We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I recommend to every one, great value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Ranked #32 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I recommend to every one, great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

As we stayed 17 days in Aseania from 13 Dec till 30 Dec 2009, I think I have an overall view becouse I had much time to observe everything well.
Location: excellent, as the hotel is just near a T-shape junction and the most visited Cenang Bech main road is beginning at the junction. On this road tere are plenty of shops, restaurant, bars, resorts, hotels, markets, travel agencies, money changers and so on in a row. To the other direction is the road near Tengah Bech which less visited, less shops, restaurants but worth walking there.
Staff: well, I could manage them excellently. I think you should find a kind manner of talking to them, smiling and you get back the same from them. They always helped us when we wished and were very friendly. No any bad experience.
Room: we had a family room ont he 2nd floor of the right wing of the hotel. The family room was VERY BIG, with 2 kingsized beds in it, plenty of room ( we could have made a party int he room). It was in good shape, no peeling painting, no any bad furniture, everything worked. The bathroom was totally OK, no any problem, had water pressure both in shower and tap, toilet workd, no any leaking. All the room and bathroom were clean, the housekeepers cleaned it every day, changing towels and if you wished they changed the blankets and sheets. We had a nice balcony overlooking the pools and the garden.
Pools: I think it is the best overall. Big and there are series of pools in a row. As we were there in peak season, everythink worked, the 3 slides, the waving pool, the waterfalls, the lazy river (teher was current made by a machine). Pools were very clean, we saw the staff cleaning them twice a day (morning and evening). As the pools are in a tropical garden and it is usually windy, it is absolutely normal that there were fallen leaves int he water. But who cares it !
Breakfast: very good and tasty, have a brand choice. We enjoyed it really. Fresg fruits (watermelon, sweetmelon, papaya and pinapple), noodles, rice, eggs (omlette and fried egg), pencakes, homemade cakes, bean, toast, butter, jams, cornflakes, juices, tea, milk, coffee. So I think everybody can find his/her choice.
Overall: very nice memories we had, were sad to leave and of course would spend here not only days, but months. I recommend to every one, great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kovilevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    290
    283
    131
    127
See reviews for
371
204
41
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

Hotel is as others have described - not very clean, not in great repair. Bedding and towels etc stained as was a lampshade (like someone had poured coffee over it). Towels not sufficient - no hand towel.
In the hallway someone had put their room service plates out for collection and they were there for at least 40 hours. An animal had gotten to them and so bones were on the floor. The staff cleaned up the bones but left the plates!>?
Service was as others have said, although I went with low expectations so wasn't disappointed. Was told I needed a printout of booking even tho receptionist had their copy in her hand, no assistance to find room (was very hard to find) despite heavy bags, long wait to check out (they hold 100ringitt deposit, so had to wait).
Breakfast didn't display a good grasp of food hygiene, but they do make eggs to order. You have to queue and sometimes one person is queuing for a big family. They do an omelette or fried eggs. The butter is gross - kind of melting in a great pool and the milk not refrigerated, the coffee is pretty dire. The pancakes were awful too. I'm not a big breakfast eater and breakfast was a bonus for me really so fried egg on toast suited me fine. I paid 130 ringgits and for that it was OK. I booked for the pool and that didn't disappoint. If you don't want a great pool though then there are much better places around. The sea isn't that clean so for me a pool was essential. The aircon worked fine

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelkitkatnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

We've stayed in quite a few places in Langkawi and for the price, the state of the rooms and general hotel facilities are average. The room was larger than expected and once we'd had the air con fixed it worked ok.

One of the only hotels in this price range to have a decent pool and as the sea had a serious jellyfish problem then it made sense for us to stay. The restaurant and pool bar staff were ok but the housekeeping and front desk staff were the worst I've seen. Biggest tip, don't book through Asia Direct web as per the website, you pay a booking fee which makes it far more expensive than reserving over the phone and paying direct at the hotel. Also you ahve to have the confirmation printed out, this was an absolute nightmare for us as we had been traveling around a while and had a web book to book accommodation, however as we were on the road we couldn't print it out. When we arrived at the hotel they refused to accept our booking until we had gone to an internet cafe and paid to print it out. They wouldn't let me email the confirmation directly to the hotel either, just don't expect anyone to be very helpful.

If you need a hairdryer or an iron, call at least half an hour before and they want you to call them so they can collect it, I would just take them back to reception as there is no rush for them to come and collect them...

All in all, compared to many of the bungalows locally around the same price, the rooms are similar in cleanliness, facilities and bigger in size. If you want a pool but to stay close to the beach then it's a good option, but don't expect anyone to be very helpful with requests you might think are pretty basic.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank het20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

our stay at aseania was bitterly disappointing. we anticipated, for the price, a luxury stay in an impressive resort as the website had lead us to believe. we stayed in langkawi for a friends wedding and our accommodation here meant that our stay was largely unenjoyable as we could not relax in comfort. the hotel room was dirty, stains on the walls covered in ants. there was what we assumed was gecko excrement in both the bedroom and bathroom. towels were dirty as was the bathroom in general. the linen was worn thin and the blanket old and musty. the rooms are in dire need of updating as the flaking 70's furniture makes the rooms depressing and dark. we felt unable to relax in this atmosphere. after one nights stay, in the hope that the rest of the resort and breakfast may redeem the poor rooms, we were further disappointed. the rest of the resort was dirty, tired and dated. the breakfast (included in the price of the room) was food poisoning waiting to happen - warm milk left out in the heat for cereal while jams, butters etc sat uncovered in the heat surrounded by flies and communal use of them meant they were covered in other bits of food. we complained to staff who were patient and friendly however there was no duty manager anywhere to be seen. we were promised to meet with him later that day but again when we arrived back at the hotel for our meeting, he was no where to be seen. By then it was too late for us to find alternative accommodation for the night as we had our friends wedding the next day. the staff upgraded us to a family room and although it was bigger and less dated it shared all the flaws of our previous room. the next day as we were to finally leave we wanted to discuss the possibility of a discount price. we felt that we had clearly not got the service we had paid for, that the website lead us to believe we would get - once more the duty manager was nowhere to be seen! Our stay at the hotel put a serious downer on the enjoyment of our friends wedding. we have nothing good to say about aseania, we muddled through 2 nights as we had our friends wedding to think about with little time to begin searching for accommodation elsewhere. although the pool was ok, i would not advise families staying here due to the poor facilities and in particularly the lack of hygiene.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pancho800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

Booked through Agoda we were refused checkin because we did not have a 'printed' copy of the booking confirmation, which we have never done before in more than 30 different hotels in Asia. We were given no assistance at all, the staff were simply rude so we ended up getting a taxi to the Frangapani Resort down the road, way more expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsianDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

Hmm... good at first but then our trip turned into a night mere!!!! My daughter left here shoes by the pool- which was her fault but, then we go ask if someone could look. They refused. It was only until I started yelling that they helped me. I asked if I could look in the lost and found, after at least 5 secretive phone call and running to the back room (where the lost and found was) that they finally let us look.

The pool is amazing though. Be warned: though, yes, they do have a lazy river/wave pool it is completely unusable... the water is green and there is algae growing all up and down the sides.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thumpersierra1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

Well you cannot always believe what you read and this is certainly true in regards to reviews on this site of the Aseania.
My family of 5 stayed here for 5 nights. What a great place for families to spend some time.
The place is hug, and it is pink, so I had my doubts as we drove up.
Is at the Underwater World end of the beach.
The reception/foyer is impressive.
There are a number of wings.
We stayed in the deluxe room – 2 double beds in a massive room. We also had a spare mattress on the floor and there was still so much space.
The room had a balcony overlooking the trees and the pool. The aircon was great.
Room was clean. Bathroom was also good.
Breakfast was included, a good spread, buffet style.
Asian and western.
The location is not right in the mix of the main beach but to one end. Cabs were plentiful and the walk to the main area enjoyable.
Close to the markets.
Mini mart next door.
The pool was a major draw card for us. As anyone with kids knows, happy kids = happy parents. Happy kids= pool!!
So the pool is massive. They have a lazy river, a wave pool, kiddies pool with slide and mushrooms, the main pool again with waterfall and 2 slides which flows into another pool.
The pool is absolutely massive and because of its size, your not in anyone elses space.
The pool area has a pool bar if you like that.
The restaurant is right by the pool, so no need to leave. The food was good at the restaurant and as cheap as elsewhere.
The kids were entertained for hours by this pool – was brilliant and i cannot fault it – I know that other reviewers did not feel this way, maybe i was lucky!!Everything went smoothly for us at this hotel.
Would come back again.
Did I mention the price – really good for the money we spent.

The pool was the reason we chose this Hotel, and the reason we would chose it again!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
1.1 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#22 of 106 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#29 of 106 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
7.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island

Property: Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Address: Aseania Resort Langkawi Jalan Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#18 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located along the Pantai Tengah in Mukim Kedawang, Aseania Resort encompasses 7.519 acres of luxurious facilities and lush greenery. Our 217 rooms are fully furnished to give visitors the comforts of modern living complemented by the unique old-world charm of Langkawi. There's never a dull moment at Aseania's awe-inspiring swimming pool. Listed in the Malaysia Book of Records as the longest swimming pool in the country, it sprawls 154.4 metres and has a mesmerising array of facilities for all - wave pool, mushroom pool, waterfall, Jacuzzi, sundeck, lazy river and adult and children slides. You can take a leisurely float or pamper yourself with a luxurious jacuzzi while the kids have a splashing good time together. Truly fun for all in the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aseania Resort Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Aseania Hotel
Aseania Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing