We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Fish n Chips nearby”
Review of Black Sand Beach

Black Sand Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tanjung Rhu Beach and Mangrove Forest Boat Tour in Langkawi...
Ranked #47 of 91 things to do in Langkawi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Unlike other black-sand beaches, this sand isn't volcanic in nature but rather is streaked black by run-off from a nearby hot spring.
Brunei
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish n Chips nearby”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We drove to the Black Sand with high hopes but was disappointed to find a small strip of black sand left. Some people say tourists collected the black sand as souvenirs but it was obvious that the sand had eroded. However we stumbled upon a fish n chips restaurant (Scarborough Fish n Chips) which was a better attraction.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WendyH678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    41
    112
    75
    39
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Black sand... Pfffff”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I remembered this beach 6 years back.. there was still black sand .. but for my recent visit there wasn't much black sand any more. so much for the attraction. not a big beach and nothing to brag about. if your just trying to burn time around langkawi, i guess it's alright to head on over. but if your tight on ur schedule, i suggest you don't bother. better head on to cenang or pantai tengah.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank zukkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“losing allure .............”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My eldest son said " is this all ? " when he saw the beach !

Nothing much to see now compared with 20 years ago , most of the black sand has probably been eroded , a food complex stand near the place for a bite , mainly local food and snacks and drinks

We just happen to pass while driving and stopped , not a scheduled visit though

Nothing much to speak of !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Dont bother going to this so called beach. Its a tiny strip of, yes black, sand. But thats it. Nothing more, so spend your time on other, real beaches.

Helpful?
Thank VSAMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not worth going”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The pictures on the map were more impressive than the actual place. These pictures here show everything...it is a beach with black sand, a few sign posts explaining it and that's it. I wouldn't recommend going to anyone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Teacher238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Sand Beach also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Black Sand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing