We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beach, Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Plus - The beachfront is beautiful and the stretch is good for a swim, or a stroll. Lot of watersports options nearby via a public vendor. Recliners are nice and abundant. The resort is in the town area, so lot of eating options nearby. Highly recommended Indian restaurant next door. The rooms are well equipped and beds large and comfortable.

Minus - Horrible service. Check in took literally 30 mins (with no one in the queue ahead of us). The rooms weren't ready even at the check in time - we saw many guests waiting with their luggage to get their rooms. Many simple requests that we made to staff were easily forgotten (like early breakfast before checkout, that we were promised the night before, but in the morning no one had any clue).

Tip - Sagar restaurant for mouthwatering Indian cuisine is next door. Huge Zion duty free shop - 5 mins walk away - is good for shopping and stocking up on supply. Rent a car to explore other areas of the town.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are perfect if you want to go economical, as many of them offer partial seaview an...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaurabhBaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
There are newer reviews for The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

We enjoyed a 10 day stay at the Frangipani and found the accommodation spacious with everything we needed. The resort had a choice of swimming pools which were suitable for the age of children we were with. The resort is on the beach and it is 10 minutes walk to reasonably priced beach restaurants. Across the road from the resort is a small super market where you can buy snacks and drinks and a 15 minute walk down the road leads to more shops and restaurants. The resort is clean and the staff are friendly.
I would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We chose Frangipani because of all the stories of dangerous jelly fish and we didn't want to risk with a small child.
The price charged made us have higher expectations.
The rooms are ok, very clean so that was good.
The breakfast is also ok, the staff unfriendly except for the great service minded bartender.

The best thing with the resort is the pool and the salt water pool.

Do not eat here...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xtraagnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Was really impressed with The Frangipani - the room, amenities, location, and service. We stayed for 3 nights in the Garden View Villa. No problems checking in and was promptly switched rooms when they realised we asked for twin beds instead of a king. The villa was spacious and had everything (except wifi). Loved the outdoor shower and the beds were firm and comfortable. They have a freshwater and saltwater pool, and the beach is so close and clean! A walk to Pantai Tengah shops and restaurants was only 5-10 mins away. Breakfast was pretty good and had a decent variety. I would definitely return to this place and recommended it to others!

Lastly, I must commend the management on housekeeping and maintenance (which is generally poor in Malaysia). I especially love the green activities in place. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KL_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was our first time in Malaysia and our stay here was all that was expected, it was very clean ,comfortable and and well positioned, a good walk to the city centre and the night market.
This is not a 5 star resort, nor does in pretend to be, but if you are looking for a relaxed place to stay, we would suggest you put this amongst your top picks.
It is a cozy relaxed eco style resort with a relaxed ambience to match.
The buffet Breakfast was a little bit on the light side as far as selection goes, but still enjoyable, the meals and snacks had during the day and evening were superb and very tasty.
Their idea of roping of the beach to keep the watersports away from the front on the beach was a blessing, they were only a short stroll down the beach if you wanted them, but they weren't in your face all day.
The grounds, pool and rooms were kept very clean and tidy by the staff.

If we were to stay in Langkawi again, we would definitely stay here

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We (self & wife) chose to stay at Frangipani during our visit to Malaysia in December 2012. Our selection of Frangipani was driven by two factors: 1) My brother had earlier stayed with them in June 2012 and had a good experience 2) We chose to visit Langkawi at the last moment and didn't have too much of choices on beachside resorts.
We flew from Penang to Langkawi in the Afternoon and didn't have too much of difficulty in locating the resort. (Even though it is at the fag end of the town and you need to be prepared to travel a bit to come down to the town center)
After checking in, we were provided a cottage with garden view. The cottage looked quite spacious, but on entry we realized the AC wasn't working properly. It was too hot inside despite after 30 min or so with the AC on. I complained to the resort manager (unfortunately don't remember his name) who initially responded with no other room available. However when I drew comparisons with tourists from other Geos and asked him a question if his similar response would have been acceptable to them, he budged and offered me a choice of a beach facing cottage.
This I should admit was fabolous - and all other things about the cottage was positive. We were on our own in utilizing the beach for freaking out, drenching ourselves etc. Yet another area of improvement is the pool size - could be a bit more bigger to accomodate more. Complimentary breakfast is wonderful and good choices even for veggies like us.
Hiring a car/bike is one of the wisest things to do in Langkawi specifically when you stay a bit away from town and you want to be on your own in moving around. We didn't do that and am not sure of the cons of it, but definitely we felt the need for it.

Room Tip: Choose the beach facing cottages for a good view of the ocean, the backdrop of islands etc.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 856Travel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Really glad we chose to stay here for our honeymoon it was well worth it. We stayed in the rooms and were happy with size and air con was good. Yes they were dated but really when I read the reviews before I left I don't know what they were expecting. The breakfast was great and staff friendly, view sensational. If anything wifi needs to be in rooms as most places are offering now so family can talk back home. Would stay again though, loved the welcome flowers on our bed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peta p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
7.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
11.0 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,355 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £89 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between coconut palms and lush tropical gardens, the Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa is located by a pristine, white sandy beach overlooking the tranquil Andaman Sea and an archipelago of over 104 islands. The resort remains close to the bustling Cenang Beach, yet retains its natural charm as secluded hideaway as the two beaches lay parted by a cliff, accessible only by road. Over the years, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa has garnered a number of prestigious awards, including the ASEAN Green Hotel Award 2014, as well as Tripadvisor's Top 25 Relaxation and Spa Hotels for Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing