortunately for us there was no mosquitoes as we closed the door everytime and never open the window. The recent weather in Langkawi was quite hot so the cold shower was a blessing. We werent attack by monkeys but only passing by through our verandah. It is advisable not to put yr trash outside the room as they rummage. Advisable also not to leave the door open at any time to prevent mosquitoes coming in. We rented a car and fortunate that we have space for carpark even it is limited. Few spas along the road but would recommend to go to Alun-Alun Spa.

Disadvantage was the tiles in the toilet was slippery and was not on even level so be careful after your shower. 1st night of our stay, it rained heavily in the early morning and the roof was leaking. It was minor drops of water but manageable. You can actually hear your next door neighbour talking.

The hotel could improve more by providing air cond for the below rooms and making sure the air conds are working in a good condition. A small LCD TV would be good (placed at the wall left entrance) but then again their concept is eco friendly.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Reen373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We discovered T Star by accident and what a good find it was. Room very comfortable and lovely to have our own little fish pond outside. The visiting monkeys provided entertainment every morning, do not leave anything out they will take it!! We booked in for 10 days which was a bit of a mistake as I think we could have got a cheaper rate for the last few days. Strange that we got the room cheaper in the first place if we booked on line.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms do not get monkey visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marian_kuyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
8.5 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#3 of 17 in Kuah
297 reviews
8.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
530 reviews
0.8 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
7.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T Star Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T Star Cottage

Address: Jalan Teluk Baru | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range: £8 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — T Star Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your T Star Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing