We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private Beach and Centrally Located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Private Beach and Centrally Located”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The resort has a private beach and located somewhat close to shopping areas and restaurants , unlike may other resorts which are isolated . The rooms are big and good , the staff is also friendly . The hotel is in Pantai Tengah which is quiet and peaceful compared to Kuah . The price is due to the convenient location ,would recommend this hotel to family and couples

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varun V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    614
    234
    90
    50
See reviews for
463
529
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Our first room was not clean and I saw a roach in there where I became unglued. After I complained they gave us another room cleaner than before. But so not expect the rooms to be maintained. The toilet seat was yellow and orange. The bathtub had cigarette burns or something similar. The window has a 2cm (1inch) gap and wouldn't close even after we called maintenance. Staff was friendly, pools were clean and it was a beach front resort. Overall I give this place a 3.5 from scale of 1-5. This is my opinion and experience only!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mell72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frangipani_Langkawi, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Mel72,

Thank you for selecting our resort and we do apologize for not meeting your expectations.
We have since spoken with the housekeeping staff in question. However, hygiene is one of the main reasons why guests recommend our hotel if you read our past reviews.

Pest control and maintenance is an on-going process for us and that includes scheduled fumigation. Please note that being a resort island, it is difficult to maintain an environment devoid of fauna ( including the unwanted kind).

We thank you for your constructive comments and will use them to better ourselves so that our guests will have a more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

It was the greatest vacation ever.
I tried parasailing for the first time and felt amazing. My boyfriend and i loved staying there. They serve good food. The staff are helpful. We liked the salty pool. We should have walked around though.
Well we will visit there again :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hi Friends, I would fondly recommend this hotel for all families visiting Langakwi ... Just on the beach a very peacful and calm place where you can just enjoy your evening gazing in to the stars / the water ... For some seaking adventure the beach sports is just 100 meters away from the resort ... N being on the road to some high end hotels and resorts you have big line of restuarants lined up with different cuisines for all ...
go ahead plan a trip and u sure would want to go again n again ...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach are less so choose when you book the rooms a VERY BEAUTIFUL view awaits you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maverickswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streatham Common Lido
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Nice resort setting at the end of the Chenang beach stretch.

I had a room in a block (not a garden villa) which was very large! Had space for a sofa area and a dressing area and a large bathroom, also had a large balcony. The buildings are a bit old and there has been signs of maintenance being undertaken which is good. This hotel is more like an old-style resort which I like as it is spaced out. (hence,there is no wifi except at the lobby and pool area). There are two pools (average size, not large) - one salt and one chlorine. I could stay here for an entire week to relax if I wanted to.

Do bear in mind that the beach, whilst clean, and the water is nice, is not as clear as I had expected (this is quite usual for the main island), and there are jellyfish - depending on the season as I understand.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke_speedos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Excellent hotel with a beachfront location 10 mins stroll to the main area of Pantai Chenang.
The little cottages are clean and comfortable and the staff are helpful and friendly.
Free wifi is good at the bar near the pool and in the hotel lobby.
There are lots of great little restaurants around the hotel and a few day spas.

I loved the authentic feel of this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmam72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I've been there last week for 3 nights. I just love it.
-Location: great. Around 20 min or less from the airport, around 10 min on feet to Jalan Pantai Chenang which has a lot of shops and restaurants.
-Room: clean, neat, cozy, and large. I had the deluxe room and my parents for a villa. Both are just amazing. A/C, TV and mini bar are working without any issue. Hot water for shower is available all the time.
-Price: above average, but worth it.
-Restaurant: we had only breakfasts, which contained a lot of delicious fresh stuff.
-Service: though my room wasn't ready when I arrived, but they gave me another one after a short wait.
-Transportation and tours: available at a separate location close to the lobby.
-Wifi: only available at the lobby and the restaurant. No wireless or wired connection available at rooms. Some 3G networks are not covered properly at that area.
-Spa: the person in charge wasn't available for a week as the operator told me.
-Beach: clean
-Swimming pool: 2 are available, with an area for kids. A Jacuzzi is also available.

Overall: I will definitely book again if I had the chance one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
7.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 100 in Langkawi
1,286 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,274 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between coconut palms and lush tropical gardens, the Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa is located by a pristine, white sandy beach overlooking the tranquil Andaman Sea and an archipelago of over 104 islands. The resort remains close to the bustling Cenang Beach, yet retains its natural charm as secluded hideaway as the two beaches lay parted by a cliff, accessible only by road. Over the years, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa has garnered a number of prestigious awards, including the ASEAN Green Hotel Award 2014, as well as Tripadvisor's Top 25 Relaxation and Spa Hotels for Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing