We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hype, Happening & Scenic beauty of a large Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Helang Langkawi
Ranked #42 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hype, Happening & Scenic beauty of a large Island”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We booked on Thursday and ended up in Langkawi on Friday 1st November 2013, after hectic day in KL. The hotel was not only near the airport but just beside it. From the room you can see flight movements & take off. Child will love to see & take pictures of it. Room was big, clean with a good swimming pool. Breakfast we skipped it- no comments. Langkawi is for food at night @ Cenang and duty free shopping. For full experience one should stay near Cenang. But the scenic beauty lies in the road to Damai. There is always a thrill of the silence of the jungle road. But the road has a dead end to a private property, if you want to go to the beach you have to take right turn before the Golf Course. What we really loved about Langkawi is the Tanjung Rhu Beach, you can wake up late with your family, drive to the beach, not towards the jetty. There are small stalls selling local & Thai foods, souvenir. Easy to get local tour operators for a trip to the mangroves & mid-sea ride- overlooking Thailand in horizon. Kids will really enjoy this trip, but insist on life jacket as the boat will travel at a high speed towards the end make a round trip of some islands offshore. After the journey you can swim in the water, then go for lunch. We have chosen the first sea front stall as it seems cleaner among the lot. Food was average. but you can enjoy the trip end lunch with a view of beautiful sea front. Must done for Langkawi is the cable ride but on holidays- queue can be long, before the ride take some time for fish feeding kids loves it. At the end of the stay you can do some last minute shopping either in Cenang beach or Eagle Point or near the jetty. Pantai kok jetty will be best for Island hopping in private yacht.

Room Tip: View of the airport and pool, upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUBHA-RAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    159
    91
    27
    16
See reviews for
73
54
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Location a yes, like literally right next door to the airport (also no sleep disturbances, somehow the planes were very considerate to hotel guest). Nothing else to rave about other than that. Room though spacious was largely drab and uninspiring. Huge stains on the walls that apparently the management thought people wouldn't notice. Heavy water damage on the bathroom ceiling to the point of holes. Old CRT TV, come on! This is 2013, upgrade or get the Hell out of this business! Honestly, I would not have minded the TV if it had decent reception and something else other than the boring old local network stations and the very ancient Vision Four, which is about as exciting as RTM1. The rest of the hotel seems largely empty, as evident by the bleak drearyness, they had shut off the lights to save money it seems. Clearly this hotel is banking on profits only during the LIMA season, which is only every two years. The lobby couldn't be warmer (this is the 'developing' tropics, you dont want warm), they had shut off the A.C. as well it seems. Instead they opted to leave the doors wide open, allowing birds and flies to ruin your breakfast. Breakfast is another rant worth noting. Understaffed meant that tables remained dirty for ages, and serving dishes stayed without refills for long periods of time. One guy working the omelette station meant that there was a twenty minute wait for each omelette. Severe lack of choices, poor pairing of the available choices. Baked beans and sauteed potatoes? What the Hell am I supposed to do with that?! Rancid oj, tasteless food, apparently it's too much of a chore to keep milk chilled. Cereal with lukewarm sour milk, a great way to start the day, that ends with a lawsuit. Like I said, the rest of the hotel is uninspiring. The management must really be depending on the LIMA crowd, understandable since the convention center is right next door. Also evident by the fact that the previous LIMA's (8 months ago) banner is still hanging in the lobby. Verdict: not the worst hotel experience I've ever had, but definitely in the lower ranks. Would never come back nor recommend to anyone. Oh yeah, crappy WiFi.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d33n45hw311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I only stayed a night at this hotel, it's very near from airport walk to the hotel, only 5 min. (Langkawi is NOTHING)
Langkawi town is KUAH, if drive from hotel to KUAH about half and hour, just rent a car at the airport.
Huge room and no free WiFi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lai_cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed a night at Hotel Helang few days ago. Since a lot of good reviews for this hotel. Big, quiet, good location. We choose this hotel. But at the end it made us deeply disappointed. We stayed at 4th floor, during midnight 12-3am, there was a big noise from the 5th floor, above our room. People laughing, jumping, running, moving the furniture and the noise non stop for all the nights. My husband and i could not sleep at all. We made a call to the receptionist, first call - only the receptionist picked up the phone after 3 minutes! We told him that there's big noise at 5th floor and request him to send security guard to check what happened. after 30 minutes, the noise getting louder and louder, so we made 2nd call to receptionist. This time, forever no one picks up the phone. No matter how long we waited.. 10 min? So we decided to walk down to the counter to check. Guess what? the receptionist was sitting steadily, shaking legs at the counter. i was very disappointed and asking him why he never picks up the phone. He could not answer and mumbled. And i asked did security guard checks the room? The security guard seems like sleeping. I tested him few questions which floor he checks, which rooms? He could not answer at all. So at the end, my husband accompanied him to go to 5th floor and check. The security guard appeared very scare to check what's going on to the 5th floor. after an hour, the sound still getting louder. So we request hotel receptionist to ask the 5th floor guest to move to other rooms. This time the receptionist gave us very funny excuse, "Sorry sir, i could not contact the 5th floor rooms." So? can't contact then your staffs could not go up and request them to move out? No solution after saying that no contact. It's either you want to continue stay here or you yourself move out. Very disappointed! I know the noise was made by the guest. But why the receptionist refused to pick up the phone during late night? And why the security guard did not do his job to check what's going on to the big noise? and needed us to accompany him go to 5th floor to check? What did he mean that receptionist could not contact the guest room? Line problem? or the lift problem that your security could not go to the 5th floor? The service is very low! and the hotel is not quiet at all. the sound filtering is very very bad!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights/4 days at hotel helang, langkawi.. It is soo close to the airport, so very convenient. Distance to the beaches are not a problem since roads are good, no traffic and also we got a great car for rent at the airport at a good deal, so driving was a breeze. Pantai Cenang is about 5-6km from the hotel, and that was the area where the food was available in great variety.
The breakfast spread was good, quite wholesome. Rooms are quite big, bathrooms clean. The hotel has some linkup with the FourPoints hotel nearby and so we were allowed to use their private beach and swimming pool. Great!
The only sore point of this stay was that we were visited by a rat at night!!! Nibbling away at some biscuits that had been left out in the open. But nothing the next day though... Apart from this, everything else was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Really nice stay for couple of days. A bit far from beach, but right next to the airport. Good variety of food for breakfast. Clean pool, very big rooms. Just enjoy. To get the most famous beach Pantai Cenang you have take taxi or rent a car. Good for short and long stays. Both for families and travellers.

Room Tip: Take deluxe rooms - lots of space. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PawelOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A group of us decided to spend a night on Langkawi and found this hotel advertised as 4 star with a super special of AUD$60 a night per room. The photos looked great so thinking we had scored the bargain of the century off we went.
On arrival it all looked wonderful and after a ridiculously long time to check in we were off to our rooms.
1st Problem - when we got out of the lift (with broken hand rail) onto our floor the signage for room numbers did not show ours. After wandering around aimlessly for several minutes we ultimately found our rooms whilst noting stained and water damaged foyer carpet. The rooms were quite spacious and appeared clean but were quite dated, light fittings and switches were hanging loosely from the walls and the bathrooms were quite drab with mould in places.
TV reception was not great.
2nd Problem - We ventured off to the pool to cool off and grab a drink. Three staff behind the bar and 15 minutes to get a beer , coke (as they had run out of lemonade) and one cocktail. 45 minutes to get pool towels which we requested and still we assume they were for us as they were placed on the counter of the pool hut on the opposite side of the pool to us.
The pool needed to be vacuumed and there were several broken tiles, none of the water features were turned on, we assumed they did not work.
Problem 3 - if you want a taxi arrange it yourself as the reception staff either did not understand us or won't get you one.
Problem 4 - Room service you have to request more than twice and even then it still may not turn up.
Problem 5 - Nothing is provided in the room not even a cotton ball, teaspoon or water.
Problem 6 - No hot water. Spoke to reception whose response was there wasn't any and to perhaps try the bath instead.
Positives - hardly heard a plane even though right next to airport and a comfy bed.

It appears that once this was a lovely hotel but they have no money so cannot maintain it.

All in all what did we expect for AUD$60, not a lot but I will say that I do not understand where the 4 star rating has come from as we were staying in a 4 star in Penang and it was 100% better than this.

Room Tip: No Idea, perhaps try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STJC160109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
66.1 mi away
Hotel Langkasuka
Hotel Langkasuka
#56 of 104 in Langkawi
99 reviews
64.6 mi away
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
#33 of 104 in Langkawi
257 reviews
66.0 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
69.2 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
65.4 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#3 of 17 in Kuah
291 reviews
68.5 mi away
Kampung Tok Senik Resort Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helang Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helang Langkawi

Property: Hotel Helang Langkawi
Address: Lot 274, Hotel Helang Jalan Lima, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Helang Langkawi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Helang Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helang Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing