We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting, unspectacular food!”
Review of Cba

Cba
Ranked #66 of 426 Restaurants in Langkawi
Price range: US$0 - US$150
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View
Description: Where art meets semi-fine dining on a collision of culture and epicurean fantasy. Cba livens up the party scene on the island offering a chillout vibe amidst a stunning backdrop of ocean and sunset, before transforming into a hip and happening nightspot. Cba is also a refreshing beachfront venue for lunch and dinner, serving International cuisine as well as Asian favourites.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
313 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Nice setting, unspectacular food!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Staying at the hotel, we fancied a quick bite one night and found the food poor at both the Cba and the hotel itself. My advice, go next door to either the Casa del Mar, which was excellent, or walk further along the beach to a place called D-Grill, which was ok and another place which i think was called the Brasserie which was good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoftusroadW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    50
    26
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Be careful and check your bill!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

On special occasions we often go to Meritus Pelangi Cba restaurant at the sea front. They upgraded it quite a bit since we saw it in Jan 2014. The food is very good but on the high price side. Water (still) is quite expensive with 24 RM per 750 ml bottle, in all other restaurants it hardly ever exceeds the 10 RM for more ml. Wines by the glass is expensive too, again 24 RM per glass but the house wines are very good.
Because it is low season they offer 30% discount on drinks all evening on boards around the hotel. It does say on selected beverages and the little start say, please phone us but no number. We made a picture of this because when we ordered a bottle of wine instead of the usual 4 glasses, no one said anything as they took our order. We asked for the wine list separately and again nothing was said about no discount.
After dinner came the bad surprise, no discount on beverages at all. So we asked the waiter and he took the bill and came back with 30% discount on water. We asked again how about the wine and the answer was, No discount on wine list only on all drinks in Menu list which contains also cocktails and strong drinks like whisky. A bit shocked we went to the front desk and explained that it feels very awkward not being told that on the wine list there is no discount.
The answer was even more rude, sir all over the island discounts are not on wine list so he saw no problem at all!
So be very careful when you order drinks in Cba and ask if discount applies, then when bill come check it as they do not apply the discount to the items that do fall in at category, very bad behavior and very customer unfriendly. Meritus Pelangi should not have to resort to these kind of practices at such high prices!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob_de_Vries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Awesome ambience”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Its always good to chill at the beach on a comfy couch sipping chilled malibu or exotic wines watching the sun go down...Its perfect for evenings on holidays;)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aditya_Rajasthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejen
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“OK - but don't order pizza”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Everything except the pizza (deep frozen) was delicious (burger, satay, sandwiches, pasta). Expensive compared to restaurants in Pnatai Cenang

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KandMWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food in a Sublime Setting”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I took a long walk up Pantai Cenang one evening enjoying the breeze and sun-dappled beach to explore dining options at Cba. Admittedly I baulked at the prices but sometimes when you're on vacation, it is ok to indulge and splurge once in awhile. And splurge I did. It is soooo relaxing to kick back and take in the panoramic views at this restaurant with the swathe of sand expanse spread around you dotted with gently swaying palm trees. Occasionally buffeted by sprightly, salty sea breezes this is the perfect place to take that ultimate chill. Paired with a glorious view of the setting sun and the changing hues of the sky adds further enthralling magic to the experience.

I ordered the chicken risotto. So lovely and delectable. Completely recommend for a memorable experience with great friends, family or a loved one.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rizby_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cba also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Cba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing