We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel & deeply disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Century Helang Hotel
Ranked #47 of 105 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed 30 July 2014

First when we enter the room, we are really shocked when we saw the room is in very worst conditions. It is very old and floor is look not clean or mop at all. The smoke detector on the ceiling had been removed; cracks exist around socket outlet power points. When we switch on all the light in the room, the room looks very dark as one of the light on the wall had been removed. We requested to change room, the other room is still crappy, refrigerator was malfunction, the sofa, blanket, pillow case and bed sheet got a bad ondour and black spots stains. When I requested to changed, the receptionist told me that housekeeping department was closed at 11pm and there was no more staff working. When we taken breakfast, another worse thing happened, we saw a few of birds and flies to ruin our breakfast as the main door of lobby was opened, the tableware was a little bit Rupture, the food is very simple and not tasty at all. I don’t think will come back again and not recommended for friend or family trip stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank chili1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

You don't have to hire a cab from the airport to get to the hotel. It's walking distance, infact just a wall separates the two. First thing that you would notice when you enter is the huge lobby and the dining area. The rooms are nice and big, with a bath-tub. I had some problem with the air-con on the first night and when I called the reception at 11 pm, they sent their handyman who fixed it instantly. Breakfast spread is excellent, specially the omlette stand. It is far off from the beaches, but you can just walk to the airport and hire a car. If you want to stay at the beach, then this hotel is not for you. Overall my stay at One Hotel Helang was satisfactory.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank r0cky2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

nice welcome. Helpful staff. Nice swimming pool . Very good breakfast. specially the omelette. rooms are okay but gives a cold atmosphere due to the tiles and old decoration of the room. Nice location as it's very close to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reb2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel now is known as One Hotel Helang Langkawi. First when we enter the lobby, it was really awesome as the lobby looks very huge and you can feel like staying in the 5 stars world class hotel. However, take note, there is no bell boy in the hotel. Staying here for 2 nights, we never see any bell boy. You have to open the entrance door byself and carry all your baggage byself. There is no standby Bell boy at all. The receptionist are not that friendly. We are really shocked when we saw the hallway carpet is in a very worst conditions. It is really dirty and disgusting. The room is not that good, it is very old and the floor is not clean at all. I think they never clean or mop it at all. The toilet is also very disappointing. I am very sorry to say, this hotel should be rate as 1 star hotel in term of cleanliness and services. The breakfast was really simple and not tasty at all. It is just eating in the school canteen with simple taste food. I would never recommend this hotel to anybody. I do agreed with others which is no wifi in the room, if there is, the connection is not that good. Please avoid and look for more comfortable and great service hotel. Langkawi actually have more much better hotel that this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel if you want fast wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jimmy Poh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is so smelly when every time I back to the room. The blanket, pillow case and bed sheet got a bad odour. The air con is not cool at all and there is no access to wifi. Not recommended for family or business trip stay. Don't think will come back again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank AlexisfenWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

If you're looking for an enjoyable vacation by the seaside, swaying palm trees, exotic food & music, and cool dip in the pool, whether travelling alone, as a couple or with your family, FORGET about this place!

Food spread very disappointing. Staff ignorant & not service-oriented. Lobby washroom filthy & smelly.
Quite a distance (about 20 minutes drive) from the mainstream tourist spot i.e. Pantai Cenang

Unless you're in a transit, between business trip in Kuah and the next flight out, well then, maybe, maybe, maybe you can consider putting up overnight there. Otherwise, don't.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fizzyhafizah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I would never book this hotel for a week of planned beach vacation, but we were cheated by a tour operator in Shanghai (do you want the name of these morons?) and they have canceled a booked resort in the last minute before the flight. And it was a high season – Chinese NY, no more possibilities for accommodation.
When I checked the location of the Helang, I was deeply disappointed, because I found that we now need to stay not in a tropical paradise like we are used to spend our vacation, but in the airport hotel. Oh, I was very angry and full of gloomy expectations.
First, we found that it is 45 sec. walking from a terminal of the airport to the reception of the hotel. Do I need to say we were driven to the place by a small bus? It took 1 minute. The hall of the hotel was large, and we found that room is also very big and… yes, unbelievable, it was quiet. An expectable roaring of the planes was not audible.
Everything was simple and comfortable. I have even spent one evening sitting in the pool bar surfing internet. Quite nice. Furthermore, we swam in the hotel’s swimming pool, and forgot for a time that we are next to airport.
How about the ocean and sand beaches? We have heard that it is a satellite resort of Heladen – Four Points by Sheraton, which is in walking (but it is not a pleasant walk, trust me) distance and have an open beach. But we have never used it.
By scooter it is 10 – 15 minutes driving to the south, on the Jalan Pantai Chenang road. There you find everything: sand beach, palms, restaurants, shops, bars, water activity… and even helicopter for rent! Frankly speaking from Heladen with the scooter you can discover whole west side of Langkawi, so, don’t have doubts, take a transport, it is useful.
Well, summary: the hotel is good. It is suitable for conferences, I’m sure it was full during aero show last year. It is good if you have a business trip. But staying there with a hope to get another paradise vacation is maybe not a best idea.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Andrey_Nara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
69.2 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
72.3 mi away
The Smith House
The Smith House
#1 of 1 in Padang Mat Sirat
63 reviews
65.4 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#3 of 17 in Kuah
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.7 mi away
Bella Vista Waterfront
72.1 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#82 of 105 in Langkawi
564 reviews
0 mi away
Altis Hotel Langkawi
Altis Hotel Langkawi
#75 of 105 in Langkawi
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Helang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Helang Hotel

Address: Lot 274, Hotel Helang Jalan Lima, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 105 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range: £29 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Helang Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Century Helang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helang Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing